Holyrood Elections 2021 - Page 16 - Anything Goes - Other topics not covered elsewhere - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

Holyrood Elections 2021

2 minutes ago, ParisInAKilt said:

It’s not homophobic to criticise or question Stonewall or any other LGBT group when it’s warranted and constructive. 

It’s a poorly written paragraph that’s resulted in this, whether it’s advocating criminal activity is unclear. 

It's a 25 page document i'm sure it is nuanced and was part of a presentation as well, perhaps better to seek clarification before using it as proof of there only being one interpetation. Or reading the whole document and watching the presentation etc.

But nah let's cherry pick 2 orginisations out of a list of hundreds and use it as weapon in nasty political infighting scrap.

We really think dozens of governments and hundreds of charities are trying to campaign to lower the age of consent to 10? Or perhaps it could be something else?

That's the implication here. Is there actually a huge cabal of secret pedo's at work here? Wow that theory sounds strangely familiar...

1 minute ago, phart said:

It's a 25 page document i'm sure it is nuanced and was part of a presentation as well, perhaps better to seek clarification before using it as proof of there only being one interpetation. Or reading the whole document and watching the presentation etc.

But nah let's cherry pick 2 orginisations out of a list of hundreds and use it as weapon in nasty political infighting scrap.

We really think dozens of governments and hundreds of charities are trying to campaign to lower the age of consent to 10? Or perhaps it could be something else?

That's the implication here. Is there actually a huge cabal of secret pedo's at work here? Wow that theory sounds strangely familiar...

The nasty political side is very frustrating when child safeguarding should transcend party politics. 

I don’t think there’s a secret pedo cabal at all or governments are trying to lower the age of consent. 

I do think the SNP need to be very careful with organisations like Stonewall though, especially with their position on children and transgender care. 

2 minutes ago, ParisInAKilt said:

The nasty political side is very frustrating when child safeguarding should transcend party politics. 

I don’t think there’s a secret pedo cabal at all or governments are trying to lower the age of consent. 

I do think the SNP need to be very careful with organisations like Stonewall though, especially with their position on children and transgender care. 

What is their position?

The lowering age pish doesn’t even make sense.

So the government are allegedly giving money to a group, who are lobbying the government to change the age of consent. Is that the gist of the issue? Or have I mis-skimmed it?

I think some people need to take a step back and consider what conspiracy shite they are engaging in, because even Scotty would say Naw fuck this shite to this one. 

wings has never had anything to do with the SNP. He was never a member, and has never voted for them, even when he lived in Scotland.

He supports independence, hence the wee blue book. The only thing that changed was he started to criticize the SNP (for being pish at moving us down the road to independence and instead pursing all this woke rubbish, oh and the stitch-up and cover-up, stuff like that).

2 minutes ago, thplinth said:

wings has never had anything to do with the SNP. He was never a member, and has never voted for them, even when he lived in Scotland.

He supports independence, hence the wee blue book. The only thing that changed was he started to criticize the SNP (for being pish at moving us down the road to independence and instead pursing all this woke rubbish, oh and the stitch-up and cover-up, stuff like that).

Do you not think that it’s the wake issues alone that have driven him. He was good at analytics, but does seem to be a complete and utter cunt in regards to anything woke, he should really just calm down and reassess what he is doing, he has turned, or shown himself to be a raving mad lunatic. 

5 minutes ago, Orraloon said:

The SNP disowned him the best part of a decade ago when AS was still First Minister. 

Still, I wonder if AS will disown the site this time, or at least, clarify its position on this matter. If he was to go full Wings or do something like what Galloway has done he could alienate people who might otherwise be tempted by Alba. If he were to distance himself from it and clarify Alba's stance on gender issues, he could anger some of his own supporters who seem to be more exercised by gender issues than independence. Or maybe they could split and form their own party. 😉

37 minutes ago, ParisInAKilt said:

Bloggers shouldn’t be associated with political parties anyway, at least if they are wanting to be objective 

Yes, that's why I was wondering if/when 'the Rev' might fall out with Alba, if they were to disown his view on gender.

Just now, kumnio said:

Do you not think that it’s the wake issues alone that have driven him. He was good at analytics, but does seem to be a complete and utter cunt in regards to anything woke, he should really just calm down and reassess what he is doing, he has turned, or shown himself to be a raving mad lunatic. 

This was brought up by aaid above. Because it was something that was discussed by a female candidate at the women's ALBA conference (or something like that) which some in the SNP jumped on as a way to try to find fault with ALBA. 

So wings then wrote a couple of articles pointing out the lady was in fact correct in what she said.

I have no idea what you are talking about to be honest. wings is responding to something that has already happened. 

11 minutes ago, exile said:

Still, I wonder if AS will disown the site this time, or at least, clarify its position on this matter. If he was to go full Wings or do something like what Galloway has done he could alienate people who might otherwise be tempted by Alba. If he were to distance himself from it and clarify Alba's stance on gender issues, he could anger some of his own supporters who seem to be more exercised by gender issues than independence. Or maybe they could split and form their own party. 😉

I think he would be wise not to even mention WoS. If he gets asked about it he should just ignore the question like most politicians do with most questions.

6 minutes ago, Orraloon said:

I think he would be wise not to even mention WoS. If he gets asked about it he should just ignore the question like most politicians do with most questions.

A starting point might be not inviting him and other nut jobs like Denise Findlay to his press conferences.

I read both the tamb (although much less frequently these days) and wings and if you want to read pages and pages of personal abuse (a lot of it directed at Stuart Campbell funnily enough) and mindless rubbish come here.

If you want to find out what is really going on, go there. A lot of good information in the comments as well at times. It is a complete non-contest, sorry to say it. Wasn't always the case sadly... but this place has really gone to the dogs.

I consider wings and Craig Murray essential reading these days.

What is their position?

https://www.stonewall.org.uk/about-us/news/stonewall-statement-high-court-puberty-blockers-ruling

https://www.google.com.au/amp/s/www.bbc.com/news/amp/health-56601386

From what I can see we need a lot more research into using puberty blockers with children, and the ex nurse here talks about a shift in treatment which seems to be in line with pressure from the likes of Stonewall despite the lack of evidence. 

LGBT Youth Scotland was originally founded in Edinburgh in 1989 as Stonewall Youth Project. In 2003 it was renamed as LGBT Youth Scotland and became a national organisation for young LGBT people.[2]

LGBT Youth Scotland is based in Edinburgh and also has offices in Glasgow and Dumfries.[3] James Rennie was appointed its first chief executive in 2003, having worked with the organisation from 1997 to 2008.[4] Rennie was dismissed from his post after a Lothian and Borders Police investigation and trial found him guilty of running Scotland's largest paedophile network using company resources and possessing child pornography in 2009. 

So what does all this mean? It doesn't mean gay groups are any more likely to harbour paedophiles than anywhere else. But it is consistently shocking how carelessly LGBTQ+ activists treat child safeguarding concerns. As if even to raise them is homophobic. It's not.

Malcolm is gay himself, not that it should matter. 

13 minutes ago, ParisInAKilt said:

https://www.stonewall.org.uk/about-us/news/stonewall-statement-high-court-puberty-blockers-ruling

https://www.google.com.au/amp/s/www.bbc.com/news/amp/health-56601386

From what I can see we need a lot more research into using puberty blockers with children, and the ex nurse here talks about a shift in treatment which seems to be in line with pressure from the likes of Stonewall despite the lack of evidence. 

That's a link to a high court ruling against the use of puberty blockers in the case of mitigating distress while allowing them to be still be used for precocious puberty treatment, and stonewall not agreeing with it.

A link to state that all studies are basically worthless cause they had no control groups on the effectiveness of using puberty blockers on mental health so we cannot know their effectiveness. Stonewall isn't mentioned

A 1 hour long video. skipping through it stonewall isn't mentioned

I was asking what Stonewalls position was on "children and transgender care".  As you said the SNP had to be careful cause of their position.

There was some discussion above about how ALBA might actually result in the GREENS getting more regional votes as a result of them increasing awareness that voting SNP2 on the regional vote is a waste of time.

I think the more people who realize voting SNP2 is a waste of time is a good thing no matter who benefits. A wasted vote is wasted vote no matter what.

There were more than a million of these wasted SNP2 votes in 2016. So if they were all repurposed in 2021 then I would expect the GREENS and ALBA to both benefit hugely.

And it is an interesting choice.

The GREENS are extremely woke. Perhaps maybe even more so than Sturgeon's SNP (and that is saying something).

So if you want to amplify the wokeness vote GREEN2, if you want to moderate the wokeness vote ALBA2.

That is your choice (assuming you are supporting an independence party (and not wasting your vote) and you are fully entitled to it.

5 minutes ago, ParisInAKilt said:

LGBT Youth Scotland was originally founded in Edinburgh in 1989 as Stonewall Youth Project. In 2003 it was renamed as LGBT Youth Scotland and became a national organisation for young LGBT people.[2]

LGBT Youth Scotland is based in Edinburgh and also has offices in Glasgow and Dumfries.[3] James Rennie was appointed its first chief executive in 2003, having worked with the organisation from 1997 to 2008.[4] Rennie was dismissed from his post after a Lothian and Borders Police investigation and trial found him guilty of running Scotland's largest paedophile network using company resources and possessing child pornography in 2009. 

So what does all this mean? It doesn't mean gay groups are any more likely to harbour paedophiles than anywhere else. But it is consistently shocking how carelessly LGBTQ+ activists treat child safeguarding concerns. As if even to raise them is homophobic. It's not.

Malcolm is gay himself, not that it should matter. 

Have we shown that they're campaigning against an age of consent? That's the whole premise of that tweet chain. So again hundreds of orginisations in dozens of countries are campaigning to remove sexual age of consent, this is the premise.

44 minutes ago, phart said:

That's a link to a high court ruling against the use of puberty blockers in the case of mitigating distress while allowing them to be still be used for precocious puberty treatment, and stonewall not agreeing with it.

A link to state that all studies are basically worthless cause they had no control groups on the effectiveness of using puberty blockers on mental health so we cannot know their effectiveness. Stonewall isn't mentioned

A 1 hour long video. skipping through it stonewall isn't mentioned

I was asking what Stonewalls position was on "children and transgender care".  As you said the SNP had to be careful cause of their position.

Stonewall support the use of puberty blockers on trans identifying children.

At the moment anyway, this seems to be experimental treatment. Hence why the SNP should be careful listening to stonewall. 

Edited by ParisInAKilt

39 minutes ago, phart said:

Have we shown that they're campaigning against an age of consent? That's the whole premise of that tweet chain. So again hundreds of orginisations in dozens of countries are campaigning to remove sexual age of consent, this is the premise.

I link the tweet to reinforce that political parties should be cautious with the charities they align themselves with when safeguarding individuals at these charities is suspect. 

Do people remember that not that long ago Harriet Harman had to apologize for supporting PIE

https://www.theguardian.com/politics/2014/mar/02/how-paedophiles-infiltrated-the-left-harriet-harman-patricia-hewitt

Well this ILGA organization seem to have some history with a similar problem.

This is not the first time the ILGA has pushed to expand access to minors for sex. In fact, the last time such a thing had happened was in the 1990s, and the ILGA was expelled from its consultative status with a UN body for having ties to NAMBLA – the North American Man-Boy Love Association. NAMBLA is the oldest organized "pedophile rights" group in the world.

Seeing as how we are in mourning till Tuesday you can kill some time reading about it here.

Lesbians vs. Pedophiles: A Recent History - Forty years ago, lesbians booted pedos out of the gay rights movement. Is it time to do it again?

Go lesbos!

Wings also has a new article up on it. I'll not post it all.

Interestingly, the Scottish Government appears to be extremely nervous of association with ILGA. When someone (we don’t know who) sent an FOI request to the Scottish Government last year about its relationship with the organisation – on what seemed to be a very innocuous issue – they got this reply:

8B575397-3925-4266-AE1F-6DB7CCA4E20C.jpe

Seems legit. :lol:

38 minutes ago, ParisInAKilt said:

Stonewall support the use of puberty blockers on trans identifying children.

At the moment anyway, this seems to be experimental treatment. Hence why the SNP should be careful listening to stonewall. 

Yeah the other article you posted does show the paucity of information in whether this is an effective treatment in comparison to other options.

I have no informed opinion on it.