Mikey Johnstone Call Up? - TA specific - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

Mikey Johnstone Call Up?

Guest ElChris04

Would you Call Up Mikey Johnstone For Cyprus/Belgium?  

50 members have voted

1. 1. Pick One:

• Aye, Call Him Up
    • Naw, Too Early

This poll is closed to new votes

• Please sign in or register to vote in this poll.
  • Poll closed on 05/30/2019 at 10:27 AM

Guest ElChris04

So Basically something that’s been on my mind and I’ve not seen discussed, Should Mikey Johnstone Be Called up by Steve Clarke for the Cyprus & Belgium Games? 

personally for me I believe he should be called up,  if your good enough your old enough and he was class against hearts and a call up is another boost for his confidence, he’s also eligible for Ireland and I feel with his rising form it could be horrible if we had another McCarthy Situation and lost out on one of our brightest prospects. 

I understand the discussion with regards to Ireland being the whores that they are...but if someone wants to really play for Scotland, then I'm sure they can hold off until they've at least finished puberty before they decided they've given us enough time.

I'd hate to lose him (or anybody else) to they fuckers over there, but at the end of the day a Scotland cap should be based on merit and not because we have a gun being held to our head. One good game against Hearts in a dead rubber, surely isn't justification to be chosen for a Scotland squad?

3 minutes ago, ONeils4oyarder said:

I understand the discussion with regards to Ireland being the whores that they are...but if someone wants to really play for Scotland, then I'm sure they can hold off until they've at least finished puberty before they decided they've given us enough time.

I'd hate to lose him (or anybody else) to they fuckers over there, but at the end of the day a Scotland cap should be based on merit and not because we have a gun being held to our head. One good game against Hearts in a dead rubber, surely isn't justification to be chosen for a Scotland squad?

This

11 minutes ago, ElChris04 said:

So Basically something that’s been on my mind and I’ve not seen discussed, Should Mikey Johnstone Be Called up by Steve Clarke for the Cyprus & Belgium Games? 

personally for me I believe he should be called up,  if your good enough your old enough and he was class against hearts and a call up is another boost for his confidence, he’s also eligible for Ireland and I feel with his rising form it could be horrible if we had another McCarthy Situation and lost out on one of our brightest prospects. 

I only saw the highlights of the Hearts game so can’t really comment but he was pish against Rangers and didn’t even make the bench at Pittodrie last month. Not saying he’s a bad player but he doesn’t appear to be ready for big matches. Players in that position should not be called up to the senior international team. 

If he starts tomorrow and plays well then I wouldn’t have a problem with him getting picked in the next squad but he doesn’t merit a call up based on one meaningless game against Hearts. 

If he panics and jumps ship to Ireland whilst warning Celtic’s bench or playing in their reserves then fuck him. He obviously doesn’t want to play for us anyway if he does that. 

Guest ElChris04
4 minutes ago, Texas Pete said:

I only saw the highlights of the Hearts game so can’t really comment but he was pish against Rangers and didn’t even make the bench at Pittodrie last month. Not saying he’s a bad player but he doesn’t appear to be ready for big matches. Players in that position should not be called up to the senior international team. 

If he starts tomorrow and plays well then I wouldn’t have a problem with him getting picked in the next squad but he doesn’t merit a call up based on one meaningless game against Hearts. 

If he panics and jumps ship to Ireland whilst warning Celtic’s bench or playing in their reserves then fuck him. He obviously doesn’t want to play for us anyway if he does that. 

The rangers games where poor Judgement by Both Lenny and Rodgers, he got thrown into the deep end without enough run of games, fair enough if you feel he hasn’t had enough games to prove himself, but my point is I feel he’s still a lot better than our other options. Hopefully he does start in the cup final and Sways a lot of people. But for me he’d be getting called up. He’s quick skilful and can beat players, something we are lacking in depth. 

He’s played for the Scotland youth set up all his career and social media wise seems committed, but you just never know. Ireland are worse off than us in wingers so could come calling. 

1 minute ago, ElChris04 said:

The rangers games where poor Judgement by Both Lenny and Rodgers, he got thrown into the deep end without enough run of games, fair enough if you feel he hasn’t had enough games to prove himself, but my point is I feel he’s still a lot better than our other options. Hopefully he does start in the cup final and Sways a lot of people. But for me he’d be getting called up. He’s quick skilful and can beat players, something we are lacking in depth. 

He’s played for the Scotland youth set up all his career and social media wise seems committed, but you just never know. Ireland are worse off than us in wingers so could come calling. 

If he’s as good as you say he is why isn’t he in the Celtic starting 11 more often? He quite often doesn’t even make the bench. 

I’m not sure Rodgers had a choice as Celtic we’re missing a lot of players in December and the league was over by the last Old Firm game so Lennon gave him a run out.

I can almost guarantee he won’t start tomorrow. If I’m wrong and he impresses in the final then I’m sure he’ll catch Clarke’s eye and we’ll know he can do it in big matches. 

Guest ElChris04
14 minutes ago, Texas Pete said:

If he’s as good as you say he is why isn’t he in the Celtic starting 11 more often? He quite often doesn’t even make the bench. 

I’m not sure Rodgers had a choice as Celtic we’re missing a lot of players in December and the league was over by the last Old Firm game so Lennon gave him a run out.

I can almost guarantee he won’t start tomorrow. If I’m wrong and he impresses in the final then I’m sure he’ll catch Clarke’s eye and we’ll know he can do it in big matches. 

Simple answer is he should be, how Hayes or Sinclair get ahead of him is beyond me and a lot my my mates who support Celtic, time will only tell and hopefully he starts in the cup final, like I say, everyone’s entitled to there opinion and it’s more than fair enough to not feel he’s warranted a call up. But again I still feel he’s already better than guys we have in the wing depth, so calling him up early and getting him in the mix would only be a good thing. 

1 hour ago, Texas Pete said:

No one's talking about starting him in the upcoming games. He should be involved in squads imo as he is a young up coming winger which we don't have many of. He is also only 20 so he will get more games in the next couple of seasons for Celtic. We should be looking to involve young players in our squad so that they don't end up getting their first international experience when they are 23 or 24.

Just my opinion, but from what I've seen of him he's a better prospect than Morgan, and he's been capped already.

12 minutes ago, mccaughey85 said:

No one's talking about starting him in the upcoming games. He should be involved in squads imo as he is a young up coming winger which we don't have many of. He is also only 20 so he will get more games in the next couple of seasons for Celtic. We should be looking to involve young players in our squad so that they don't end up getting their first international experience when they are 23 or 24.

By that logic we should be calling up McCrorie and Hastie and guys like that. 

If Johnston is good enough then he’ll force his way into the starting 11 at Celtic and he’ll stay there. He will then deserve a call up to the Scotland squad.  

17 minutes ago, scotlad said:

Just my opinion, but from what I've seen of him he's a better prospect than Morgan, and he's been capped already.

I’m not sure prospects merit a call up to the senior squad. Other people disagree which is fair enough.

I won’t lose any sleep if Johnston gets a call up but I haven’t been that impressed with him so far so I’m not sure what the fuss is about. 

I’ll be ecstatic if he does get selected and scores a hat-trick in Brussels! 😂

I guess for me, it's a question of which 4 players should be in the squad for the wide forward positions.

Fraser and Forrest are givens.

But for the other two spots there are not really any clear standouts.

Either older players who haven't exactly shone when given opportunities.
Guys who are coming back after injuries, who've barely played this year.
Or young players who are in and out of sides at best, but have had a few good moments.

I'd be fine with Morgan, Johnston or Hasite, given the options and the opponents.

12 minutes ago, Texas Pete said:

By that logic we should be calling up McCrorie and Hastie and guys like that. 

If Johnston is good enough then he’ll force his way into the starting 11 at Celtic and he’ll stay there. He will then deserve a call up to the Scotland squad.  

Mccrorie is playing in a position we have lots of strength in depth and he's barely played much recently, I was a fan of his when he first broke through but his performances have been mediocre for a long time now and I don't believe he will definitely make it at a rangers. Hastie looks good but he is starting games due to being in a poor Motherwell team with very little competition. If Hastie carries on his good performances next season then he should be considered for the squad. Johnston has performed well in most games he's played this season and he is in a position we don't have alot of depth in. He also could easily be snatched by Ireland if we don't show interest in capping him, let's get him in and make sure we don't have a mcgeady situation again.

2 minutes ago, mccaughey85 said:

Mccrorie is playing in a position we have lots of strength in depth and he's barely played much recently, I was a fan of his when he first broke through but his performances have been mediocre for a long time now and I don't believe he will definitely make it at a rangers. Hastie looks good but he is starting games due to being in a poor Motherwell team with very little competition. If Hastie carries on his good performances next season then he should be considered for the squad. Johnston has performed well in most games he's played this season and he is in a position we don't have alot of depth in. He also could easily be snatched by Ireland if we don't show interest in capping him, let's get him in and make sure we don't have a mcgeady situation again.

It’s hardly the same as the McGeady situation. He played for the Irish youth teams. Johnston has played for our unders teams. 

If he changes to Ireland whilst still being a fringe player at Celtic he’s an absolute fud. 

As far as I'm aware, the U21s have no games until September ?

Michael Johnstone, along with Lewis Ferguson and David Turnbull should be in the next squad.

2 hours ago, ONeils4oyarder said:

Classy. 

Just for consistency, would you be ok with an Irish fan referring to us as being "the whores that they are" or "they fuckers over there" ?

30 minutes ago, Texas Pete said:

It’s hardly the same as the McGeady situation. He played for the Irish youth teams. Johnston has played for our unders teams. 

If he changes to Ireland whilst still being a fringe player at Celtic he’s an absolute fud. 

Regardless I would still like him in the squad based on his ability. Can you name me any wingers that we should have ahead of Johnston barring Fraser and Forrest. 

3 minutes ago, mccaughey85 said:

Regardless I would still like him in the squad based on his ability. Can you name me any wingers that we should have ahead of Johnston barring Fraser and Forrest. 

Not off the top of my head but you don’t just pick someone because there’s nobody better. You just have less wingers in the squad. 

2 hours ago, ElChris04 said:

I'm fairly sure they'll have already approached him.

The FAI are "predatory" (to use former RoI manager Brian Kerr's word).

36 minutes ago, Dave78 said:

I'm fairly sure they'll have already approached him.

The FAI are "predatory" (to use former RoI manager Brian Kerr's word).

What are you basing that on?

Just because they’ll take anyone (much like us) doesn’t mean they’ve tapped him up. 

Edited by Texas Pete

2 minutes ago, Texas Pete said:

What are you basing that on?

Nothing really. Just the fact they're never slow to make enquiries. Finding eligible players has been a part of the FAI's strategy for decades.

10 minutes ago, Dave78 said:

Nothing really. Just the fact they're never slow to make enquiries. Finding eligible players has been a part of the FAI's strategy for decades.

Maybe they have and he’s told them to bolt?

If they have approached them and he said yes then they’d have called him up already. 

I’m sure the boy isn’t stupid. He’ll know that if he does well consistently for Celtic he’ll get called into the Scotland squad. 

Not off the top of my head but you don’t just pick someone because there’s nobody better. You just have less wingers in the squad. 

Does that work? We have, and likely will, play with 2 wide men. We need 2 starters and 2 back ups in case of injurieso r unforseen circumstance. So to my mind we need 4 wingers in the squad. So we have to pick the 4 best wingers we have (the definition of nobody better).

It's that or play without wingers, but forrest and fraser are too good to play without them.

15 minutes ago, andyD said:

Does that work? We have, and likely will, play with 2 wide men. We need 2 starters and 2 back ups in case of injurieso r unforseen circumstance. So to my mind we need 4 wingers in the squad. So we have to pick the 4 best wingers we have (the definition of nobody better).

It's that or play without wingers, but forrest and fraser are too good to play without them.

So if we only had three good wingers you’d be happy with Clarke calling up some Clyde winger just because we needed a fourth? We should only be picking international class players. Not that I’m saying Johnston isn’t good enough, he just hasn’t proven it yet.

Who says we’ll play with two wingers anyway? Clarke could play with wing backs or two up front for all any of us know.