Delusional Pish - Page 3 - TA specific - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

Delusional Pish

kumnio

• Replies 91

15 minutes ago, thelonehutch said:

Strolled to 3pts, very comfortable, we were always winning but just didn't take our chances. Patterson and Gilmour emerging as exciting talent. Young team building and progressing so I'm happy with that. 

Some folk just love a bit of misery and failure, the Scottish cringe. It's pretty sad but I'm very hopeful for the future. Actually in a decent position in the group, if we can pick up something in Vienna and beat Israel we're in good shape for a playoff.

Chillout, have a wee whisky and thank god (or whatever believe in) that you're Scottish. 😁👍🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿

Hear, bloody hear 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿

53 minutes ago, Blantyre_Braveheart said:

Exactly they are the 5th worst team in Europe. It's embarrassing that people are trying to put a positive spin on a 1 nil home win against this level of opposition.

Are denmark putting the sane spin on their result?  No they fuckin aren't, they got the result and they move on.  Fuck me we're never happy unless we're down on our nation and that ultimately takes its form in the national team.  Why don't you all just fuck off and snort your nitrous and give us peace.

Just now, todd said:

Are denmark putting the same spin on their result?  No they fuckin aren't, they got the result and they move on.  Fuck me we're never happy unless we're down on our nation and that ultimately takes its form in the national team.  Why don't you all just fuck off and snort your nitrous and give us peace.

1 minute ago, todd said:

Are denmark putting the sane spin on their result?  No they fuckin aren't, they got the result and they move on.  Fuck me we're never happy unless we're down on our nation and that ultimately takes its form in the national team.  Why don't you all just fuck off and snort your nitrous and give us peace.

Probably because they are top with 5 wins out of 5 😂

3 minutes ago, Hercules Rockefeller said:

I'd imagine he's been hovering over his keyboard all evening waiting to pounce on this thread. In all likelihood never actually attended a game due to severe obesity issues.

I don’t know him but he's well thought of by a few people on here and I've seen some good stuff from him on various threads. We just disagree on this one and he seems to have carried a bit of previous into it. 

I wish him well but fervently hope he has got it wrong 🙏

2 hours ago, thelonehutch said:

Strolled to 3pts, very comfortable, we were always winning but just didn't take our chances. Patterson and Gilmour emerging as exciting talent. Young team building and progressing so I'm happy with that. 

Some folk just love a bit of misery and failure, the Scottish cringe. It's pretty sad but I'm very hopeful for the future. Actually in a decent position in the group, if we can pick up something in Vienna and beat Israel we're in good shape for a playoff.

Chillout, have a wee whisky and thank god (or whatever believe in) that you're Scottish. 😁👍🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿

Shite

2 hours ago, todd said:

Why would they beat Moldova 8 nil.

If you are talking about away to the Faroes, then they aren't comparable. Faroe Islands are a better side than Moldova. They are currently 107th in the world 70 positions above Moldova.

3 hours ago, todd said:

If we were top 5 with 5 wins we'd still be all doom and gloom about our abject performance, guarenfuckinteed

Unlikely since the last time we topped our group with a 100% record . . . Ah wait we haven’t, we’ll not in my lifetime.

Instead we’re struggling to finish 2nd again!

I can understand the odd bad performance, happens to the best teams but we don’t look like beating Austria or Israel if we’re playing like this. 

That performance summed up what I was saying yesterday perfectly.

It showed up the flaws we have in our side and it is flaws with the players. The fans got what they wanted in Patterson and Nisbet starting and McGregor dropped yet the flaws were still there. Far too wasteful in front of goal with Gilmour (a big fan favourite and seen as a saviour) missing a gilt-edged chance anongst others such as Christie, Robertson (another fan favourite) and Tierney (yet another fan favourite). Luckily, we were playing Moldova so our wasted chances never came back to haunt us.

I have no doubt the fans will still convince themselves this was Clarke's fault but clearly it is a player issue. We just aren't good enough to be rolling through qualification. You cannot do that with a team with flaws - one that is unable to take really great chances and one that fails to close down opposition properly. That has been an engrained flaw now across many managers.

Edited by Caledonian Craig

2 hours ago, Caledonian Craig said:

It showed up the flaws we have in our side and it is flaws with the players. The fans got what they wanted in Patterson and Nisbet starting and McGregor dropped yet the flaws were still there. Far too wasteful in front of goal with Gilmour (a big fan favourite and seen as a saviour) missing a gilt-edged chance anongst others such as Christie, Robertson (another fan favourite) and Tierney (yet another fan favourite). Luckily, we were playing Moldova so our wasted chances never came back to haunt us.

I have no doubt the fans will still convince themselves this was Clarke's fault but clearly it is a player issue. We just aren't good enough to be rolling through qualification. You cannot do that with a team with flaws - one that is unable to take really great chances and one that fails to close down opposition properly. That has been an engrained flaw now across many managers.

Should we be bringing in a specialised coach for the strikers?  Having said that, all the starting midfielders missed good chances as did Hanley, Robertson and Tierney!  Not sure what you do about that.  How do you stop Robertson's tendency to hit someone in row ZZ every time he gets presented with a chance?  I seem to remember when at Tannadice any time he got these he despatched them.  Now... fkin hell.

8 minutes ago, daviebee said:

Should we be bringing in a specialised coach for the strikers?  Having said that, all the starting midfielders missed good chances as did Hanley, Robertson and Tierney!  Not sure what you do about that.  How do you stop Robertson's tendency to hit someone in row ZZ every time he gets presented with a chance?  I seem to remember when at Tannadice any time he got these he despatched them.  Now... fkin hell.

You cannot train in composure in front of goal at international level. That is an inbred thing. Robertson at Tannadice in the SPL is one thing and at Hampden at international level is a different level all together.

2 minutes ago, Caledonian Craig said:

You cannot train in composure in front of goal at international level. That is an inbred thing. Robertson at Tannadice in the SPL is one thing and at Hampden at international level is a different level all together.

No, don't agree with that. Install the right mindset in the player and it won't matter where he's playing - Hampden or a public park.  There's obviously something wrong with our ones as these were quality footballers missing these chances last night.

1 minute ago, daviebee said:

No, don't agree with that. Install the right mindset in the player and it won't matter where he's playing - Hampden or a public park.  There's obviously something wrong with our ones as these were quality footballers missing these chances last night.

Those 'quality' players have never been proven quality in front of goal. Robertson, Tierney and Gilmour have impressed in teams stacked with true quality team mates and their strengths are link-up and set-up play and not about finishing. Look at their goals ratio for their clubs and it shows that.

And we have had coaches in the past who were strikers but it never rubbed off on the players. You either have the nose for goals or you don't in my opinion. The last striker we had with a decent nose for goal was Kenny Miller and he is a level above what we have at present.

4 minutes ago, Caledonian Craig said:

Those 'quality' players have never been proven quality in front of goal. Robertson, Tierney and Gilmour have impressed in teams stacked with true quality team mates and their strengths are link-up and set-up play and not about finishing. Look at their goals ratio for their clubs and it shows that.

And we have had coaches in the past who were strikers but it never rubbed off on the players. You either have the nose for goals or you don't in my opinion. The last striker we had with a decent nose for goal was Kenny Miller and he is a level above what we have at present.

We're not talking about Robertson, Gilmour and Tierney continually ghosting into positions like Denis Law.  It's more a case of how come someone can thread a football through the eye of a needle to the foot of a teammate on the other side of the pitch and yet they can't place it between a goalie and a couple of big white sticks from 10 yards out.

Having a "nose for goals" means sniffing the chances out, not having them laid on a plate for you.

1 hour ago, daviebee said:

We're not talking about Robertson, Gilmour and Tierney continually ghosting into positions like Denis Law.  It's more a case of how come someone can thread a football through the eye of a needle to the foot of a teammate on the other side of the pitch and yet they can't place it between a goalie and a couple of big white sticks from 10 yards out.

Having a "nose for goals" means sniffing the chances out, not having them laid on a plate for you.

They are still highly paid professional footballer lauded constantly by our own fans as world class yet give them the ball ten yards out against one of the worst international sides in Europe and they still can't test the keeper. Not good enough.

9 hours ago, Caledonian Craig said:

It's certainly going to take more than Billy Gilmour coming through to turn this around. His main job is to create chances for other people to score, he can't do it all himself.

Until we find a regular goalscorer we're going to struggle, whoever the manager is.

2 minutes ago, scotlad said:

It's certainly going to take more than Billy Gilmour coming through to turn this around. His main job is to create chances for other people to score, he can't do it all himself.

Until we find a regular goalscorer we're going to struggle, whoever the manager is.

I'd say for the last 5 years or maybe a bit more (since Kenny Miller retired) we have been left without a prolific goalscorer. That being the case the onus then goes on the rest of the team to weigh in with goals. That means that there is more of an onus on the likes of Gilmour to score. And is it really asking too much to expect him to test the goalkeeper from 8-yards-out when we hear so much hype about him?

49 minutes ago, scotlad said:

I would say Gilmours role is more to create an opportunity for someone to create a chance than to actually create chances. 

6 minutes ago, ceudmilefailte said:

I would say Gilmours role is more to create an opportunity for someone to create a chance than to actually create chances. 

Yes but given he is a midfielder and professional footballer surely to hell its not asking too much for him to test the keeper from eight yards out instead of firing wide?

2 hours ago, Caledonian Craig said:

I'd say for the last 5 years or maybe a bit more (since Kenny Miller retired) we have been left without a prolific goalscorer. That being the case the onus then goes on the rest of the team to weigh in with goals. That means that there is more of an onus on the likes of Gilmour to score. And is it really asking too much to expect him to test the goalkeeper from 8-yards-out when we hear so much hype about him?

Aye, he should have done better with his chance last night. What I was meaning was he isn't in the team primarily to score goals, he's a playmaker.