The Teuchter Line - Page 4 - Anything Goes - Other topics not covered elsewhere - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

The Teuchter Line

9 minutes ago, dan cake said:

Irvine Welsh and John (I ken the trade) Hughes appear to speak a language nobody else does, iv lived in the capital my entire life and never once heard anybody say “likesay”.

That’s true actually. I’ve never heard anyone say that either. 

13 hours ago, Orraloon said:

That's just ignorance on your part. There are loads of words in English that I don't understand. If you don't understand a word, look it, up or ask somebody. You might learn something.

Edited by biffer

5 hours ago, slasher said:

That is annoying, although not as much as 'ken' or 'know whit ah mean.' 🙈

When is ken annoying? 

As in " Ah deh ken" or when used for, example, it's cold the day, ken? 

Im glad I stay up here though, having to walk around amongst a whole town/city full of folk that stoat around sounding like Jamesie Cotter would do my head in.

"Ahm pure mad mental nthat byraway big man"

Edited by Farcity

8 hours ago, Farcity said:

When is ken annoying? 

As in " Ah deh ken" or when used for, example, it's cold the day, ken? 

Im glad I stay up here though, having to walk around amongst a whole town/city full of folk that stoat around sounding like Jamesie Cotter would do my head in.

"Ahm pure mad mental nthat byraway big man"

Ken is fine when used in context, not as an add on at the end of every sentence. 

On 4/24/2020 at 6:49 PM, McTeeko said:

Here it is here. A wee snippet from our story in The Sunday Post, 23.4.13 👍🏼

My daughter Lori was only the FOURTH real person to ever appear in Oor Wullie after Alex Ferguson, Alex Salmond and Lorraine Kelly  

I remember the week after with Salmond getting lifted by PC Murdoch for harassing and groping Maggie and Daphne Broon.