BBC Scotland - Football related - Discussion of non TA football - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

BBC Scotland

I listen to it in the background at work from time to time. It’s nice to hear a voice from home and the reactions from customers can be funny too. 

Why do we hear about English fitba’ on the sports section though? Nothing to do with Scottish players. This morning’s breaking story..... Pep Guardiola on about Sergio Aguerro. It’s everyday this is on. Yes, the predictable thing is to switch it off but I wouldn’t mind some Scottish news, chat, etc. Why should we have to listen to something that has absolutely nothing to do with our country? 

I wonder if the locals in Manchester are sitting discussing Murray Davidson’s sending off yesterday? 🤔

Edited by WCTA

They'll usually give the EPL score updates and mention any scots playing or scoring, but that's likely more so folk can keep an eye on their coupons than anything else. 

I regularly listen to the Sportsound programmes and Off the ball and Open all Mics on a Saturday, by and large I enjoy them. The rest of the Radio Scotland output is heinous. GMS is so bad it's unreal. 

3 hours ago, AndyDD said:

They'll usually give the EPL score updates and mention any scots playing or scoring, but that's likely more so folk can keep an eye on their coupons than anything else. 

I regularly listen to the Sportsound programmes and Off the ball and Open all Mics on a Saturday, by and large I enjoy them. The rest of the Radio Scotland output is heinous. GMS is so bad it's unreal. 

This would be fine if this was all it was. But it’s everyday we are getting just random pish about players for English sides with absolutely hee-haw to do with Scotland. 

I’ve never noticed.

I think they give pretty decent coverage of Scottish football. Don’t like half the pundits, but at least they cover it.

Maybe the news is taken from a generic bbc news feed?

Although to be fair, outwith sportsound etc. I only really listen by accident, usually ceilidh music when I’m going to pick up the takeaway on a Saturday night. 😂

39 minutes ago, sbcmfc said:

I’ve never noticed.

I think they give pretty decent coverage of Scottish football. Don’t like half the pundits, but at least they cover it.

Although to be fair, outwith sportsound etc. I only really listen by accident, usually ceilidh music when I’m going to pick up the takeaway on a Saturday night. 😂

I got a strange look on Sunday morning going to my boys football when people were talking in Gaelic in the radio. He must’ve thought I was mad listening to that the last time I was driving 😂😂

I’ve never noticed.

I know exactly what I’m listening tae ya daftie. 😂

12 minutes ago, WCTA said:

I know exactly what I’m listening tae ya daftie. 😂

i meant the content rather than the presentation. Like they give the uk headlines as part of the Scottish news.

I didn’t think you hadn’t realised you were listening to radio 2.

8 minutes ago, sbcmfc said:

i meant the content rather than the presentation. Like they give the uk headlines as part of the Scottish news.

I didn’t think you hadn’t realised you were listening to radio 2.

No, it is 100% a BBC Scotland segment. It doesn’t flick away to a wider UK just for the news. It is every single day.

I still listen to OTB.

Yes, its probably seen better days ; but its still funny for an informal look at football. Some of the guess are interesting too.

Apart from OTB and Sportsound ; I never listen to it to Radio Scotland.

Call Kaye sounds horrendous ; Stark Talk has been OK if a good guest, but always forget about it.

Edited by weekevie04

6 minutes ago, weekevie04 said:

I still listen to OTB.

Yes, its probably seen better days ; but its still funny for an informal look at football. Some of the guess are interesting too.

Apart from OTB and Sportsound ; I never listen to it to Radio Scotland.

Call Kaye sounds horrendous ; Stark Talk has been OK if a good guest, but always forget about it.

Cosgrove’s a braw listen. Guid Letham laddie tae. 👍

9 minutes ago, WCTA said:

No, it is 100% a BBC Scotland segment. It doesn’t flick away to a wider UK just for the news. It is every single day.

I mean like the news they have to pick from. 

Im not explaining it well.😂

They don’t have to include the English football obviously, but choose to.

I know it’s their own news.

Slight tangent, but is Storm Huntly not a great name for a weather reporter, great example of nominative determinism.

1 minute ago, sbcmfc said:

I mean like the news they have to pick from. 

Im not explaining it well.😂

They don’t have to include the English football obviously, but choose to.

I know it’s their own news.

Slight tangent, but is Storm Huntly not a great name for a weather reporter, great example of nominative determinism.

Storm Huntly sounds like one heck of a filthy pornstar. 😄

2 hours ago, WCTA said:

This would be fine if this was all it was. But it’s everyday we are getting just random pish about players for English sides with absolutely hee-haw to do with Scotland. 

That's definitely what it is during Open All Mics, score updates as they come in on the wires, but Sportsound itself only very occasionally has run a feature that is about english football unless it has some sort of Scottish football link, even if tenuous. 

The news through the day, though, might well be a different story, which, yup, you're right, is irrelevant pish. Presumably if there are no actual scottish sports headlines (that they can be arsed covering) they'll go with whatever the fuck else is in the headlines in sport in general. 

Just now, AndyDD said:

That's definitely what it is during Open All Mics, score updates as they come in on the wires, but Sportsound itself only very occasionally has run a feature that is about english football unless it has some sort of Scottish football link, even if tenuous. 

The news through the day, though, might well be a different story, which, yup, you're right, is irrelevant pish. Presumably if there are no actual scottish sports headlines (that they can be arsed covering) they'll go with whatever the fuck else is in the headlines in sport in general. 

Thing is, I fail to see any argument at all why some irrelevant knee injury to some Spanish player in an English side is somehow more important or beneficial to what’s going on at Rugby Park, McDiarmid or Pittodrie. 

1 hour ago, WCTA said:

Thing is, I fail to see any argument at all why some irrelevant knee injury to some Spanish player in an English side is somehow more important or beneficial to what’s going on at Rugby Park, McDiarmid or Pittodrie. 

Yeah fuck knows why they find it worth mentioning. 

Mind you, any time a Scottish club manager gets punted they do tend to mention it on 5 Live. As if any cunt in Chester gives a fuck about the vacancy at Hearts. 

Thankfully doesn't come up much on the programmes dedicated to the topic of Scottish football. 

What really fucking bugs me is their tendency to put live commentary on the radio of a game that is also on TV, when there are other, non televised games they could be covering at the same time instead. 

46 minutes ago, weekevie04 said:

Nothing more embarrassing than Scots saying ''we'' about an English side.

Been going on for decades but has got beyond embarrassing. Look at all those wankers at Murrayfield decked out in Liverpool scarves jerseys. 🤦‍♂️