Reasons to be cheerful - Page 4 - Anything Goes - Other topics not covered elsewhere - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

Reasons to be cheerful

• Replies 162

I found an ancient family tent I thought had been long thrown away; it's a heavy canvas number, something from the 1960s.. . a midgie magnet from what i remember when younger.

im not sure why this is cheerful, it was horrendous to sleep in!😄

Tents have become amazing over the years.

Definitley plan to do more camping this year...not in this monster though

Parkrun. 

Anyone do it? 

I’ve only done a few, but think it is the most wonderful thing. Zero cost, donation-based, volunteer driven. People coming together and helping others from any and all walks of life with fitness and socialising. It is the definition of community in my opinion and the type of spirit that we could do with a lot more of in this country. 

5 hours ago, PapofGlencoe said:

I found an ancient family tent I thought had been long thrown away; it's a heavy canvas number, something from the 1960s.. . a midgie magnet from what i remember when younger.

im not sure why this is cheerful, it was horrendous to sleep in!😄

Tents have become amazing over the years.

Definitley plan to do more camping this year...not in this monster though

Apart from the nostalgia of the tent, the fact you actually survived midgie attacks from the 60/70’s  has to be a cheery thought in itself. 

Used to camp in my grans back garden in the late 60’s early 70’s , the tent consisting of an old blanket thrown over the washing line and each side held down by bricks. They were great days.

4 hours ago, AlfieMoon said:

Parkrun. 

Anyone do it? 

I’ve only done a few, but think it is the most wonderful thing. Zero cost, donation-based, volunteer driven. People coming together and helping others from any and all walks of life with fitness and socialising. It is the definition of community in my opinion and the type of spirit that we could do with a lot more of in this country. 

Unfortunately we are more a nation of taking a carry oot to a park  than going for a run in it 🙂 

Chaff did parkrun often and really enjoyed it if I remember. I am a  selfish runner and only want to run somewhere that is literally outside my house. 

2 hours ago, Hertsscot said:

Got the garden finished!  Moved into a new build 18 months back. Got in a garden designer who's been brilliant. So pleased with the result, minimal concrete, no AstroTurf, hopefully good for the birds and bees and beasties.

Hopefully we will get some decent weather for you to enjoy it this summer . A nice garden is a real bonus especially if you enjoy looking after it.  I am going to have to get astro turf as we just cannot keep grass healthy, no matter how much we attend to it. I am shit at gardening . 

40 minutes ago, TDYER63 said:

Unfortunately we are more a nation of taking a carry oot to a park  than going for a run in it 🙂 

Chaff did parkrun often and really enjoyed it if I remember. I am a  selfish runner and only want to run somewhere that is literally outside my house. 

😂 nothing wrong with cairy oot in the park either, apart from when all the wee bams take over Kelvingrove.  

Re: the parkrun - I’m much the same as you say - so much easier just running out the hoose rather than having to get to a place for an event. Probably why I’ve only done 6 in about the same number of years. 🤣 … still, I’m going to try and do more. The social side of it with a coffee and cake somewhere nearby is always a nice idea as well. If I can get my mental dug running with me as well that would be magic. 

Doing the one at Oriam in the morning but my ‘home’ one at Victoria Park is much nicer and draws a good crowd. 

On 5/5/2023 at 8:57 PM, AlfieMoon said:

😂 nothing wrong with cairy oot in the park either, apart from when all the wee bams take over Kelvingrove.  

Re: the parkrun - I’m much the same as you say - so much easier just running out the hoose rather than having to get to a place for an event. Probably why I’ve only done 6 in about the same number of years. 🤣 … still, I’m going to try and do more. The social side of it with a coffee and cake somewhere nearby is always a nice idea as well. If I can get my mental dug running with me as well that would be magic. 

Doing the one at Oriam in the morning but my ‘home’ one at Victoria Park is much nicer and draws a good crowd. 

We must be neighbours!  VP is at the bottom of my street (and I still don't do the parkrun!!) 

On 4/16/2023 at 3:43 PM, PapofGlencoe said:

Please!  We're going with no clue other than we know it's a music hotspot!

Going to Chicago as well, if any advice tambers!

Sorry took so long I almost forgot to ask.

His recommendations are :

Grand ole Oprey ( book in advance) and backstage tour. 

Bluebird Cafe- apparently it was in a tv series .

Jack Daniels tour - day trip

Honky tonk strip on lower broadway - .1/2 mile of bars with 3 floors and roof top. Every floor has a different type of music, its not all country.,

Country Music Hall of Fame 

Johnny Cash Museum 

Tootsies Bar

Lukes Bar

kid rocks honky tonk bar

lucky bastard saloon

Recommends:  Katie and The Nash band. He has another band he recommends ,  i will get it  he couldn’t remember the name when we spoke . 

He says it really casual so dont  bother with any fancy clothes. They are going back in September they enjoyed it that much. 

31 minutes ago, TDYER63 said:

Sorry took so long I almost forgot to ask.

His recommendations are :

Grand ole Oprey ( book in advance) and backstage tour. 

Bluebird Cafe- apparently it was in a tv series .

Jack Daniels tour - day trip

Honky tonk strip on lower broadway - .1/2 mile of bars with 3 floors and roof top. Every floor has a different type of music, its not all country.,

Country Music Hall of Fame 

Johnny Cash Museum 

Tootsies Bar

Lukes Bar

kid rocks honky tonk bar

lucky bastard saloon

Recommends:  Katie and The Nash band. He has another band he recommends ,  i will get it  he couldn’t remember the name when we spoke . 

He says it really casual so dont  bother with any fancy clothes. They are going back in September they enjoyed it that much. 

I spent a week in Nashville around 15 years ago.  I doubt it's changed that much.  I'd add in the Ryman Auditorium, Country Music Hall of Fame - there's a lot of rock 'n' roll stuff in there as well.  Ernest Tubb Record Store.

The Broadway strip is legendary, you just bar-hop from bar to bar, no cover charge as the bands play for tips.  I see you mentioned Tootsies - which is legendary.  I'd also mention Legends Corner and Roberts Western World.  These are all famous bars as their back doors are all on the street immediately opposite the stage door at the Ryman and so big stars used to pop in after their shows and often would play a few numbers.  When I was there Skeeter Jennings did a few songs.

Was through in Edinburgh for the Bruce Springsteen gig on Tuesday night and it was fantastic.  3 hours of non stop rock and roll in the sunshine.  Came away from it with a fair spring in my step (although still not as spritely as 73 year old Bruce!!).

2 hours ago, Fairbairn said:

Was through in Edinburgh for the Bruce Springsteen gig on Tuesday night and it was fantastic.  3 hours of non stop rock and roll in the sunshine.  Came away from it with a fair spring in my step (although still not as spritely as 73 year old Bruce!!).

Ditto. Great gig and scorching hot day.

Scotland ranking 2nd behind France (they have scored an away goal) out of 53 teams looking to get one of the 23 spots for next summer Euro 24 in Deutschland  🤗 

this will decide the final draw for the finals

can’t wait for the next couple of games