Coronavirus - Page 79 - Anything Goes - Other topics not covered elsewhere - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

Coronavirus

Operation Shave Napper went much better than expected, really surprising good in fact. For any fellow noobs to this I would advise you start on the largest setting. I was surprised how short it was just using that one and the next shorter setting. Live or die this virus is going to save me decent cash on future haircuts, up yees Covid.

3 minutes ago, thplinth said:

Operation Shave Napper went much better than expected, really surprising good in fact. For any fellow noobs to this I would advise you start on the largest setting. I was surprised how short it was just using that one and the next shorter setting. Live or die this virus is going to save me decent cash on future haircuts, up yees Covid.

I think we need a before and after photi before considering this advice. 

5 hours ago, Toepoke said:

Can't understand how someone could be so naive. it's like - you've got one job - to persuade people to stay home because we're all in it together. Then you do that.

OK I know her role is more than that, but the key public part of it is the messaging. Maybe she was careful and did no damage physically and would have attracted little attention if she hadn't been CMO. But she is CMO, at the height of her game, in what could've been her finest hour...

It's turning into a bit of a witch hunt (while Charlie and Lizzie get off without a caution) but she must have known that the media are itching to damage the first minister and Scottish Govt.

7 minutes ago, exile said:

Can't understand how someone could be so naive. it's like - you've got one job - to persuade people to stay home because we're all in it together. Then you do that.

OK I know her role is more than that, but the key public part of it is the messaging. Maybe she was careful and did no damage physically and would have attracted little attention if she hadn't been CMO. But she is CMO, at the height of her game, in what could've been her finest hour...

It's turning into a bit of a witch hunt (while Charlie and Lizzie get off without a caution) but she must have known that the media are itching to damage the first minister and Scottish Govt.

Naive, witch hunt seriously?

how many arseholes are now going to use her as an excuse to ignore restrictions. Damage the government, this is people’s life’s we’re talking about. 

2 hours ago, Mox said:

There's a couple of things here, why are you specifically targeting footballers? There are plenty of well of individuals and companies who should be incurring the wrath of the public before we even get to footballers. Like Tube Drivers, they are that rare breed of mainly working class individual that are paid well and have excellent union representation and people just cannot seem to accept that. Your beef should be with the owners of the club's, not the footballers.

As for Liverpool, it is a myth that they are this socialist and community club. Their support is riddled with Northern Irish loyalists, they defended racism until blue in the face and ask the people that they forced from their homes in Anfield whether they're a community club. They are just another shell that farts money and has been slowly removed from the community that started it.

Why does my ire have to be restricted to one or the other?  The ultimate authority must always rest with the individual's own reason and critical analysis. I agree with Georgie Bingham comment that club's who abuse furlough should have a transfer ban but that doesn't negate the players doing their bit especially as for many they represent their community.

My annoyance stems from the audacity at playing the victim card - if they gave up 30% they'll still get £1.2bn. If the janitor has to give up 20% then he's likely cutting back.  

Instead they could have come out of this absolute legends by simply saying 'right we'll wave the 30% but owners have to pay £200-£400m' directly to the NHS'. That would have then put the spotlight on the owners and helped prove everyone is in it together rather than merely the plebs. 

No real argument about Liverpool - always preferred Everton 

Edited by ThistleWhistle

6 minutes ago, dan cake said:

Naive, witch hunt seriously?

how many arseholes are now going to use her as an excuse to ignore restrictions. Damage the government, this is people’s life’s we’re talking about. 

I was going to say stupid, maybe I was too tactful. I do think there's an element of witch hunt about it, as the term seems to be used these days. That's not to excuse her action. My point was more musing disbelief about how an individual could do that knowing the effect it would have if found out, as the stakes are high.  I wasn't commenting on whether she should go or not.

7 minutes ago, exile said:

I was going to say stupid, maybe I was too tactful. I do think there's an element of witch hunt about it, as the term seems to be used these days. That's not to excuse her action. My point was more musing disbelief about how an individual could do that knowing the effect it would have if found out, as the stakes are high.  I wasn't commenting on whether she should go or not.

I think it’s quite clear thats what you were trying to say Exile. 
There have been a number of high profile people acting incredibly irresponsible over the past few months, some are  highlighted more than others. 
This was stupid beyond belief.

6 minutes ago, TDYER63 said:

I think it’s quite clear thats what you were trying to say Exile. 
There have been a number of high profile people acting incredibly irresponsible over the past few months, some are  highlighted more than others. 
This was stupid beyond belief.

For what it's worth, I am angered at the thought that her action is in danger of undermining all the hard work done up and down the country by medics, key workers of all sorts, the emergency services, and also the sacrifices that people have made, shutting themselves up in small flats maybe, with no parks or beaches nearby, people who are now either socially isolated or are suffering from being cooped up with abusive partners, and maybe most of all those sacrifices of those who were not able to be close to their loved ones at their times of suffering and loss. So yes the bigger picture is of course the most important thing but I was in this case just commenting on this particular aspect of someone whose career and job is precisely to do with helping people on the health side, but she just undermined all that herself. But sure, there are other angles too.

1 hour ago, ThistleWhistle said:

Why does my ire have to be restricted to one or the other?  The ultimate authority must always rest with the individual's own reason and critical analysis. I agree with Georgie Bingham comment that club's who abuse furlough should have a transfer ban but that doesn't negate the players doing their bit especially as for many they represent their community.

My annoyance stems from the audacity at playing the victim card - if they gave up 30% they'll still get £1.2bn. If the janitor has to give up 20% then he's likely cutting back.  

Instead they could have come out of this absolute legends by simply saying 'right we'll wave the 30% but owners have to pay £200-£400m' directly to the NHS'. That would have then put the spotlight on the owners and helped prove everyone is in it together rather than merely the plebs. 

No real argument about Liverpool - always preferred Everton 

But why should the focus only be on footballers have to give money to the NHS and not the other millionaires throughout the country? They're an easy target because they are in the main, young and working class. Footballers are not the problem here and it seems indicative of this country as a whole that they are taking slack, including from the Health Secretary himself demanding that they play their part for something which is entirely out with their control.

Fitba players are grossly overpaid, but they all pay as PAYE so cant screw the system.

How about getting corporations to pay their correct taxes, or getting pricks using shell companies to pay their fair share, or stopping MPs using tax avoidance schemes, or people like Lorraine Kelly using a loophole, or tell the Queen to pay her tax.

The cunts in the cabinet are screwing everyone, and they are allowed to. The fitba players are doing things correctly, and getting a hammering, cmon tae fuck now. I say this as someone who thinks players should take a paycut.

29 minutes ago, exile said:

For what it's worth, I am angered at the thought that her action is in danger of undermining all the hard work done up and down the country by medics, key workers of all sorts, the emergency services, and also the sacrifices that people have made, shutting themselves up in small flats maybe, with no parks or beaches nearby, people who are now either socially isolated or are suffering from being cooped up with abusive partners, and maybe most of all those sacrifices of those who were not able to be close to their loved ones at their times of suffering and loss. So yes the bigger picture is of course the most important thing but I was in this case just commenting on this particular aspect of someone whose career and job is precisely to do with helping people on the health side, but she just undermined all that herself. But sure, there are other angles too.

8 hours ago, TDYER63 said:

Yesterdays newspaper headline( Mail of course) 

‘ Queen : We are all in this together’.

Apparently that is what she will be saying in her address to the nation.

However well meaning she may be   she is simply being wheeled out for the usual ‘good old blighty’  rallying call. 
 It will be the usual toe curlingly cringy condescending  crap about british resolve.

We might all be in this together as in the virus is everywhere, but we are not all in it together as in having the same means to deal with the stress and worry of it all. The last thing people need is another rich person piping up from the comfort of their palace.  

Aye and then pulling the drawbridge up and making sure the moat's filled to keep the plebs out.

10 minutes ago, Ally Bongo said:

CMO Calderwood has resigned

Probably the right decision but only because our scumbag media would have hounded her relentlessly. A shame but there’s no accounting for stupidity even from clever folk.