Next Manager? - Page 5 - TA specific - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

Next Manager?

JECK

5 minutes ago, Squirrelhumper said:

He's under contract for next season and has shown no intention to leave.

I'm just about given up with Scotland now, so I couldn't really care less who's boss under the current set up.

I'd hope Clarke would get a better gig that this shambles for his next job.  I don't think he's particularly fond of the SFA to be honest either.

They are more likely to go for somebody like McIness. 

I utter those words after every shit defeat but still I will be glued to the TV when we play, If I still lived in Scotland I would probably still be stupid enough to go to hampden too.

6 minutes ago, Auld_Reekie said:

Darren Fletcher?! No, no, no, no, no.

What the fuck is wrong with us?! Really, really nice guy, legend in fact, and represented the best of what I've seen in the last 20 years for Scotland. But unless he's got management experience I've missed and a proven track record that's somehow passed me by, in what way is Fletcher even remotely qualified? It is not enough to be a nice guy and have a record of showing up as a player - this is a managerial appointment and a fucking good one at that. The required candidate should have recent, proven managerial experience, relevant qualifications, and a whole other list of technical abilities relating to football coaching and management.

Sack McLeish, and the board, and get professionals in charge of our game for fuck sake. I don't care what their nationality is, just open the position up and invite all applications - interview the best candidates and select the outstanding applicant. Give them a top tier salary and allow them to appoint their own team with minimal interference from the board.

This is not fucking rocket science and it's not Sunday league football. If you've got pals on the board and have an intimate knowledge of the corridors of power at Hampden, I'd probably hold it against them in their application.

At this stage, I'd actually support someone totally unconnected to football taking over at the SFA and treating it like a proper business. There is no fucking way this shite would be tolerated in the business world. There should be clear results and performance benchmarks... and we're so far below them right now, it's a national disgrace.

yeah just invite all candidates.  it's not hard.  pay a top salary and see what's available.  

It's not that bad a job; you'll have some leeway first campaign and you have a chance at qualification anyway.  If you get Scotland support onboard and get some decent results, it's a cracking job.   Leave after the tournament.

29 minutes ago, vanderark14 said:

I utter those words after every shit defeat but still I will be glued to the TV when we play, If I still lived in Scotland I would probably still be stupid enough to go to hampden too.

I don't think i'll even bother going to the home games and I bought a season ticket. Certainly not with the current set up. Thank fuck I hadn't booked Russia yet.

4 hours ago, kumnio said:

And I think that the process is pish. The SFA couldn’t have fucked it up more if they tried. 

I have no argument with that.

Strachan 100% deserved the bullet. The fact that the SFA had fuck all plan except giving it to a auld zoomer is neither here or there.

I'm not sure I agree. I understand why some people disliked him (he could be an irritating, stubborn wee cunt) and he presided over some genuinely poor results. But overall his record was good (he won nearly 50% of his competitive games in charge) and we never had this farce of players calling off from competitive matches for spurious and flimsy reasons like we do now.

1 hour ago, Third Lanark said:

I was just about to post that very suggestion. He's like  Southgate: young, respected, polite, a modern coach. And what an example he set, always turning up even when ill. You never know - he might get SAF to assist.

Sir Alex as a mentor. He would love it as a swansong helping to lead Scotland to Euro 2020 (which is still well within the realms of possibility if we ditch Big Eck).

No manager with proven experience at top level and who isnt past it is going to touch the job. So rather than going for another Big Eck go for someone completely different end of scale. 

He has continental success with Uganda and is available.  He's been out of work since 2016, was he interested last time?  Actually his wife took ill in the summer of 2017 so perfectly understandable he wasn't interested, regardless of his interest I pray his wife recovered.

Maybe it was him - https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/3088227/kilmarnock-hibs-bobby-williamson-management/

Edited by romanticscot

1 hour ago, romanticscot said:

He has continental success with Uganda and is available.  He's been out of work since 2016, was he interested last time?  Actually his wife took ill in the summer of 2017 so perfectly understandable he wasn't interested, regardless of his interest I pray his wife recovered.

Maybe it was him - https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/3088227/kilmarnock-hibs-bobby-williamson-management/

it was Bobby that took Ill, he has nasil cancer.

He is back on fine form though, met him a few times over the past 12 months at Killie events.

So Ive been talking a pal and thinking logically about the situation, in terms of expectation - McLeish topped the nations league and got the play offs - the suits are happy.  We lost yesterday and performed disgracefully, the suits likely dinna care, as far as they would asses things it an isolated performance, we win on Sunday , things are back as they were, We win against Cyprus in June, things are further cemented that the suits don't have to enforce any changes, then comes Belgium away - if we get hammered or embarrass ourselves to the degree that when we play Russia in September, attendances are down, and then again we lose or embarrass ourselves then at that point McLeish would be sacked, further compounded with another loss to the Belgians a few days later.  Then we have 4 games at the end of a campaign where its mathematically achievable, where a new manger comes in. As fans at this point, we can only make noise and vote with our wallet's.  McLeish will not resign, we have to force the hands of the SFA. Bobby Williamson is available, Paul Lambert at one point I would have liked, I imagine he is close to the sack but he along with Moyes are two coaches that atleast domestically are not ones I would be happy with.  I would rather ride things out to the summer with Scot Gemmill and tempt Derek McKinnes, Steve Clarke or Alex Neil.  I would give Gemmill the mandate of beat Cyprus, and play ugly and play for a draw v Belgium and there a 200k bonus or something, keep things in contention.  Then say to the new coach, under no certain terms can we not be at the Euro's and suffer the national embarrassment of hosting games at Hampden and us not being there. 

Edited by romanticscot

There are some desperate shouts here. But, seems desperation is the mood of the moment. 

Seems the consensus is that McLeish is no use and won't get us to the Euros. If that's the case the the sooner he leaves the better.

This could be the best possible time to try something new.  For example if ever we are going to try a risky option - whether a Darren Fletcher or Scott Gemmill or a "modernising foreigner" - then there is no better time than now. We have a raft of games with a chance of qualification but no expectation. So like the equivalent of Solksjaer (not exactly a premiership success) brought in to see what he could do, in a supportive context.  They have a few games to get up and running. If it doesn't work, no harm done, say goodbye at the end. Then bring in a big game specialist who relishes a challenge, on a short contract to take a tilt at the playoffs. Could be a part time manager who doesn't need to give up the day job. Just a thought.

My POV in this is we can go down the old route of people like Strachan (best of the bunch ) Moyes, Macckay etc or we can try a different approach. Lets be honest, no one with international pedigree will take it. Given it to someone like Fletcher or even Kenny Miller would give them a chance of establishing a career in management. Wales, NI and others successfully did it with Mark Hughes, Gary Speed before his sad passing and now Giggs ( jury is still out ) NI gave the job to Michael O'Neil after a disastrous time at Brechin ( !!!!!! ) Germany with Klinnsman and Louw.It makes sense to go with a younger person ( both have great affinity with Scotland fans ) and if they are successful then they will be head hunted but at least they will be successful. The current situation of getting managers sacked by multiple clubs just cannot continue

10 minutes ago, Burj_Alba said:

My POV in this is we can go down the old route of people like Strachan (best of the bunch ) Moyes, Macckay etc or we can try a different approach. Lets be honest, no one with international pedigree will take it. Given it to someone like Fletcher or even Kenny Miller would give them a chance of establishing a career in management. Wales, NI and others successfully did it with Mark Hughes, Gary Speed before his sad passing and now Giggs ( jury is still out ) NI gave the job to Michael O'Neil after a disastrous time at Brechin ( !!!!!! ) Germany with Klinnsman and Louw.It makes sense to go with a younger person ( both have great affinity with Scotland fans ) and if they are successful then they will be head hunted but at least they will be successful. The current situation of getting managers sacked by multiple clubs just cannot continue

That's not true.

He was got the Northern ireland job on the back of winning the Irish League twice with Shamrock Rovers, the latter appointed him after he had overseen a considerable improvement in Brechin's league standing. 

3 hours ago, ErsatzThistle said:

That's not true.

He was got the Northern ireland job on the back of winning the Irish League twice with Shamrock Rovers, the latter appointed him after he had overseen a considerable improvement in Brechin's league standing. 

And got to the Europa League group stage too.

Cannot believe Fergie's name has even been mentioned. Why would the guy want to come out of retirement for this shambles. As for Darren Fletcher, possibly in the future if he were to prove himself and gain experience. In the probably unlikely event that Mcleish gets sacked, then my guess would be Lennon or McInnes as I dont believe Clarke would take it.

10 minutes ago, robbo cop said:

Cannot believe Fergie's name has even been mentioned. Why would the guy want to come out of retirement for this shambles. As for Darren Fletcher, possibly in the future if he were to prove himself and gain experience. In the probably unlikely event that Mcleish gets sacked, then my guess would be Lennon or McInnes as I dont believe Clarke would take it.

People that seriously nominate Alex Ferguson for Scotland manager are thumb sucking morons. The kind of people who give their bank account details away to phone scammers.

And don't get me started on all these fuds that want their beloved "Walter" back as Scotland manager. :hammer: 

Derek McInnes is a good shout in the sense that he's exactly the kind of guy the SFA with their tunnel vision would go for. Him, Malky Mackay and Scot Gemmill would probably be their preferred options.

The only Scottish manager I'd consider is Steve Clarke but I get the feeling he wouldn't want the hassle.

The SFA wouldn't go for Neil Lennon as they know they'd upset the knuckle draggers and pretty much all the football media.

4 minutes ago, ErsatzThistle said:

People that seriously nominate Alex Ferguson for Scotland manager are thumb sucking morons. The kind of people who give their bank account details away to phone scammers.

And don't get me started on all these fuds that want their beloved "Walter" back as Scotland manager. :hammer: 

Derek McInnes is a good shout in the sense that he's exactly the kind of guy the SFA with their tunnel vision would go for. Him, Malky Mackay and Scot Gemmill would probably be their preferred options.

The only Scottish manager I'd consider is Steve Clarke but I get the feeling he wouldn't want the hassle.

The SFA wouldn't go for Neil Lennon as they know they'd upset the knuckle draggers and pretty much all the football media.

Would Lennon himself want the hassle? Would we want the hassle, to be distracted by club and other animosities becoming part of Scotland's [national team] problem? 

15 minutes ago, ErsatzThistle said:

Totally agree, got to forget Fergie, Smith, Souness. Shame about Lennon, but they would be scared to employ him. I still think they will keep McLeish unless something really bad happens on Sunday.

14 hours ago, exile said:

There are some desperate shouts here. But, seems desperation is the mood of the moment. 

Seems the consensus is that McLeish is no use and won't get us to the Euros. If that's the case the the sooner he leaves the better.

This could be the best possible time to try something new.  For example if ever we are going to try a risky option - whether a Darren Fletcher or Scott Gemmill or a "modernising foreigner" - then there is no better time than now. We have a raft of games with a chance of qualification but no expectation. So like the equivalent of Solksjaer (not exactly a premiership success) brought in to see what he could do, in a supportive context.  They have a few games to get up and running. If it doesn't work, no harm done, say goodbye at the end. Then bring in a big game specialist who relishes a challenge, on a short contract to take a tilt at the playoffs. Could be a part time manager who doesn't need to give up the day job. Just a thought.

Why not just get Steve Clarke?