Wha’s Like Us? Gey few, our league’s deid - Football related - Discussion of non TA football - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

Wha’s Like Us? Gey few, our league’s deid

No. of champions since 1985 (how recently 3 different teams have won).

Never mind where can Rangers & Celtic go (Portugal the best fit maybe?), how can we get into the Norwegian League?!

England 9 (2017)
Italy 7 (2010)
Spain 5 (2014)
France 9 (2012)
Germany 6 (2009)
Holland 5 (2017)
Belgium 6 (2017)
Portugal 4 (2002)
Switzerland 9 (2009)
Austria 7 (2011)
Ireland 9 (2017)
Norway 9 (2018)
Sweden 10 (2018)
Denmark 10 (2014)
Finland 11 (2016)
Hungary 9 (2017)
Poland 11 (2015)
Romania 9 (2016)
Greece 5 (2018)
Bulgaria 7 (2009)
Turkey 5 (2017)

7 minutes ago, EddardStark said:

Would like to see this table for the last 20 years. Regardless I would love to see competition in our league. If someone could come up with a   Sensible plan then I would support it. 

Why just 20 years? 1985 was an apt year to date this back to because thats the last time a team outsude the OF won our league. 

There is no option until the clubs outwith the OF, there are clubs who believe they could not survive without the OF. Until that mentality changes, nothing will change.

I support Rangers but I totally agree with you and I wish it would change.  It would be so much healthier if you had three teams regularly challenging and maybe another one or two who occasionally threatened to do something.  As great as it is to see St Johnstone and Livi in the League Cup final no one could imagine those clubs doing that because neither have got the fan base or the finances.  It was so much better in the early-mid 80s when Dundee Utd and Aberdeen were winning leagues.

6 hours ago, EddardStark said:

Would like to see this table for the last 20 years. Regardless I would love to see competition in our league. If someone could come up with a   Sensible plan then I would support it. 

Well, when the 16 super duper rich set up their own league - how about the 3 big Portuguese teams fill the gaps left in La Liga, the 3 big Dutch teams in the Bundesliga, Rangers & Celtic in England etc. Then the rest of us can enjoy our diddy leagues (and our own European competitions?) with 3:00 kick-offs on a Saturday. Everyone's a winner!

On 1/29/2021 at 7:39 AM, vanderark14 said:

Why just 20 years? 1985 was an apt year to date this back to because thats the last time a team outsude the OF won our league. 

Because I think you will find in latter years most top flight leagues around Europe suffer the same problem as the SPL. 

On 1/29/2021 at 2:06 PM, mr mojo risin said:

Well, when the 16 super duper rich set up their own league - how about the 3 big Portuguese teams fill the gaps left in La Liga, the 3 big Dutch teams in the Bundesliga, Rangers & Celtic in England etc. Then the rest of us can enjoy our diddy leagues (and our own European competitions?) with 3:00 kick-offs on a Saturday. Everyone's a winner!

Step 1 finally happening then...

On 1/28/2021 at 4:02 PM, mr mojo risin said:

Never mind where can Rangers & Celtic go (Portugal the best fit maybe?), how can we get into the Norwegian League?!

Scotland 3 (2021)

England 9 (2017)
Italy 7 (2010)
Spain 5 (2014)
France 9 (2012)
Germany 6 (2009)
Holland 5 (2017)
Belgium 6 (2017)
Portugal 4 (2002)
Switzerland 9 (2009)
Austria 7 (2011)
Ireland 9 (2017)
Norway 9 (2018)
Sweden 10 (2018)
Denmark 10 (2014)
Finland 11 (2016)
Hungary 9 (2017)
Poland 11 (2015)
Romania 9 (2016)
Greece 5 (2018)
Bulgaria 7 (2009)
Turkey 5 (2017)

• 1 year later...
On 1/28/2021 at 9:02 PM, mr mojo risin said:

England 9 (2017)
Italy 7 (2010)
Spain 5 (2014)
France 9 (2012)
Germany 6 (2009)
Holland 5 (2017)
Belgium 6 (2017)
Portugal 4 (2002)
Switzerland 9 (2009)
Austria 7 (2011)
Ireland 9 (2017)
Norway 9 (2018)
Sweden 10 (2018)
Denmark 10 (2014)
Finland 11 (2016)
Hungary 9 (2017)
Poland 11 (2015)
Romania 9 (2016)
Greece 5 (2018)
Bulgaria 7 (2009)
Turkey 5 (2017)

Worth a bump after reading some of the other threads. Needs a wee update too when I get a chance.