Favourite Feathered Friends - Anything Goes - Other topics not covered elsewhere - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

Favourite Feathered Friends

14 hours ago, vanderark14 said:

A TA foot soldier 😉

Those with feathers in their bunnets usually accompany the look with some awful looking fake piper jaickit bought fae ain o’ they fake Royal Mile tartan tat shops. Piper jaickits widnae bother me if the twats wearing them could actually play pipes. 

On 11/22/2019 at 6:05 AM, bonzo said:

Robins they're hard wee buggers. 

On the other hand I feckin hate "sea" gulls.

I like sea gulls, at least I like the sound of them. They remind me of my childhood holidays, travelling on the ferry to Millport . The sound of seagulls and the smell of seaweed bring back good memories. 

However my favourite birds are Peacocks, they are beautiful . Sadly I dont get the opportunity to spot them often, they are not particularly common in Paisley. Only a clothes shop called Peacocks. 

22 minutes ago, TDYER63 said:

I like sea gulls, at least I like the sound of them. They remind me of my childhood holidays, travelling on the ferry to Millport . The sound of seagulls and the smell of seaweed bring back good memories. 

However my favourite birds are Peacocks, they are beautiful . Sadly I dont get the opportunity to spot them often, they are not particularly common in Paisley. Only a clothes shop called Peacocks. 

I don't mind sea gulls at the seaside but the big bassas are taking over the world. 

52 minutes ago, bonzo said:

I don't mind sea gulls at the seaside but the big bassas are taking over the world. 

I work in the centre of Glasgow on the top floor of our building. There is a full length window in the room viewing out to a flat part of the roof and every year baby gulls are born there. The nest cant be moved as they are protected, it is actually quite interesting watching them  but what fookin racket they make. They even drown out the busker who murders Bowie and Bolan music in Argylle st. 

On 11/23/2019 at 1:33 PM, TDYER63 said:

I work in the centre of Glasgow on the top floor of our building. There is a full length window in the room viewing out to a flat part of the roof and every year baby gulls are born there. The nest cant be moved as they are protected, it is actually quite interesting watching them  but what fookin racket they make. They even drown out the busker who murders Bowie and Bolan music in Argylle st. 

Everyone's probably seen it but it's still one of the funniest stories ever... https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-us-canada-43632914

In terms of what I see round & about where I live I like goldfinches a lot. Kestrels are impressive & we get loads of herons down by the canal which I always think of as the B-52 bombers of the bird world. You look & think ‘that bloody thing will never fly’. 

There was an office I worked in for a while that overlooked the River Colne & there were always kingfishers up & down there. I can’t so much say I really saw one as I used to see the blue streaks blurring past the window  

I might have told this story before but going back a few years I was visiting Unst. As I drove down this road, there were two what I think were Great Skuas (bonxies). I stopped the car to look & carefully went for my camera. Still they sat there. I got it out of the bag, lens cap off, focussed and the split second I was about to click the shutter - off the bastards flew. I never saw any more like them to be sure if that’s what they were but they were impressive looking things. 

Edited by Huddersfield

38 minutes ago, Huddersfield said:

In terms of what I see round & about where I live I like goldfinches a lot. Kestrels are impressive & we get loads of herons down by the canal which I always think of as the B-52 bombers of the bird world. You look & think ‘that bloody thing will never fly’. 

There was an office I worked in for a while that overlooked the River Colne & there were always kingfishers up & down there. I can’t so much say I really saw one as I used to see the blue streaks blurring past the window  

I might have told this story before but going back a few years I was visiting Unst. As I drove down this road, there were two what I think were Great Skuas (bonxies). I stopped the car to look & carefully went for my camera. Still they sat there. I got it out of the bag, lens cap off, focussed and the split second I was about to click the shutter - off the bastards flew. I never saw any more like them to be sure if that’s what they were but they were impressive looking things. 

You surprise me no mention of Bantams

I get a lot of bald eagles around me. Anywhere there is a river you get them, housing blocks or not. Infact, when I’m out walking and I see one I instantly want to punch fuck out of a Muslim and scream freedom into any non-white cunt’s face.