Season 22/23 - Page 89 - Football related - Discussion of non TA football - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

13 minutes ago, Squirrelhumper said:

Celtic were finishing 4th/5th in some of the seasons. 

13 minutes ago, Squirrelhumper said:

Celtic were finishing 4th/5th in some of the seasons. 

Not an expert and can't be bothered looking back.  I do remember Celtic having players like Larson, Sutton, Van Hoydonk etc the list goes on about the Celtic players in that time which is in no way similar to the recent past and current scenario at Rangers.  Sorry if that's an opinion!!

• Replies 2.8k

2 minutes ago, SamP said:

Not an expert and can't be bothered looking back.  I do remember Celtic having players like Larson, Sutton, Van Hoydonk etc the list goes on about the Celtic players in that time which is in no way similar to the recent past and current scenario at Rangers.  Sorry if that's an opinion!!

I also remember Celtic having players like Andy Paton, Carl Muggleton, Stuart Slater and Peter Grant. 

Sutton wasn't at Celtic when Smith was Rangers boss. 

1 minute ago, Squirrelhumper said:

I also remember Celtic having players like Andy Paton, Carl Muggleton, Stuart Slater and Peter Grant. 

Sutton wasn't at Celtic when Smith was Rangers boss. 

Peter Grant balanced up all the good players I admit. The only time I have ever walked out of a Scotland game was when he was brought on as sub.  Nothing to do with his club.  He was just pish. My only point is that they were not as much in front of Celtic and occasionally Aberdeen as things stand just now.  Surely you would agree with that?

18 hours ago, Fairbairn said:

Great days!! 

It’s funny though, some of the best times I had going to the football were during that period. A Motherwell fan I know says the same about the season they had down in the first division. 
It’s not all about winning all the time for some of us.

20 minutes ago, Och Aye said:

The fact that the majority of Dundee Utd fans were nonplussed about him leaving says it all, a first division specialist when having the team with the biggest budget. 

On 4/4/2023 at 8:10 AM, slasher said:

It’s funny though, some of the best times I had going to the football were during that period. A Motherwell fan I know says the same about the season they had down in the first division. 
It’s not all about winning all the time for some of us.

I absolutely hated our season last year in the championship, was night and day to what i remembered from our last time down there in 93. 

Think you get more crabbit as you get older!

8 hours ago, Squirrelhumper said:

I absolutely hated our season last year in the championship, was night and day to what i remembered from our last time down there in 93. 

Think you get more crabbit as you get older!

One of my favourite seasons following aberdeen was the 95 season when we beat Dunfermilne in a relegation playoff to stay up. No idea why as we won the league cup the following season. I hardly missed a game. I remember Duncan Shearer scoring an overhead kick against Dundee United which effectively relegated them

8 minutes ago, vanderark14 said:

I see its the old firm this weekend. One of the attractions to this fixture was the atmosphere, when are both clubs going to get a grip and allow away fans more tickets again.

They're killing the fixture. So I'm all for it.

Edited by Och Aye

I see its the old firm this weekend. One of the attractions to this fixture was the atmosphere, when are both clubs going to get a grip and allow away fans more tickets again.

I completely agree, but it was the Rangers whi started this, so why should we give an inch.. It does make for a better atmosphere, but I think they are tired of watching us pump them in their own gaf !!

9 hours ago, Big Ramy 1314 said:

I completely agree, but it was the Rangers whi started this, so why should we give an inch.. It does make for a better atmosphere, but I think they are tired of watching us pump them in their own gaf !!

I'm guessing this attitude mirrors that of the clubs

9 hours ago, Big Ramy 1314 said:

Exactly this ignorant attitude is why.  It isny oor fault, they started it waaaah.  Wea re better than them anyhoo waaaaah.  Another great intelekchul argument from the Oracle.  Stand on.

48 minutes ago, vanderark14 said:

I'm guessing this attitude mirrors that of the clubs

It’s quite simple VA.

The huns actively campaigned for Celtic’s allocation to be cut to 700 or whatever it is after growing tired of watching the celebrations in the Broomloan. Spotting an opportunity to appease the knuckle draggers old pontoon eyes agreed.

Since then Celtic fans have returned from Ibrox with horror stories of being pelted with all sorts. Two guys had their heads split open with glass bottles at the last game. Against that background Celtic asked for a return to the full allocation, the huns refused. They then asked for some safety guarantees surrounding security within the section and I believe over access and exiting the ground. Again the huns refused. Following those discussions Celtic declined their allocation and of course have reciprocated at Celtic Park.

Fans of other clubs have endured this nonsense in that corner for years. I’m not saying that it doesn’t happen elsewhere at times including Parkhead but the huns in particular seem incapable of creating a safe environment for away fans in that corner and against that background I think the club have made the right call.

PS I note that Celtic have effectively banned the green brigade from Hampden at the semi final after the firework display at the last game.

53 minutes ago, Big Ramy 1314 said:

Big game tmo, wee Glasgow Derby. Queens Park v Partick Thistle. Lot on the line with this fixture..

I'd love to see Queens Park come up, especially in the SFA's 150th year, but looks like they're running out of steam just as the finishing line is coming up.  Partick have been on some run since they punted McCall.

21 minutes ago, Fairbairn said:

I'd love to see Queens Park come up, especially in the SFA's 150th year, but looks like they're running out of steam just as the finishing line is coming up.  Partick have been on some run since they punted McCall.

Was thinking that FB. Believe or not, my next door neighbor is fae Partick, could you believe it. 🤣. He is Partick Thistle mad. He thinks they will get up to the Premiership. This lad wears the Partick gear everyday, his 2 boys wear the gear everyday... Told all his pals in Glasgow his neighbor I'd a mad Tim.. Oh the banter we have.. Aye, should be a crackin match...

15 hours ago, SamP said:

Exactly this ignorant attitude is why.  It isny oor fault, they started it waaaah.  Wea re better than them anyhoo waaaaah.  Another great intelekchul argument from the Oracle.  Stand on.

The huns started it. Nobody can deny that.  Celtic quite rightly followed suit.

It’s not ‘quite rightly’, they should be taking the moral high ground and not reacting in the same way. That tit for tat results in them speedily getting to a position that is hard to reverse. Short sighted, childish, small time , non classy behaviour by both…… shockeroonie!

7 hours ago, ger intae them said:

It’s not ‘quite rightly’, they should be taking the moral high ground and not reacting in the same way. That tit for tat results in them speedily getting to a position that is hard to reverse. Short sighted, childish, small time , non classy behaviour by both…… shockeroonie!

Absolutely correct.