Football Magazines growing up.. - Page 3 - Football related - Discussion of non TA football - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

Football Magazines growing up..

6 hours ago, Willie Miller's tache said:

Great thread indeed. (Much better than  the pish you guys normally bang on about / bicker over 😜)

Got Match routinely. League ladders were magic but struggled to keep them up to date by the end of September.

Loved the sticker albums. I think the 1986 WC album had weird plastic cards where the corners tucked into slots on the page, rather than stickers. Tried to recreate childhood memories by getting the 2016 Euros sticker album (which was a bit shit because there was no Scotland page) and, to the astonishment of my wife,  bought about 500 stickers off amazon then played swaps with a couple of other sad middle aged men at work. Completed the Albania page but hadn’t heard of any of their players. 

Wasn’t into Roy of the rovers so much but do remember Viz doing a send up of it where Roy is on a night out after winning (of course) and ends up pulling a page 3 girl . “Roy scores for the second time that day”, read the caption.

Anyone remember Wee alickie on the back page of the green final? Oor Wullie type character whose mood depended on how Aberdeen got on earlier that day. Great bloke. Remember him being unimpressed when Aberdeen drew 1-1 with 10 man Celtic in the 84 cup final. GF went to press before the dons romped to (yet another) cup final win after extra time. 

Didn’t like football monthly. IIRC that was the one entirely devoted to English football except for a half page “round up” of Scottish football near the back. 

I've got the official program from the 1982 WC. It has a two page spread on every team that played in it apart from.......you guessed it - Scotland. No idea why, but we didn't make it into the program.

On 1/31/2020 at 10:27 AM, Orraloon said:

I've got the official program from the 1982 WC. It has a two page spread on every team that played in it apart from.......you guessed it - Scotland. No idea why, but we didn't make it into the program.

pedantry alert ; wee alickie was on front page of green final ?

i recall also a viz sketch with mick hucknall coming on for fulchester rovers complete with the overlength team shirt and stick

my first football sticker memory was wc 74 ; where i had one packet from local newsagents (Collins in Ruthrie anyone ?_) they were a paper variety /not the panini style where you peeledd them off - of course i left them in my jeans pocket thru the wash ....was a brazil one in there

about the same time  ; football cards were really big - i mind having an alec ferguson falkirk one ........

also the esso & texaco coin collections - i had n esso blue one where Leeds had its own oversized Gold coin - we had the whole collection - unfortunately some years back in purge of the loft - in a moment of mary kondo ; seeing the rust covered , soggy board i pitched it

also recall the occasional bit of 'exotic' european football on football focus - seeing east german teams etc playing in tights - i have this memory of seeing goalposts with red striped markings because of the snow - or is that a Colditz (sunday nights) crossover ?

5 minutes ago, Willie Miller's tache said:

Yes! I had a niggling doubt in the back of my mind when I typed that. Thanks for clarifying and apologies for my gross error.

No idea if the GF is still on the go or what happened to WA

did he not morph into a living being / mascot ? altho i never saw him at a game -  i was at a wedding where introduced to the man/boy inside the suit

On 2/1/2020 at 5:43 PM, Auchinyell Sox Change said:

pedantry alert ; wee alickie was on front page of green final ?

i recall also a viz sketch with mick hucknall coming on for fulchester rovers complete with the overlength team shirt and stick

my first football sticker memory was wc 74 ; where i had one packet from local newsagents (Collins in Ruthrie anyone ?_) they were a paper variety /not the panini style where you peeledd them off - of course i left them in my jeans pocket thru the wash ....was a brazil one in there

about the same time  ; football cards were really big - i mind having an alec ferguson falkirk one ........

also the esso & texaco coin collections - i had n esso blue one where Leeds had its own oversized Gold coin - we had the whole collection - unfortunately some years back in purge of the loft - in a moment of mary kondo ; seeing the rust covered , soggy board i pitched it

also recall the occasional bit of 'exotic' european football on football focus - seeing east german teams etc playing in tights - i have this memory of seeing goalposts with red striped markings because of the snow - or is that a Colditz (sunday nights) crossover ?

almost everything you mentioned here is my life  (also in garthdee) in the seventies... collins in ruthrie terrace was on the edge of garthdee/kaimhill almost broomhill and too far for me to get my stickers I would frequent Mestons on the corner of Garthdee drive /kaimhill road or RS mcolls just off of auchinyell road,I too had the coin collections which met the same fate as yours, I think Leeds had a gold medal as the collection was in 1972 when Leeds won the centenary cup final,I also had a large gatefold sleeve thingy that you collected the 92 english football league clubs badges ,again from a petrol station I remember having to send away to complete the collection I could never get the workington badge.I also had a collection (must have been 1970) again from a petrol station of the england world cup squad which was 3d statuettes of the squad,there was also a collection of space coins as well at the same time.

4 hours ago, davierobbsagod said:

almost everything you mentioned here is my life  (also in garthdee) in the seventies... collins in ruthrie terrace was on the edge of garthdee/kaimhill almost broomhill and too far for me to get my stickers I would frequent Mestons on the corner of Garthdee drive /kaimhill road or RS mcolls just off of auchinyell road,I too had the coin collections which met the same fate as yours, I think Leeds had a gold medal as the collection was in 1972 when Leeds won the centenary cup final,I also had a large gatefold sleeve thingy that you collected the 92 english football league clubs badges ,again from a petrol station I remember having to send away to complete the collection I could never get the workington badge.I also had a collection (must have been 1970) again from a petrol station of the england world cup squad which was 3d statuettes of the squad,there was also a collection of space coins as well at the same time.

aye Collins was on the edge of the hood ; but likely a journey down the railway line that we ended there - was also a small place near the abergeldie where we trade hays bottles etc - altho i was half way between rs mcolls and mestons - there used to be a small shop at end of gaitside drive too

bit later in life , think early 80s we would find ways into the old Patersons lorry depot , loads of fun , pre HSE days

simpler times

24 minutes ago, Auchinyell Sox Change said:

aye Collins was on the edge of the hood ; but likely a journey down the railway line that we ended there - was also a small place near the abergeldie where we trade hays bottles etc - altho i was half way between rs mcolls and mestons - there used to be a small shop at end of gaitside drive too

bit later in life , think early 80s we would find ways into the old Patersons lorry depot , loads of fun , pre HSE days

simpler times

The small shop is still at Gaitside Drive. I lived in Garthdee for nearly 5 years and did t k ow about that shop until near the end. 

On 2/3/2020 at 1:27 AM, davierobbsagod said:

mestons is still there as well albeit under a different name for many years now,our house was on Garthdee drive looking onto the kitchens of the old kaimhill school

see there is a decent FB page ; garthdee loons & quines - am not on FB but sometimes have a wee swadge from the wifes account

theres some decent skill testing questions on account set up ; name the ice cream man who lived / drove the area ..... etc

- what you think of cove making it big in south of town after (assuming) the Dons move out the road - am thinking a few decades away mind - but think is a distinct possibility if they get community involvement 

(bear in mind ive been in canada since 2006 so way out of touch....)

14 hours ago, Auchinyell Sox Change said:

see there is a decent FB page ; garthdee loons & quines - am not on FB but sometimes have a wee swadge from the wifes account

theres some decent skill testing questions on account set up ; name the ice cream man who lived / drove the area ..... etc

- what you think of cove making it big in south of town after (assuming) the Dons move out the road - am thinking a few decades away mind - but think is a distinct possibility if they get community involvement 

(bear in mind ive been in canada since 2006 so way out of touch....)

I'm on the Garthdee FB page as is former Morrison Drive inhabitant Dave Cormack...... some great pictures on it...

Cove might end up like Gretna...just depends if they can keep on being bankrolled, I've thought about going along to the new stadium to see the set up as I used to go to Allan Park regularly as I stayed in Cove for 4 years when I first got married

On 2/6/2020 at 10:12 AM, davierobbsagod said:

I'm on the Garthdee FB page as is former Morrison Drive inhabitant Dave Cormack...... some great pictures on it...

Cove might end up like Gretna...just depends if they can keep on being bankrolled, I've thought about going along to the new stadium to see the set up as I used to go to Allan Park regularly as I stayed in Cove for 4 years when I first got married

morrison drive ? i never knew that ; it was quite 'rustic' back in the day - was a boy Frank at school who live there - wonder if any relation

2 football pitches to choose from tho back then ; and 2 pubs

- few of went to see Cove when first in highland league - including a pre season v motherwell ; always felt more of a neutral tho than really taking them on as a 2nd team - last time i saw them was Willie Millers first game in charge of dons v cove ; aberdeenshire cup

their no.9 now ; Mitch ; grew up with his dad on same street - some good local players back then

10 hours ago, Auchinyell Sox Change said:

morrison drive ? i never knew that ; it was quite 'rustic' back in the day - was a boy Frank at school who live there - wonder if any relation

2 football pitches to choose from tho back then ; and 2 pubs

- few of went to see Cove when first in highland league - including a pre season v motherwell ; always felt more of a neutral tho than really taking them on as a 2nd team - last time i saw them was Willie Millers first game in charge of dons v cove ; aberdeenshire cup

their no.9 now ; Mitch ; grew up with his dad on same street - some good local players back then

Dave did have a brother not sure what his name was,I worked with Mike for years,he has retired now as have I, on another note Edser has moved across the street.....

2 hours ago, davierobbsagod said:

Dave did have a brother not sure what his name was,I worked with Mike for years,he has retired now as have I, on another note Edser has moved across the street.....

Edser as in the scaffolder/access platform guy?