Movies 2019 - Page 4 - Anything Goes - Other topics not covered elsewhere - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

On 11/7/2019 at 8:11 PM, WCTA said:

Dolomite Is My Name. The new Eddie Murphy movie on Netflix. I watched it last night. It’s the true story of Rudy Ray Moore. Incredibly funny and Murphy is brilliant.

Try and count the amount of “Mother Fuckers” in it. It makes Samuel L Jackson seem tame in a Tarantino special. 😄

Agreed. Saw this a couple of weeks ago. Excellent film. Maybe the best Eddie Murphy has ever made, although you'd have to dredge through a lot of garbage to check that one.

Even better, though completely different, is Hotel Mumbai. Best film if the year for me.

Looking forward to Midway. I'd been a bit worried they would make another Pearl Harbor, but apparently not.

On 6/28/2019 at 10:02 PM, Mox said:

Went to see the Maradonna movie last night at the GFT, was queued all the way round the block, even in the scorching heat.

I genuinely felt quite emotional at times watching it not simply because of what he endured and went through but quite simply at what he achieved at Napoli and how he did it. I am regretful that I was only a child when he was at his peak, he was a magician.

It was tremendous. 
Cinema was full of old Napoli fans when I seen it and that added to it. 

Came across a documentary on the 80’s boxer Roberto Duran last night “I Am Durán” Never heard of him but was a brilliant watch. Fascinating guy. 

The Joker is probably the best thing to come of Hollywood in years.

11 hours ago, ParisInAKilt said:

It was tremendous. 

Came across a documentary on the 80’s boxer Roberto Duran last night “I Am Durán” Never heard of him but was a brilliant watch. Fascinating guy. 

Hard to believe any Scottish sports fan hasn’t heard of him. He infamously cheated his way to victory over Scotland’s greatest ever boxer Ken Buchanan. 

Anyway, seeing as this is a movie thread you should watch Hands Of Stone. It is the story of Duran and has De Niro in it. 

19 hours ago, ParisInAKilt said:

It was tremendous. 

While he had his biggest fights in the 80s Duran's career actually touched 5 decades. He made his pro debut in 1968 and had his final bout in 2001. I think the only other boxer who has this distinction is the legendary Jack Johnson (1897 debut, 1931 final fight).

8 hours ago, WCTA said:

Hard to believe any Scottish sports fan hasn’t heard of him. He infamously cheated his way to victory over Scotland’s greatest ever boxer Ken Buchanan. 

Anyway, seeing as this is a movie thread you should watch Hands Of Stone. It is the story of Duran and has De Niro in it. 

That's a bit of a myth. Yes the fight ended on a sour note with the low blow and Duran had employed rough-house tactics throughout the fight but he was well on the way to a wide points victory. Maybe they should have let Buchanan box on as he probably deserved to hear the final bell that night for his bravery. Duran was 21-years-old back then and his performance versus Buchanan really announced him as a future great.

46 minutes ago, morrie21 said:

That's a bit of a myth. Yes the fight ended on a sour note with the low blow and Duran had employed rough-house tactics throughout the fight but he was well on the way to a wide points victory. Maybe they should have let Buchanan box on as he probably deserved to hear the final bell that night for his bravery. Duran was 21-years-old back then and his performance versus Buchanan really announced him as a future great.

The fact of the matter is was that he delivered a low blow to his balls rendering Buchanan unfit to continue.

10 minutes ago, thplinth said:

Ad astra or whatever it was called... hugely disappointing. It was a shit sci if hybrid of heart of darkness and apocalypse now. Sci fi now is the hardest genre to make a decent movie. 

With real life on earth throwing up so many weirdos and crazy forms of life its going to be difficult for film makers to create a stranger, more sinister universe.   
For example, I doubt aliens would be stupid enough to make Donald Trump President of Mars. 

15 minutes ago, TDYER63 said:

With real life on earth throwing up so many weirdos and crazy forms of life its going to be difficult for film makers to create a stranger, more sinister universe.   
For example, I doubt aliens would be stupid enough to make Donald Trump President of Mars. 

Make Mars Great Again.

On 1/14/2020 at 12:44 AM, McDange said:

Went to see 1917 at the weekend. Very decent and think will do well at the Oscars, particularly around the cinematography / editing. Definitley worth checking out. 

Pleasantly surprised how much I enjoyed it. Mackay is great in everything I’ve seen him in.

On 1/13/2020 at 6:44 AM, McDange said:

Went to see 1917 at the weekend. Very decent and think will do well at the Oscars, particularly around the cinematography / editing. Definitley worth checking out. 

saw it on friday night - better than i expected tbh - really into ww1 ; really a genre that they always seem to struggle with imo ; the western front - 2 best to date for me to date were ; beneath hill 60 &  the bbc version of birdsong - 1917 is a bit like the ww1 'dunkirk' (film ) treatment - bit hokey 'saving private ryan' wafer thin plot ; with few box office cameos & revisionist history wokeness

also had misfortune to see ' the lighthouse' recently - utter pish....

37 minutes ago, ParisInAKilt said:

Trying to get through the Irishman but it’s a struggle so far, don’t think watching on the phone is doing it any favours either. 

I wasn’t impressed with the Irishman. It doesn’t lay a glove on goodfellas or casino.

The Irishman was ok. Although sitting here I am struggling to think of any memorable scenes. It never really got going in any sense. I think it suffered from just being too long and having a very old cast of leading actors. Plus Al Pacino for me is always a bit irritating due to the overacting. It felt a bit like an excuse for Scorsese to get all his old pals together for one last hooray.

Also not a big thing but it bugged me. The film did seem to suggest that it was the mob who killed Kennedy while at the same time flirting with Howard Hunt at a couple of points... I found that a bit deceptive and wondered why Scorsese had it in there. "If they can kill the President they can kill the president of a union..." or words close to that. It was not the same people in both instances. No problem believing Hoffa was a mob ordered murder... Kennnedy however... naw.