Throwback thread - When are we due a new home Jersey? - Page 8 - TA specific - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

Throwback thread - When are we due a new home Jersey?

romanticscot

14 hours ago, Rich NATA said:

We've had bespoke kits from Adidas, haven't we?

Adidas have various levels.... 

Top is the likes of Germany, Spain and Argentina, who get full out bespoke kits..... we are in the middle, we get a template shirt, but it gets slightly "tarted up" (ie a in-print/tartan cuff etc....) that makes it look slightly more "bespoke" than the English non-league team who use the same kit, but its straight from the catalougue. 

Adidas do not go fully out their way to design a full kit for us, just dress up a template they have already.

• Replies 195

Posted Images

2 minutes ago, wanderer said:

Adidas have various levels.... 

Top is the likes of Germany, Spain and Argentina, who get full out bespoke kits..... we are in the middle, we get a template shirt, but it gets slightly "tarted up" (ie a in-print/tartan cuff etc....) that makes it look slightly more "bespoke" than the English non-league team who use the same kit, but its straight from the catalougue. 

Adidas do not go fully out their way to design a full kit for us, just dress up a template they have already.

The one with with the Saltire and Thistle imprint and flappy collar wasn't bespoke? Never knew that.

Just now, Rich NATA said:

The one with with the Saltire and Thistle imprint and flappy collar wasn't bespoke? Never knew that.

You could guy the exact same shirt as a bog standard team wear one out of the Adidas shop for £25.... Adidas just tarted it up a bit.

The Tartan Kit we had from 2016-2018 was a 2014-ish design that they used (when Marseille were with Adidas, they were used as their guiniepigs for kits, and they got template kits that were for 2-3 years down the road)

3 minutes ago, wanderer said:

You could guy the exact same shirt as a bog standard team wear one out of the Adidas shop for £25.... Adidas just tarted it up a bit.

The Tartan Kit we had from 2016-2018 was a 2014-ish design that they used (when Marseille were with Adidas, they were used as their guiniepigs for kits, and they got template kits that were for 2-3 years down the road)

Aye, the mark up on these club/international off the peg shirts is incredible.

When I played fives, I bought two Adidas shirts (same design, but different colours) from a kit supplier business; the type who supply kit for kids teams, pub teams, etc....

I paid £11 for each of them. Some professional clubs had the same shirt and were selling it for £45 

• 7 months later...
1 hour ago, wanderer said:

Leaked image for our Euro 2024 kit (also Adidas deal extended to 2028)

https://www.footyheadlines.com/2023/10/adidas-scotland-euro-2024-home-kit.html

It's v nice BUT I'd like to have thought there might have been some reference to our 150th year, given that we invented international fitba an awrat... 

9 minutes ago, Bzzzz said:

It's v nice BUT I'd like to have thought there might have been some reference to our 150th year, given that we invented international fitba an awrat... 

Officially are we not in to year 151 by then? 😂

While it would have been great to have the 150th kit maybe a little more full time, this leak kit takes the elements of it and keeps that tradition going (clearly Adidas have taken some notes based on the popularity of the 150th kit)

6 minutes ago, wanderer said:

Officially are we not in to year 151 by then? 😂

While it would have been great to have the 150th kit maybe a little more full time, this leak kit takes the elements of it and keeps that tradition going (clearly Adidas have taken some notes based on the popularity of the 150th kit)

The SFA's 1st year runs (March) 1873-1874... ;)

Seen the Mexico kit? jeez... SURELY we could do somethin a wee bit different! 

mexico.jpg

Edited by Bzzzz

43 minutes ago, Diamond Scot said:

The article says its a mock up based on the colour info. So basically somebody has confirmed it will be dark navy blue and everything else is just mocked up from the adidas templates.

Don't like the white bit down the sides. 

13 minutes ago, pointmeister said:

I think those bits will be tartan, if indeed that is the template we're using.  I've seen others were those are the colour of country's flag

This would be pleasing. 

On 10/2/2023 at 9:59 AM, wanderer said:

Leaked image for our Euro 2024 kit (also Adidas deal extended to 2028)

https://www.footyheadlines.com/2023/10/adidas-scotland-euro-2024-home-kit.html

Think it will be another solid effort based on what’s coming out (loving that neckline on that Spain away kit mock up - classic adidas right there) 

Always think now the beauty/real excitement is in the away kit for Scotland. You can only do so much with the home - it’s a fine line to get right when you can’t really get away from dark blue and white. 

Also love the fact we’ve got another 5 odd years of adidas, meanwhile the Irish, whilst not only having a sh*te team and manager at present, they also have sh*te castore kits 

On 10/2/2023 at 11:51 AM, Bzzzz said:

The SFA's 1st year runs (March) 1873-1874... ;)

Seen the Mexico kit? jeez... SURELY we could do somethin a wee bit different! 

mexico.jpg

Could be wrong but Mexico  might be on the deal one up from us. Or we could be in line for something similar 

On 10/4/2023 at 5:44 PM, JECK said:

Could be wrong but Mexico  might be on the deal one up from us. Or we could be in line for something similar 

Almost certainly are. Snippets suggesting Adidas are releasing elite club team kits/retro kits with the old trefoil logo which they’ve never done since around 1992. Italy and Mexico to get retro gear with trefoil. That would be quite something if we got something just before the euros but probs unlikely

2 hours ago, Diamond Scot said:

Although we obviously arent the biggest attraction in terms of countries to partner with, Scotland and Scottish teams actually sell alot of jerseys compared to the size of nation.

Some nice jerseys aboot.. fingers crossed we get something exciting for a change! 

https://www.shopuefa.com/en/?_s=bm-fi-psc-uefa-hpshopnav

5 hours ago, Ajax Jambo said:

wouldn't be surprised to see a navy / purple / red effort in this style.    Would look smart.    navy tops to the socks, white shorts.

Could do way worse.

https://www.footyheadlines.com/2023/11/portland-timbers-announce-dabella-main-kit-sponsor-deal.html

That could end up looking really smart. Dark blue, white stripes and purple trim. As long as they dont try and over complicate the tartan effect by introducing other colours.

On 11/8/2023 at 10:11 PM, Bzzzz said:

Some nice jerseys aboot.. fingers crossed we get something exciting for a change! 

https://www.shopuefa.com/en/?_s=bm-fi-psc-uefa-hpshopnav

Sorry, your search for scotland did not match any products.