General Election 2019 - Page 36 - Anything Goes - Other topics not covered elsewhere - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

General Election 2019

9 minutes ago, ThistleWhistle said:

Polls might be tightening - Boris Johnson has just driven a union jack emblazoned JCB through a polystyrene wall with ‘Get Brexit Done’ stuck on the tipper. 

This is essentially the response to him looking bad over the kid in Leeds hospital - what the absolute **** is going on!!    

Nice wee bit of advertising for his pal Lord Bamford. Trump used the "Build the wall" slogan to help him get elected. Looks like Boris has taken a slightly different approach. As you say WTF. But it will probably work.

9 minutes ago, Caledonian Craig said:

Well if you are a betting man rush off to get a bet on Tories increasing their seat count. You'll get a pretty good price on that.

Too many seats are on a knife edge and too close to call. I think you might be surprised at the number of folk who are liking the "Get Brexit Done" slogan. 

I have no idea how this will go. The polls don't look great (UK wide) but I think the polls will be out again come the exit poll.

As for the SNP, I no know 7 people who didn't vote in 2017 or voted elsewhere backing the SNP.  No doubt in those former SNP heartland seats there will be another 7 people voting Tory so it'll be ticht ; but the people I know - 4 didn't vote in 17 (were SNP/Yes ; but like many for some reason, didn't vote like many SNP voters didn't turn up) the other 2 were Labour and Green ; and I think there person has voted TWICE in his old age of 36 as he's very non-political but his words from Saturday afternoon were "Kev, I'll need to vote SNP to get the Tories out,"

I've backed the Tories in Aberdeen South, Angus as an outside bet - as in if it remains blue at least I'll make some money on the back of it.

Some of those SNP-Tory seats will be incredibly tight ; but the Tories have turned in to the Coke Zero version of the DUP basically their only election bump is ''No tae Indyref2''

Then again, I had a bad feeling about the EU election, but it turned out well for the SNP - mostly thanks to the Brexit Party though for standing. Nae Brexit Party in many seats, so we'll see. Those former SNP heartland seats will be super tight, down to the wire I reckon.

I just can't get my head around anyone in Scotland voting Tory. They hate us with a passion yet won't give us independence. This simple dichotomy proves we have the finances to survive on our own. 

I can understand voting for just about anyone else but not the Tories. They offer nothing positive and are run by the biggest group of liars, charlatans, rogues and incompetents I've ever seen. 

The problem is that too many dafties will continue to vote for Scottish Labour

In this election every vote for anyone other than the SNP is a vote against the SNP because as ive said before every staunch Unionist is voting Tory

8 minutes ago, Caledonian Craig said:

And a vote for Tory, Labour or Lib Dem in Scotland is marked down in Westminster's books as a clear unequivocal vote in support of the union. It will be used by Westminster to prove Scotland has no mandate for a second IndyRef.

Scottish Labour know exactly what they are doing

A vote for them in Scotland is more a vote for the Union than Corbyn socialism

I've a bad feeling that the SNP are going to lose a few seats and the Tories to gain, especially in terms of vote share and probably a few seats.

That's nagging away at me as well given that the opinion pollsters got it badly wrong two years ago.

Put it this way, we deserve all we get if we are prepared to return idiots like Hair, Kerr and Graham

2 hours ago, ThistleWhistle said:

Polls might be tightening - Boris Johnson has just driven a union jack emblazoned JCB through a polystyrene wall with ‘Get Brexit Done’ stuck on the tipper. 

This is essentially the response to him looking bad over the kid in Leeds hospital - what the absolute **** is going on!!    

Ive just seen the video, I didn't think that was meant to be taken literally 🤔

7 hours ago, ThistleWhistle said:

I’m worrying about that too.  ‘Get Brexit done’ is a far more simplistic message than whatever the SNP are trying to convey and, although there has been minimal kickback against it being obviously bollocks that it’ll be finished short-term, I don’t really think people care to be honest. 

At Fuc#ing bus shes driving about in does nobody any favours 

7 hours ago, Squirrelhumper said:

I've a bad feeling that the SNP are going to lose a few seats and the Tories to gain, especially in terms of vote share and probably a few seats.

I am really struggling to make my mind up how this is going to pan out, one minute i think its going to be a good night for the snp, the next i am thinking a damp squeeb 

6 minutes ago, King Of Paisley said:

Don't think that's a resounding enough victory to send Johnson a clear indyref2 message. Almost certain the Tories have just about held onto their seats bar one

Why we want indy ref2 exactly?  Would it not just come back about 55% NO again, and even if YES won it would only be 1 all. 

There's an uncanny sense of deja vu. It almost looks as if it could be a stalemate, some sort of tight tory majority, a late Labour swing, but not good enough to dislodge Johnson. 

Maybe after all we need Brexit to happen before anything will seriously shift. 

Then again the polls said indy vote would go up if Boris got in, but the impact is hardly evident