The news thread - Page 55 - Anything Goes - Other topics not covered elsewhere - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

• Replies 6.2k

Posted Images

3 minutes ago, Malcolm said:

An economic catastrophe is unfolding in front of us.  18% inflation coming.  A recession so deep, nobody alive today will have seen anything like this. Millions and millions unemployed, Dickensian poverty, homelessness and death.

Calm doon Fagan

27 minutes ago, Malcolm said:

An economic catastrophe is unfolding in front of us.  18% inflation coming.  A recession so deep, nobody alive today will have seen anything like this. Millions and millions unemployed, Dickensian poverty, homelessness and death.

Malcky, you are playing the sensationalist with something that is potentially sensational. You just keep posting grim reaper predictions. Not really that helpful or insightful. Can you please suck on a wee bit of positive pie?

29 minutes ago, slasher said:

Calm doon Fagan

Not sure you quite appreciate the seriousness of the situation.  This is a collapse of society on the cards. Millions of families destitute. 

The energy bills are the top of the iceberg, the recession that follows will mean there will be millions unemployed and no money to pay these bills and vast swathes of housing repossession.  Hardship like never before and violent crime will follow.  

5 minutes ago, ger intae them said:

Malcky, you are playing the sensationalist with something that is potentially sensational. You just keep posting grim reaper predictions. Not really that helpful or insightful. Can you please suck on a wee bit of positive pie?

there is no positive pie.  There is only bad pie or catastrophic pie.  At best (and this assumes a plan similar to Labours or even the suggestion by the energy companies), there is a freeze at the current price cap. We will still have a recession, it will be difficult for many families and tough times.

with no intervention you get catastrophic and then doomsday scenarios.  We are already looking like £6k average h9me  bill. If Russia switches off altogether, all bets are off on the price cap.  Small to medium businesses will no longer be viable.  Mass unemployment, no money in the economy.  It will be worse that the 30s.

13 minutes ago, Malcolm said:

there is no positive pie.  There is only bad pie or catastrophic pie.  At best (and this assumes a plan similar to Labours or even the suggestion by the energy companies), there is a freeze at the current price cap. We will still have a recession, it will be difficult for many families and tough times.

with no intervention you get catastrophic and then doomsday scenarios.  We are already looking like £6k average h9me  bill. If Russia switches off altogether, all bets are off on the price cap.  Small to medium businesses will no longer be viable.  Mass unemployment, no money in the economy.  It will be worse that the 30s.

That what you think, aye ?

Klopp GIFs | Tenor

1 hour ago, ThistleWhistle said:

Six grand energy bills, 18% inflation  7% BOE interest rate and Liz Fucking Truss looming on the horizon- struggling see much positives 

There is one positive. All these lower paid jobs, like baggage handlers that we can’t get anyone for since the brexit shambles.  There will be lots of desperate people fighting over these jobs.

what we are about to see with the recession, will be large scale unemployment.  Pray you hold on to your job.  My company for example has already laid  of thousands of workers in anticipation of what’s to come.

18 minutes ago, Malcolm said:

There is one positive. All these lower paid jobs, like baggage handlers that we can’t get anyone for since the brexit shambles.  There will be lots of desperate people fighting over these jobs.

what we are about to see with the recession, will be large scale unemployment.  Pray you hold on to your job.  My company for example has already laid  of thousands of workers in anticipation of what’s to come.

For baggage handler jobs to exist surely folk need to afford to fly in the first place?  

19 minutes ago, Malcolm said:

Anyone see the fatal flaw in this argument?

1 hour ago, ThistleWhistle said:

Six grand energy bills, 18% inflation  7% BOE interest rate and Liz Fucking Truss looming on the horizon- struggling see much positives 

Not forgetting the distinct possibility of JRM as levelling up or trade secretary.
They are right, we have never had it so good. #BetterTogether

Thanks goodness we have heavily invested in the fire, police and ambulance services this last few decades. Should mass civil disobedience break out with mobs burning down everything they can we should be able to cope just fine.

The tories are ace, they are literally destroying the country in front of our eyes.

The really grim thing is I don't think it would make any difference whatsoever were Labour in charge nor the SNP in a fully independent Scotland, especially the SNP in fact.

Every western countries' political class (bar a few exceptions, ironically in the countries actually occupied by communists) is in seeming lockstep, destroying their own competitiveness and economies, impoverishing the people they are supposed to represent, enacting insane agricultural polices reminiscent of the craziness of the policies implemented under early communist regimes which resulted in millions dying in famines. (But now they call themselves 'woke' and 'green' and people fall for it yet again.) We have a big problem with our political 'elites'. They are utter slaves to something that is quite happy to kill a lot of people in Europe. And it looks very deliberate and planned out at this point. We are not just having a bad run of luck here IMHO. 

26 minutes ago, thplinth said:

Thanks goodness we have heavily invested in the fire, police and ambulance services this last few decades. Should mass civil disobedience break out with mobs burning down everything they can we should be able to cope just fine.

The tories are ace, they are literally destroying the country in front of our eyes.

The really grim thing is I don't think it would make any difference whatsoever were Labour in charge nor the SNP in a fully independent Scotland, especially the SNP in fact.

Every western countries' political class (bar a few exceptions, ironically in the countries actually occupied by communists) is in seeming lockstep, destroying their own competitiveness and economies, impoverishing the people they are supposed to represent, enacting insane agricultural polices reminiscent of the craziness of the policies implemented under early communist regimes which resulted in millions dying in famines. (But now they call themselves 'woke' and 'green' and people fall for it yet again.) We have a big problem with our political 'elites'. They are utter slaves to something that is quite happy to kill a lot of people in Europe. And it looks very deliberate and planned out at this point. We are not just having a bad run of luck here IMHO. 

klaus Schwab…..

Not forgetting the distinct possibility of JRM as levelling up or trade secretary.
They are right, we have never had it so good. #BetterTogether

Christ you replying has depressed me even further ;) - what are the projections for the pound looking like and how far ahead typically does the market look?

5 hours ago, ThistleWhistle said:

Christ you replying has depressed me even further ;) - what are the projections for the pound looking like and how far ahead typically does the market look?

Think of a number add 20 , multiply by 2 and that is as close as any economist will get.

Reuters produce monthly average forecasts from around 50 financial contributors. They usually just forecast a year ahead. Average suggests the pound will move back to mid 1.20’s in a year. But within that average there are banks who see it going as high as 1.34 and others as low as 1.13. JPMorgan see it as low as 1.14 this winter if the energy situation puts us into a recession. I could see it at 1.14 by the time my train pulls into Johnstone station the way things are going. 1.14 was the 35 year low in 2020 at the start of covid,  so could easily see it being driven back down there. It’s disastrous for inflation given how much we import in USD , especially now that we have effectively cut ourselves off from Europe . 

On the brightside,  it should be good for tourism as Americans  flood into the country in search of that hot Jamie from Outlander 😁

30 minutes ago, kumnio said:

To be fair, Ive no idea what he said either 😬

"The guy knocked five or 6 weans doon, look at the ambulance - took aw the weans away"

I just assumed this was one of those daft stories....

https://halturnerradioshow.com/index.php/en/news-page/world/prison-guards-in-siberia-report-britney-griner-is-a-man

And that the pictures in the piece must have been photoshopped...

But then I watched the video.

It is a fucking bloke. 😀

Oh man the Russians must be pissing themselves at the state of America. And 'Brittney' here is who the yanks wanted to do a prisoner swap for Victor Bout! 😀