Les McKeown - Anything Goes - Other topics not covered elsewhere - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

RIP Les. Remember the commotion when the Rollers played the Pavilion in Ayr in summer 74.

I heard some new material from Eric Faulkner recently. Very folky/traditional and a surprisingly good listen.

Edited by Barney Rubble

18 minutes ago, scotlad said:

Apparently he was only 65; I'd have thought he would have been a wee bit older than that.  Either way, it's sad news.

Aye they were barely out of school when they first hit the charts. 

RIP Les, still wear my tartan scarf to every game :)

1 hour ago, bonzo said:

Bay City Rollers were probably the first band I got into, I was 8, had all the gear 😊 RIP Les

I remember my uncle coming to our house when I was about 10 , he was a joiner and the company he had been doing work for had gone bust. It was a clothing company and he was told just to take stock instead of cash. Bay City Rollers were massive at that time and he came to our house with bay city roller trousers , jumpers, ‘simon shirts’ and all sorts of stuff . It was like Christmas had come as we didnt have much money ,  my friends were so jealous.

I remember it like it was yesterday,  but scary at the same time to think it was so long ago. 

Its good to hear you liked the Bay City Rollers Bonzo, I know you were only 8 but too many guys slag them off  . They were great and all the better they came from Scotland. 

1 minute ago, TDYER63 said:

I remember my uncle coming to our house when I was about 10 , he was a joiner and the company he had been doing work for had gone bust. It was a clothing company and he was told just to take stock instead of cash. Bay City Rollers were massive at that time and he came to our house with bay city roller trousers , jumpers, ‘simon shirts’ and all sorts of stuff . It was like Christmas had come as we didnt have much money ,  my friends were so jealous.

I remember it like it was yesterday,  but scary at the same time to think it was so long ago. 

Its good to hear you liked the Bay City Rollers Bonzo, I know you were only 8 but too many guys slag them off  . They were great and all the better they came from Scotland. 

My mother worked for one of the local hosieries at the time and they had a range of Bay City Roller tartan jumpers, all the kids in town - myself included - were running around in them.

They actually played at our local community centre on several occasions including when they'd hit the charts.  I was just too young to go but remember them playing.   We also had the Radio One roadshow there for a week, twice in the 70s but that's a completely different story.

21 hours ago, fringo said:

This is the song that most sticks in my head to this day. You know when you get a song in your head and can't stop yourself ? This is it.

I went to forward that song from YouTube to someone earlier then noticed the advert that preceded it was for Anas Sarwar national recovery plan ! 😂 wtf imagine politicising the Bay City Rollers, gtf.

@bonzoI expect you and Mrs B to be dedicating your Friday night sesh to Les 👍

Seen on another thread "surprised he lived so long," 

I don't know too much about him or his lifestyle, but anyone have any detail in to what that could be referring to? Booze, drugs, health issues?

RIP to Les, and 65 is no age at all. 

Not heard a lot of their stuff, and it was before my time, but some of the hits are guilty pleasures and really catchy.

21 hours ago, aaid said:

My mother worked for one of the local hosieries at the time and they had a range of Bay City Roller tartan jumpers, all the kids in town - myself included - were running around in them.

They actually played at our local community centre on several occasions including when they'd hit the charts.  I was just too young to go but remember them playing.   We also had the Radio One roadshow there for a week, twice in the 70s but that's a completely different story.

‘Just too young too remember’. Aye right ..

What was a hosiery doing selling Bay City Rollers jumpers? Was your mum also owed money from that clothes shop that my uncle did work for ? 😁

2 minutes ago, TDYER63 said:

‘Just too young too remember’. Aye right ..

What was a hosiery doing selling Bay City Rollers jumpers? Was your mum also owed money from that clothes shop that my uncle did work for ? 😁

Too young to go and see them but I remember it.  The hosiery was making them, not sure how many were obtained with a five fingered discount.

13 minutes ago, weekevie04 said:

I don't know too much about him or his lifestyle, but anyone have any detail in to what that could be referring to? Booze, drugs, health issues?

Not heard a lot of their stuff, and it was before my time, but some of the hits are guilty pleasures and really catchy.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/startsat60.com/media/entertainment/bay-city-rollers-les-mckeown-wild-gay-affairs-alcohol-drug-addiction/amp

14 minutes ago, TDYER63 said:

I went to forward that song from YouTube to someone earlier then noticed the advert that preceded it was for Anas Sarwar national recovery plan ! 😂 wtf imagine politicising the Bay City Rollers, gtf.

@bonzoI expect you and Mrs B to be dedicating your Friday night sesh to Les 👍

Hahaha, nae Friday sesh this week we need to go into work tomorrow,  but tomorrow night there will be a few beers taken. So yes there could be a wee tribute. 

2 minutes ago, bonzo said:

Hahaha, nae Friday sesh this week we need to go into work tomorrow,  but tomorrow night there will be a few beers taken. So yes there could be a wee tribute. 

Good to hear ! I was WFH today and finished at 4 , so had their greatest hits blasting in my kitchen. I had to shut the back door though as my garden backs on to pensioners sheltered housing and didnt want them all wandering round looking for a party 😁

22 hours ago, aaid said:

Our community centre as well, probably the same tour. It's amazing what you find on the internet. 

75e41c31723c74ee14810b29b05f.jpeg

37 minutes ago, weekevie04 said:

Convicted killer. Drunk driving.

Based on aaids opinion of Alex Salmond, who was CLEARED OF ALL CHARGES, aaid probably thinks he should have been hung drawn and quartered. ;)

36 minutes ago, TDYER63 said:

Good to hear ! I was WFH today and finished at 4 , so had their greatest hits blasting in my kitchen. I had to shut the back door though as my garden backs on to pensioners sheltered housing and didnt want them all wandering round looking for a party 😁

😄