Big Jack - Football related - Discussion of non TA football - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

Legendary character RIP.

What a career at Leeds Utd. Made his debut for them before Everest was conquered and played for them until after the last man had walked on the moon!

Anyway as this is a Scotland forum we should remember who helped set him on his way in international management...

6 minutes ago, Toepoke said:

Legendary character RIP.

What a career at Leeds Utd. Made his debut for them before Everest was conquered and played for them until after the last man had walked on the moon!

Anyway as this is a Scotland forum we should remember who helped set him on his way in international management...

Huge respect for him.  Played on with a broken foot against Scotland as there were no substitutes.  Hobbling about the park but wouldn't go off.  Think that must have been the 67 game.

5 minutes ago, Rolling hIlls said:

Huge respect for him.  Played on with a broken foot against Scotland as there were no substitutes.  Hobbling about the park but wouldn't go off.  Think that must have been the 67 game.

Aye, he scored that day as well. Made them hardy back then.

My Dad met him at Mexico 86.

Charlton was there for either the BBC or ITV and walked smack into a thousand or so Scotland fans outside the stadium before one of the games. Dad said Charlton was brilliant. Happily signed dozens of autographs, posed for photographs and spoke with the fans, he took the banter about the 66 world cup well too "you ken fine well that baw wisnae ower the line !".

My Dad and his group bumped into Charlton again at the airport a couple of weeks later where he actually joined them for a pint. Chatted away about both national and club football. Some of the guys were asking if he had Billy Bremner and Peter Lorimer's phone numbers and could they call them :lol:

Great memories of supporting his Ireland team at USA ‘94 when nobody else was there, Tommy Coyne at a World Cup was really exciting as a kid, the first ‘well player to play at a World Cup.

Seemed a real character and decent bloke.

My wife hails from an Irish family & in general is a hater of all sports. Only very occasionally does she ever show the remotest interest other than the odd HTFC trip to Wembley & an ABE approach whenever England play. However, she got massively into Ireland in 1990 & my abiding memory of that tournament isn't anything to do with England but the penalty shoot-out with Romania. I forget which penalty, but, with our 5-year-old football mad son next to her, when Romania scored one of theirs, at the top of her voice, she shouted "oh sh*t".

My lad was literally boggle-eyed & went on to tell all his teachers & mates that his mum was swearing at the telly. To this day, he teases her saying that was the first time he realised parents could swear. I was the one that had been taking him to actual real games for a couple of years & had managed all that time to keep the obscenities in my head, & there she was swearing at the football.

I also remember Charlton telling the tale about how the Taoiseach had asked him what gift he'd like from the Irish people if he won the World Cup & he said a mile of the Shannon for fishing. He reckoned the reply was "win it, & you can have the whole bloody river'.

21 minutes ago, hoofitharder said:

I loved the story that if he ever got a round in a pub in Ireland he payed by cheque because he knew they would never cash them. 

I read about that yesterday and apparently it’s a lot of pish and Charlton was actually annoyed by the story as it made him come across as a tight arse who would try to get out of paying for his round. 

20 hours ago, ErsatzThistle said:

My Dad met him at Mexico 86.

Charlton was there for either the BBC or ITV and walked smack into a thousand or so Scotland fans outside the stadium before one of the games. Dad said Charlton was brilliant. Happily signed dozens of autographs, posed for photographs and spoke with the fans, he took the banter about the 66 world cup well too "you ken fine well that baw wisnae ower the line !".

My Dad and his group bumped into Charlton again at the airport a couple of weeks later where he actually joined them for a pint. Chatted away about both national and club football. Some of the guys were asking if he had Billy Bremner and Peter Lorimer's phone numbers and could they call them :lol:

A few of us used the bar of the hotel the media were based in in Mexico, one of the big chains next to the independence statue.

Although the price of the rooms was well outwith our budgets the beer was reasonably priced compared to some of the tourist places.

One prominent fan of the period claimed to have bumped into Jack Charlton at Belfast airport after we had qualified for the Spain World Cup with a hard earned draw.

It was related that he had  been quite rude to the fan and derogatory regarding Scotlands chances in the World Cup dismissing us as `bloody lucky Jocks' with the type of language we expected of their media.

As the hard core of travelling fans was relatively small at the time and we all more or less knew each other, this resulted in Charlton being viewed in pretty much the same light as Jimmy Hill.

He was in Mexico with his wife and there were initially negative glances and whispered comments when he was in the bar which was almost as often as we were.

But you could not have met a nicer couple and he often went out his way to speak with the Scots fans and pose for pictures.

Needless to say that the fan who had encountered him in Belfast came in for quite a bit of stick.

A really down to earth guy who had never forgotten his working class roots.

He had just been appointed Republic of Ireland manager at the time so would have certainly been watching the Scots performances as we had a Euro qualifier in Dublin later that year.

I do recall a lot of resistance from Irish fans initially with one banner reading `Go home Union Jack' and he was also heavily criticised for assembling a national side of dubious origins.

The saying went something like you only had to have had a sip of Guinness in your lifetime to meet Jacks selection criteria.

He certainly won them over and his international record is greater than that of any Scotland manager, qualifying for three major tournaments. He also progressed from the first phase of two of those, again a feat never achieved by a Scotland manager.

I remember a friendly guy from Mexico - as was incidentally Jimmy Hill. 

My favourite quote of Jacks was being interviewed live on ITV seconds after Ireland had beaten England 1-0 at Euro 88.

"Mixed feelings Jack?" he was asked.

He looked directly at the camera and replied, "I haven't got any mixed feelings whatsoever!"

3 hours ago, Fairbairn said:

I read about that yesterday and apparently it’s a lot of pish and Charlton was actually annoyed by the story as it made him come across as a tight arse who would try to get out of paying for his round. 

No doubt it was a load of town but still a good story

5 hours ago, Catchart Circle said:

I do recall a lot of resistance from Irish fans initially with one banner reading `Go home Union Jack' and he was also heavily criticised for assembling a national side of dubious origins.

I remember George Best being interviewed on Football Focus I think, foaming at the mouth at the prospect of Charlton taking over the Irish job, he was not happy at all.

11 hours ago, hoofitharder said:

I loved the story that if he ever got a round in a pub in Ireland he payed by cheque because he knew they would never cash them. 

11 hours ago, Fairbairn said:

7 hours ago, hoofitharder said:

No doubt it was a load of town but still a good story

Sure I’ve heard the same story attributed to Jimmy Johnstone buying the fish suppers on the way back from away games.

On 7/12/2020 at 2:39 PM, Catchart Circle said:

A few of us used the bar of the hotel the media were based in in Mexico, one of the big chains next to the independence statue.

Although the price of the rooms was well outwith our budgets the beer was reasonably priced compared to some of the tourist places.

One prominent fan of the period claimed to have bumped into Jack Charlton at Belfast airport after we had qualified for the Spain World Cup with a hard earned draw.

It was related that he had  been quite rude to the fan and derogatory regarding Scotlands chances in the World Cup dismissing us as `bloody lucky Jocks' with the type of language we expected of their media.

As the hard core of travelling fans was relatively small at the time and we all more or less knew each other, this resulted in Charlton being viewed in pretty much the same light as Jimmy Hill.

He was in Mexico with his wife and there were initially negative glances and whispered comments when he was in the bar which was almost as often as we were.

But you could not have met a nicer couple and he often went out his way to speak with the Scots fans and pose for pictures.

Needless to say that the fan who had encountered him in Belfast came in for quite a bit of stick.

A really down to earth guy who had never forgotten his working class roots.

He had just been appointed Republic of Ireland manager at the time so would have certainly been watching the Scots performances as we had a Euro qualifier in Dublin later that year.

The saying went something like you only had to have had a sip of Guinness in your lifetime to meet Jacks selection criteria.

He certainly won them over and his international record is greater than that of any Scotland manager, qualifying for three major tournaments. He also progressed from the first phase of two of those, again a feat never achieved by a Scotland manager.

I remember a friendly guy from Mexico - as was incidentally Jimmy Hill. 

My favourite quote of Jacks was being interviewed live on ITV seconds after Ireland had beaten England 1-0 at Euro 88.

"Mixed feelings Jack?" he was asked.

He looked directly at the camera and replied, "I haven't got any mixed feelings whatsoever!"

He is famous for that, but it was his predecessor in the Ireland job, Eoin Hand, who really started the ball rolling on selecting non-Irish born players for Ireland. Apparently he once received death threats from some IRA splinter group for selecting "English" players for Ireland!

Anyway, it was sad news about big Jack. An astute football man and a likable person too.