Scottish players in action 19/20 - Page 191 - TA specific - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

Scottish players in action 19/20

SkyBlueScot

35 minutes ago, Third Lanark said:

We need to stop this obsession with 'dropped'. Not even players like Sterling start every single game; it's a squad game now. When they're not in the squad that's the time to worry.

I think it's the case that some fools love to put a negative spin on things so they can have an "I telt ye so" or "I knew this wiz gonnae happen" moment.

The only decent Scottish player in the premiership who you could realistically suggest has been dropped since the restart is McTominay, who appears to have fallen behind Matic in the pecking order. He'll still get games but doesn't look like starting as many as he did before lockdown.

Armstrong, McGinn and Tierney - and obviously Robertson - have either maintained or increased their playing time.

Guest ElChris04

Round up of the pre season for us, wanted to mention in particular a few ex/current Scotland international players. 

- Scott Bain. Absolute horrendous goalkeeper, I genuinely would make an argument of him being the worst keeper I’ve seen mange to get a Scotland cap I’m my lifetime at least. Maybe the worst keeper domestically too. Thankfully I don’t think any of us need to worry about seeing him in a Scotland shirt anytime soon again. 

Ryan Christie - pre season or not, looked absolutely miles off it in all 3 games he played compared to everyone else. Worst outfield player from the pre season, Hopefully picks up his form as he’s a good asset to have for us on the bench or first team come the playoffs. 

Callum McGregor & James Forrest both looked great when giving game time. McGregor probably the standout out of all the current Scotland internationals.

1 hour ago, ElChris04 said:

Round up of the pre season for us, wanted to mention in particular a few ex/current Scotland international players. 

- Scott Bain. Absolute horrendous goalkeeper, I genuinely would make an argument of him being the worst keeper I’ve seen mange to get a Scotland cap I’m my lifetime at least. Maybe the worst keeper domestically too. Thankfully I don’t think any of us need to worry about seeing him in a Scotland shirt anytime soon again. 

Ryan Christie - pre season or not, looked absolutely miles off it in all 3 games he played compared to everyone else. Worst outfield player from the pre season, Hopefully picks up his form as he’s a good asset to have for us on the bench or first team come the playoffs. 

Callum McGregor & James Forrest both looked great when giving game time. McGregor probably the standout out of all the current Scotland internationals.

never saw Scott Bain as a Scotland level goalie.  mcgregor would be the only Celtic player I would be tempted to start at the moment and I would have him as half back beside Mctominay.

8 hours ago, Malcolm said:

never saw Scott Bain as a Scotland level goalie.  mcgregor would be the only Celtic player I would be tempted to start at the moment and I would have him as half back beside Mctominay.

Scott Bain is shit and a complete arsehole with a hugely misplaced idea of the level of his own talent. 

Its a No for me

12 hours ago, ElChris04 said:

From the hour or so of Celtic’s games, I thought Christie was superb, including against PSG.

15 hours ago, loanhead-tartan said:

Robertson looked good tonight , devastating on the counter

Aye he done the right back for his assist,  noticed he’s been getting better at beating his man as times went on which puts him on another level. 

Guest ElChris04
18 hours ago, Malcolm said:

McGregor is a mainstay in the Scotland team. Always consistent when others aren’t. If we are going a back five and need a wing back, Forrest gets in easily though. His competition would be 3 out of position players who’ve never played there in his career. 

but aye Scott Bain is never scotland/Celtic class in a million years,  the worst part is he actually his a big ego of himself being a lot better than he is. 

Guest ElChris04
7 hours ago, er yir macaroon said:

From the hour or so of Celtic’s games, I thought Christie was superb, including against PSG.

Disagree a lot with that. He was far from superb, he picked up his form a tiny bit second half and seemed to get into the game but overall, he’s been nowhere near his usual standard hes shown in the past. 

but it is pre season so these games are to get up to speed, hopefully picks the form up in the new season nearer the playoffs. 

Fucking dire talking about Forrest being a first pick, it's a shite state of affairs. His inability to go past someone as a winger is shocking and he canny cross a ball either. and he has nae neck

3 hours ago, ElChris04 said:

Disagree a lot with that. He was far from superb, he picked up his form a tiny bit second half and seemed to get into the game but overall, he’s been nowhere near his usual standard hes shown in the past. 

but it is pre season so these games are to get up to speed, hopefully picks the form up in the new season nearer the playoffs. 

He was up against some of the best players in the world and not the usual SPFL duffers. In that context I thought he was excellent. 

11 hours ago, er yir macaroon said:

He was up against some of the best players in the world and not the usual SPFL duffers. In that context I thought he was excellent. 

this is why it’s much easier to select EPL players.  They play at a half decent standard every week.  If Scottish players are doing it consistently against top European teams then I’m all for including them but a dazzling performance against an SPL team is equivalent to playing against Andorra or Lichtenstein.

19 hours ago, ElChris04 said:

McGregor is a mainstay in the Scotland team. Always consistent when others aren’t. If we are going a back five and need a wing back, Forrest gets in easily though. His competition would be 3 out of position players who’ve never played there in his career. 

but aye Scott Bain is never scotland/Celtic class in a million years,  the worst part is he actually his a big ego of himself being a lot better than he is. 

Bain would make a decent enough goalie for a mid-table SPFL team but he isn't international standard.

Given the current paucity of Scottish goalkeeping talent I wouldn't completely discount him ever appearing in a Scotland squad again though! I see David Marshall was relegated to League One with Wigan the other night.

37 minutes ago, scotlad said:

Bain would make a decent enough goalie for a mid-table SPFL team but he isn't international standard.

Given the current paucity of Scottish goalkeeping talent I wouldn't completely discount him ever appearing in a Scotland squad again though! I see David Marshall was relegated to League One with Wigan the other night.

How do we know that Marshall will be playing for Wigan next season though ?

They are in administration, have a massive wage bill and need to shift players.

He'll find another team.

6 minutes ago, ceudmilefailte said:

Celtic? 

It's been mentioned but I have a feeling that a couple of English Championship teams would be interested in an experienced and proven goalkeeper at that level.

He won't be at Wigan much longer anyway.

2 hours ago, ErsatzThistle said:

How do we know that Marshall will be playing for Wigan next season though ?

They are in administration, have a massive wage bill and need to shift players.

He'll find another team.

Hopefully. He has had a pretty good season, keeping quite a few clean sheets, so that'll do his chances no harm.

7 hours ago, Malcolm said:

this is why it’s much easier to select EPL players.  They play at a half decent standard every week.  If Scottish players are doing it consistently against top European teams then I’m all for including them but a dazzling performance against an SPL team is equivalent to playing against Andorra or Lichtenstein.

More or less, yes. Christie was holding his own against some world class players albeit he didn’t lash one into the top corner - to the obvious disgust of some!

EPL bound sooner rather than later. 

2 hours ago, er yir macaroon said:

More or less, yes. Christie was holding his own against some world class players albeit he didn’t lash one into the top corner - to the obvious disgust of some!

EPL bound sooner rather than later. 

would really like to see both Christie and mcgregor go to top half premier clubs.  We would have most of our team playing there.  Maybe too big a step for McKenna..... maybe EPL in a couple of years via stint at Celtic 

4 hours ago, Malcolm said:

would really like to see both Christie and mcgregor go to top half premier clubs.  We would have most of our team playing there.  Maybe too big a step for McKenna..... maybe EPL in a couple of years via stint at Celtic 

Neither are good enough, especially McGregor