Jump to content

Recommended Posts

Just watched Clark score a stonking header for Newcastle v Chelsea from Matt Ritchie's corner.

But the corner was taken with the entire ball outwith the corner area.

Why is that permissible?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
14 minutes ago, Fish Supper said:

Similar to everyone shouting for a shy, goal etcwhen the whole of the ball has not crossed the line.

Annoys me how often throw ins etc. are given when the whole ball hasn’t crossed the line.

In the case of a corner, I never get the need to steal 10 inches... some players obviously do it to wind up opposition fans at the corner, but I’d imagine at a corner the difference is pretty negligible.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for clearing that up. I was wondering the same thing. I have seen corners with the ball outside the quadrant with the linesman standing right beside it. I'm wondering, WTF? 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

As others have said, the whole of the ball must be outside the quadrant, otherwise it is fine. No part of the ball has to be touching the line

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 hours ago, XB52 said:

As others have said, the whole of the ball must be outside the quadrant, otherwise it is fine. No part of the ball has to be touching the line

Eh????

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 hours ago, XB52 said:

As others have said, the whole of the ball must be outside the quadrant, otherwise it is fine. No part of the ball has to be physically  touching the line

Yeah, visually the ball needs to be touching the line, but I know what you mean.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

From a top view,... if the ball is over the plane of the line (without touching it) then the placement should be legal (despite there visibly being 'green' between the line and the ball).

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTdY18xzchhHGuiv1q2kSv

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You'll notice that the ball second closest to the corner flag is still in play despite no part of the ball touching the field of play or even the line.

The reason being is that from an overhead view part of the ball is over the plane of the line.

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRIY7dhmlI9ev5kDicmms1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I went & had a look at the rule on this & all it says is that the ball must be in the corner area. I suppose the 'whole of the ball crossing the whole of the line' rule must apply without it being expressly stated?

It's one of those things though that seems to have crept into the modern game. Although given that most corners I ever see either fail to beat the first man or sail over everyone, it's hard to see how it's giving any meaningful advantage.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 1/13/2019 at 3:07 PM, Barney Rubble said:

Eh????

Reading back I can see the confusion but what I said is correct. The ball is placed correctly for a corner if any part of the ball is above the corner area. It doesn't need to be touching the line

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...