Qatar 2022 World Cup Finals - Page 2 - Football related - Discussion of non TA football - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

Qatar 2022 World Cup Finals

First time i am not one bit interested in a World Cup

Even when Scotland have failed to qualify since 98 i still take an interest

Wee scoresheet tournaments at work and a few daily bets

I particularly enjoy the first 2 weeks when there are usually 4 games a day

It is not natural

Fuck them ...and England

• Replies 1k

6 hours ago, Toepoke said:

Sepp Blatter has been good enough to admit it was a mistake (after spending his bung probably)...

What a lot of laughable shite. Everyone on the planet knew the instant they heard that it was a terrible decision and unquestionably due to deep corruption. The brass neck on Blatter pretending now he's only just worked out it was a horrific decision... shameless. 

58 minutes ago, thplinth said:

What a lot of laughable shite. Everyone on the planet knew the instant they heard that it was a terrible decision and unquestionably due to deep corruption. The brass neck on Blatter pretending now he's only just worked out it was a horrific decision... shameless. 

Totally agree. Blatter knew this from the start, now he is playing the sympathy card well after he had his fuckin pockets greased, probably his arse aswell. How many lives were lost building these stadiums for the rich? Fuck him !! 

4 hours ago, Ally Bongo said:

It is not natural

Fuck them ...and England

Same. This is the least enthusiastic I've felt before a World Cup since 1994.

5 hours ago, Ally Bongo said:

It is not natural

Fuck them ...and England

Yeah same ; first tv memory was 74 ; and it always seemed magical - coverage / tinny commentary etc - summer nights ; small boys in the park - jumpers for goalposts etc isnt it

bubble burst a bit in 90 on my only attendance ; as apart from us being crap was lots of 1-0s 1-1s - ireland advancing to quarters without actually winning a game ( during the 90 mins )

even in 94 i got up in middle of the night in Broome ; WA to open up the tv room in the backpackers - luckily was bland final as was trusted with keeping the noise down ….

tbh my interest in the game is dwindling at such a rate of knots ; that even the final this year is not compulsive viewing 

Italia 90 was the last "true World Cup"

France 98 was kinda a throwback but there was still something wrong with it as well as Germany 2006

Maybe it's too many teams and too many shite teams but the magic of it ended in Rome 1990 for whatever reason

Being held in USA, Japan and South Africa especially ripped the arse out of it and it has never returned

Maybe i just got auld and the novelty wore off

2 hours ago, euan2020 said:

snap - no tinterested - likley i will watch some games cos in Cape Town the whole tournament, but will just be because on in local bar 

Ach, I'll most probably watch it, but I won't make a point of watching it.

The usual song and dance before a World Cup is largely absent even over here, although that will definitely change if the Three Loins start to do well.

58 minutes ago, Ally Bongo said:

France 98 was kinda a throwback but there was still something wrong with it as well as Germany 2006

Maybe it's too many teams and too many shite teams but the magic of it ended in Rome 1990 for whatever reason

Being held in USA, Japan and South Africa especially ripped the arse out of it and it has never returned

Scrap the pass-back rule, that's what I say. 😄

I think there probably are too many teams in it now. It was better when it was still possible to qualify out of the groups if you finish third - apart from us, obviously 🙄 - it kept things interesting.

Edited by scotlad

6 hours ago, scotlad said:

I think there probably are too many teams in it now. It was better when it was still possible to qualify out of the groups if you finish third - apart from us, obviously 🙄 - it kept things interesting.

Even more teams next time.

Think the same as most it's a big bit of meh at the moment.

Should be going to beer gardens and having folk over for games, BBQ, sitting out all night in the garden etc. 

Will no doubt watch a good chunk as I'm stuck in the house most of the day anyway.

On 11/12/2022 at 10:03 AM, Jersey Jim said:

Good read that 👍

Cheers Jim, appreciate that. I can echo some of the sentiments on here regarding the tournament this time, where it is being played and when etc. I'm all for the tournament being hosted by other nations but it should come with the caveat that footballing culture and identity is developed within that nation after the tournament is over. I think largely this has been the case wherever the World Cup has been held thus far, but this time it is different.

Anyway, I shall watch as I do love football and even for all its faults, international football holds a special place in my heart. I'm hoping covering things and purely focusing on the football will enhance my enjoyment over the coming five weeks.

I've always been much more club than country, but will usually at least cast an eye on how England are doing. But even though we are there, I can't remember ever being less interested. I even had to look up who was in our group the other day. And even then just felt an overwhelming 'meh' in my head. I'm way more hacked off that I can't get to see Town play for the next 6 weeks & in truth am far more interested in a couple of trips I've planned to watch the not very mighty Golcar United play.

The media will always be the media, but they aren't representative of anyone I know. A WMC near me have booked a kids Xmas party on the same day as the final. They said they will put it on the telly in case anyone wants to watch it...& most people I know are saying the same thing, 'well maybe if England are in it, but we all know that won't happen'.

I wish I felt strongly enough to have the energy to actively boycott watching it, but in truth 'can't be arsed' has overtaken 'it shouldn't be being played there' as my go to response.

On 11/12/2022 at 12:02 PM, Big Ramy 1314 said:

So if I am correct, there will be no football in the Scottish premier the entire World Cup, but all other divisions are on... Correct ?

Yes that's correct. Championship, League 1 and League 2 continue during the World Cup. The weekend of 26th November is is the Third Round of the Scottish Cup featuring clubs from all of those leagues in action. The Premiership resumes on Thursday 15th December.

17 hours ago, Ally Bongo said:

Agree with all of this. My favorite was Spain 1982, minus the Brazil tanking of course. It had everything. Maradona, Rossi, Platini, David Naerry, Cameroon, and who can forget the Harold Shumacker incident when he nearly killed Dominique Rochitot in the semi.. Now it's fucked. Tight fitting kits, hair gel, fancy boots, spray tans, diving, greeting, it's all been lost...

27 minutes ago, Big Ramy 1314 said:

Agree with all of this. My favorite was Spain 1982, minus the Brazil tanking of course. It had everything. Maradona, Rossi, Platini, David Naerry, Cameroon, and who can forget the Harold Shumacker incident when he nearly killed Dominique Rochitot in the semi.. Now it's fucked. Tight fitting kits, hair gel, fancy boots, spray tans, diving, greeting, it's all been lost...

Correction, it was Batison, not Rochitot, I just remembered. If you haven't seen it, try you tube, it was brutal..

Maradona, whilst there, didn't do anything of note (except booting a Brazilian in the baws and getting sent off), Cameroon, whilst there, didn't really perform as well as they did in '90. 

1 hour ago, duncan II said:

Maradona, whilst there, didn't do anything of note (except booting a Brazilian in the baws and getting sent off), Cameroon, whilst there, didn't really perform as well as they did in '90. 

They were undefeated and should have beaten Italy.. Henri NKono was the best keeper in the tournament.. 

I've watched every World Cup since 1974 and have never been less interested. I don't know whether it would be different if I was still living in England but I'm really not bothered. Scotland's absence, Qatar's dodgy human rights record, the over exposure of players, the obscene salaries of some players, the commercialisation, the stupid TV adverts, the cancellation of domestic leagues, the timing of it, all adds up to apathy. I'm not totally indifferent as I don't want England to win.

16 hours ago, Kirk said:

Think the same as most it's a big bit of meh at the moment.

Should be going to beer gardens and having folk over for games, BBQ, sitting out all night in the garden etc. 

Will no doubt watch a good chunk as I'm stuck in the house most of the day anyway.

Aye that’s about the only thing going for a WC at this time of year - cold and dark but plenty games to watch during recovery 👍🏼

Got Qatar in the wee man’s fitba team sweep, probably first team eliminated. 

I’ll have a wee interest in the Poland games, but as others have said it’s no grabbing my attention at all. We didnae even try to complete the Panini sticker album this time…..

11 minutes ago, McTeeko said:

Aye that’s about the only thing going for a WC at this time of year - cold and dark but plenty games to watch during recovery 👍🏼

Got Qatar in the wee man’s fitba team sweep, probably first team eliminated. 

I’ll have a wee interest in the Poland games, but as others have said it’s no grabbing my attention at all. We didnae even try to complete the Panini sticker album this time…..

Aye it'll be very strange, won't complain when im watching football all day though.

haha a few of my mates started the book no idea how dedicated they were

19 hours ago, morrie21 said:

World Cup preview part 1 for anyone who wants to read. Part 2 of this will be arriving on Friday. Before that the primer I sent to the sports editor in Japan should be dropping - perhaps on Wednesday.

https://www.spitballingpod.com/football/2022/11/14/qatar-2022-preview-part-1

Do you not think Kane must be in with a shout for Golden Boot, considering they have got such an easy group to start off with?

Of course but every World Cup preview with a Golden Boot section mentions Kane. I wanted mine to offer some alternative thoughts. Thanks for reading and remarking.

6 hours ago, morrie21 said:

Of course but every World Cup preview with a Golden Boot section mentions Kane. I wanted mine to offer some alternative thoughts. Thanks for reading and remarking.

It was a good read. 👍 I think it's the only thing I've read about this WC so far. You might have just sparked some interest from me.