BBC Scotland - Page 5 - Anything Goes - Other topics not covered elsewhere - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

9 hours ago, Alibi said:

I watch The Nine occasionally and it seems quite good, and certainly better than the turgid Reporting Scotland with sour-faced Jackie Bird.  I also watched Debate Night last night and it is a far better show than QT - an audience that seems to be more like a genuine cross section of Scotland and no sign of the comedy yoons like Bigot Billy.  I thought the 2 non-politicans were not great at getting their points across as often they seemed to have difficulty stringing coherent sentences together, and they wriggled around on their chairs and waved arms about a lot which was distracting - but more that they didn't seem suited to this type of programme even if the prodicers wanted them on for their particular interests and views.  Some of the audience members made some good contributions.  I think it would be better at 10pm as it's on a bit late for a midweek night, but it looks like it could be a valuable addition to our schedules.  Even Anas Sarwar came across reasonably well - it's interesting to see hear some of these often derided politicians when they're talking about subjects in which they have a genuine interest - Sarwar on anti-semitism for example where he actually said that being against the Israeli governments policies and actions didn't mean you were anti-semitic - expect a call from Jeremy, Anas.  Liz Smith of the Tories was reasonable even though I disagreed with much of what she said, but she put her points across politely and didn't interrupt everyone else, and she was heard out respectfully. Kate Forbes was on it and she's a star, destined for higher things I suspect.  i thought Steven Jardine was excellent at chairing the discussion, interjecting at the right time and raising a laugh on occasions.  I would say well worth watching.

A great summary. The two ladies who were less than completely coherent were even a welcome as a breath of fresh air, - people who could have been swept up in the grassroots politics of either/both referenda - and not the slick think tank types or sound-bite dispensing media-trained campaigner types. Something similar could be said of the audience, the more they are like normal people rather than angry agenda-banging activists, the more likely normal people are likely to be drawn in. I agree Sarwar spoke well and there seemed less party-political mud slinging.  I thought the Tory lady was massively let off the hook, as time and time again she was affecting to sympathise with the audience over difficulties (Brexit, austerity, etc) that her party was largely responsible for, or issues (the need for immigration,  car restraint) least likely to do anything about.  But it's hardly her fault if the others didn't press her on those. Jardine chairs well and possibly the only off note was bringing up antisemitism out of the blue - I am not saying it should be swept under the carpet but normally the questions are audience driven, and him slipping that one in was more like what a sly agenda-stirring Fiona Bruce or Dimbleby would have done.

On 3/7/2019 at 1:25 AM, ErsatzThistle said:

The first episode of the Central Station documentary was good.

There was something rather satisfying about those two rude middle aged auld cows getting upset about missing their train to the Ed Sheeran concert and then one of them says she'll complain to "British Rail" about it.:lol:

Just who the hell did that fanny with the camera think he was, screaming at someone to "fuck off" just so he could take a picture of a train. Pwick,

I just watched this, thought it was quite interesting.

I couldnt handle working with the public though, fair play to the railway staff and police.

Didnt expect to see Sexpest on it.

40 minutes ago, kumnio said:

I couldnt handle working with the public though, fair play to the railway staff and police.

Aye it's well made. There's another five episodes.

The station staff and the transport polis all seemed decent folk who actually enjoy their jobs. Pity they have to deal with so many thick cunts, pissed up fannies and professional moaners in their day to day work.

A sexpest ? What's all that about ?

5 minutes ago, bonzo said:

Apparently in one of the later programs they get tore into the Scotland support, saying the get less hassle on an old firm day in central station than they do for a Scotland game.

Probably true. There's an inordinate amount of dickheads who follow Scotland, that think they can do what they want because they're in a kilt. 

3 hours ago, kumnio said:

The usual fly on the wall documentary. The same old shitey tired and worn out cliches heard a million times before 

”we’re like family when we come in to work” “there’s no better place to work” etc etc

Bag of pish 

8 minutes ago, bonzo said:

Apparently in one of the later programs they get tore into the Scotland support, saying the get less hassle on an old firm day in central station than they do for a Scotland game.

I tend to agree. I read in the paper that the guy says that they start drinking at 8/9 in the morning and some of those games are an 8pm kick off and they aren’t happy about the queuing system put in place and they receive abuse from some fans

Any home match thread from a couple years and longer back when the board was stappit foo’ with threads galore only confirms what he says. Thered be threads about having to queue in separate quest and folk asking what time the pubs open and start selling drink in the morning 

You only need to go back to the Poland, Germany and Ireland games in the 2016 qualifiers to see the number of dickheads in the crowd who couldn’t handle the shandy 

39 minutes ago, bonzo said:

That might be true but of course misses the obvious point that trains don't go from Central Station to either Celtic Park or Ibrox. 

I'm really enjoying this wee series about Glasgow Central.

It was good to see that they regularly keep the staff on their toes with the suspect package exercises :ok:

The alcohol by-law on the fitba trains was an interesting one. They probably should try and publicise it more so people don't waste money on drink that's only going in the bin but I agree with it's purpose.

What a kunt that arrogant tall bloke was when he tried to look big in front of his mates, intimidating the staff and giving it the smart alex "listen, I know the law" patter - only to get his drink taken off him by the polis. What a fud, he deserved that.

The station manager struck me as being rather naive when she was surprised reading the complaints about there not being enough seats in the station concourse. Any daft cunt could have told her that, yet they keep reducing them for some reason.

I would not want to mess with that big wummin guard with the wild hair, she could handle herself nae bother in a fight !

Am I the only one who thinks that station tour guide chap comes across as being really self-important and quite annoying ?

On 2/25/2019 at 7:43 AM, Toepoke said:

It was excellent but I fell asleep during it :( Taped it though, so will finish it later.

This looks interesting tomorrow night...

https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/m0002wvy

Just watched it. It is a mix of factual reporting, set up scenes, archive footage, interviews, and so on. Interesting was the interview with the Chilean air force leader, who was mainly talking about his planes and kit and missiles, and blamed the rest on 'politics'. More or less claimed the Scots workers were radicalised, as if comparing them with terrorists. While the coup military people were accused of being terrorists for bombing their own people, and democratically elected government.  At the end it was implied there were still unanswered questions of governments and Rolls Royce.

I must admit it was pretty slow in places and could have been fitted into a half or third of the length (so I can imagine people falling asleep!). It may be of specialist interest, especially for people into international worker solidarity, history of Chile, Scotland in the 70s and/or military aircraft engines!  

There is only one or two days left on iplayer.

Still enjoying the Central Station documentary. Good stuff.

The auld boy and his grandson who were both big railways enthusiasts were lovely :ok:

Fucking hell they don't half get some right moaning, bastards, usually middle aged women hounding the staff trying to do their best. Up the railway workies !!

That tour guide was talking utter bollocks on the other nights episode when he described bodies being brought back straight from the battlefields of WW1 to the improvised mortuary Central Station.

That never happened at all. The only bodies carried onto the platforms at Central would those of men who died on the hospital train from Southern England to Glasgow and who would be taken to the mortuary.

And the next of kin were certainly never told to get rid of the body and that it was "their problem now", the army or navy would still be legally bound to look after the corpse and see to it's burial.

I bet he'll flog that long ago debunked story about the "Newton Mearns businessman who lost all his money in the 1929 crash, murdered his wife in the Central Station basement and was hanged in Barlinnie." They looked into this ages ago and found not a shred of evidence this ever happened.

That was a good moan that.

Still Game ended on just the right note.

Well played Greg Hemphill and Ford Kiernan. :ok:

The last two episodes - "Hitched" and "Over The Hill" - have been just like the classic ones and the final moments of "Over The Hill" were beautiful :cheers3:

Must admit to having a wee tear in the eye when the credits went. :(

On 3/8/2019 at 7:13 AM, aaid said:

That might be true but of course misses the obvious point that trains don't go from Central Station to either Celtic Park or Ibrox. 

You do realise that there's a low level platform that runs to Bridgeton and Dalmarnock which hundreds of fans use for Celtic park?

35 minutes ago, Terry Munro said:

You do realise that there's a low level platform that runs to Bridgeton and Dalmarnock which hundreds of fans use for Celtic park?

Is their behaviour that bad they have to hide them underground ? 😉

Well I was disappointed not to see highlights of this weeks Scottish Cup Semi-Finals on the sportscene tonight

Perhaps instead of playbacking voice overs they could actually have someone announce the correct contents of the upcoming program

Every penny’s a prisoner