Scotland U19s 2003/04 "Where Are They Now ?" - TA specific - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

Scotland U19s 2003/04 "Where Are They Now ?"

ErsatzThistle

Done this kind of thread before, so I'll do it again.

Season 2003/04 was a horrible one for anyone who supported the senior Scotland team I'm sure we'd all agree.

Things didn't go to plan for the youth teams of that time either.

Source: https://web.archive.org/web/20061230103224/http://www.scottishfa.co.uk:80/scotland_matches.cfm?curpageid=496

Northern Ireland Milk Cup, Elite Section

Saturday, 19 July, 2003
Scotland 0, Paraguay 1
Goal: Benitez 13
Coleraine Showgrounds
Attendance: 450
Scotland: Reid (Motherwell), Baxter (St Johnstone), Coyle (Rangers), Low (Celtic), Campbell (Dunfermline Ath) (sub Wright (Motherwell) 60), Adam (Rangers), Irvine (Celtic), Winter (Leeds United), Tarditi (Aberdeen) (sub Ferguson (Ayr United) 60), Foster (Aberdeen) (sub Scott (Motherwell) 75), McLeod (Heart of Midlothian).
Referee: Frankie Hiles (Northern Ireland)

Monday, 21 July, 2003
Scotland 1, Poland 2
Goals: 0-1 Szewc 7, 1-1 Wright 25, 1-2 Bartczak pen. 49.
Ballymoney Showgrounds
Attendance: 200
Scotland: Reid (Motherwell), Low (Celtic), Adam (Rangers), Irvine (Celtic), Winter (Leeds United), Foster (Aberdeen), McLeod (Heart of Midlothian), Ferguson (Ayr United) (sub Tarditi (Aberdeen) 60), Wright (Motherwell) (sub Scott (Motherwell) 75), Campbell (Dunfermline Ath) (sub Barkey (Motherwell) 60), Pinkowski (Celtic).
Referee: Stephen Weatherall (Northern Ireland)

Wednesday, 23 July, 2003
Scotland 0, USA 2
Goals: 0-1 Karbassiyoon 65, 0-2 Freeman 90.
Ballymena Showgrounds
Attendance: 335
Scotland: Brown (Hibernian), Baxter (St Johnstone), Coyle (Rangers), Low (Celtic) (sub Campbell (Dunfermline Ath) 50), Winter (Leeds United), Tarditi (Aberdeen) (sub Scott (Motherwell) 75), Foster (Aberdeen) (sub Ferguson (Ayr United) 75), McLeod (Heart of Midlothian), Barkey (Motherwell), Wright (Motherwell) (sub Irvine (Celtic) 70), Pinkowski (Celtic) (sub Adam (Rangers) 55).
Referee: John Fielding (Northern Ireland)

Place match

Friday, 25 July, 2003
Scotland 1, Wales 1
Goals: 1-0 Tarditi 15, 1-1 Garside 87.
Wales won 4-2 on penalty kicks
Mullaghacall, Portstewart
Attendance: 100
Scotland: Brown (Hibernian), Baxter (St Johnstone) (sub Wright (Motherwell) 65), Coyle (Rangers), Adam (Rangers), Irvine (Celtic), Winter (Leeds United), Tarditi (Aberdeen) (sub Ferguson (Ayr United) 60), McLeod (Heart of Midlothian), Barkey (Motherwell), Pinkowski (Celtic), Scott (Motherwell) (sub Foster (Aberdeen) 75).
Referee: John Fielding (Northern Ireland)

Under 19 International Friendlies

23 August, 2003
Portugal 3, Scotland 0
Goals: 1-0 Paulo Pestana 13, 2-0 Hugo Monteiro 43, 3-0 Ricardo Costa 45.
Municipal Stadium, Entroncamento
Scotland: Reid (Motherwell), Coyle (Rangers), Smith (Rangers), Low (Celtic), Diamond (Aberdeen), Adam (Rangers), Irvine (Celtic), Winter (Leeds United), Foster (Aberdeen) (sub Scott (Motherwell) 37), McLeod (Heart of Midlothian), Pinkowski (Celtic) (sub Campbell (Reading) 46).
Referee: Joao Ferreira (Portugal)

25 August, 2003
Portugal 2 Scotland 0
Goals: 1-0 Ricardo Felix 15, 2-0 Ricardo Felix 75.
Municipal Stadium, Alcanena
Scotland: Brown (Hibernian), Coyle (Rangers), Smith (Rangers), Low (Celtic), Diamond (Aberdeen), Adam (Rangers), Winter (Leeds United) (sub McLeod (Heart of Midlothian) 87), Tarditi (Aberdeen) (sub Campbell (Reading) 74), Anderson (Dundee United), Stewart (Aberdeen) (sub Scott (Motherwell) 82), Barkey (Motherwell).
Referee: Duarte Gomes (Portugal)

UEFA Under 19 Championship, 2003/2004
First Round, Qualifying Group 12, hosted by Scotland

Saturday, 25 October, 2003 
Scotland 3, Faroe Islands 1
Goals: 1-0 Clarkson 9, 2-0 Wallace 16, 2-1 Hansen 67, 3-1 Brown 87. Somerset Park, Ayr
Attendance: 420
Scotland: Reid (Motherwell), Quinn (Motherwell), Smith (Rangers), Low (Celtic), Diamond (Aberdeen), Adam (Rangers) (sub Coyle (Rangers) 88), Foy (Liverpool), Winter (Leeds United), Clarkson (Motherwell), Brown (Hibernian), Wallace (Celtic).
Referee: Oleg Oriekhov (Ukraine)

Monday, 27 October, 2003
Scotland 1, Turkey 1
Goals: 1-0 Brown 4, 1-1 Inan, pen. 66.
Strathclyde Homes Stadium, Dumbarton
Attendance: 1,163
Scotland: Reid (Motherwell), Quinn (Motherwell), Low (Celtic), Diamond (Aberdeen), Adam (Rangers), Foy (Liverpool) (sub Winter (Leeds United) 77), Clarkson (Motherwell), Brown (Hibernian), Wallace (Celtic), Coyle (Rangers), Baxter (St Johnstone).
Referee: Olegario Benquerenca (Portugal)

Wednesday, 29 October, 2003
Scotland 2, Macedonia 0
Goals: 1-0 Clarkson 11, 2-0 Brown 90.
New Douglas Park, Hamilton
Attendance: 1,089.
Scotland: Reid (Motherwell), Quinn (Motherwell), Low (Celtic), Diamond (Aberdeen), Adam (Rangers), Foy (Liverpool) (sub Wilkie (Liverpool) 84), Winter (Leeds United), Clarkson (Motherwell) (sub McLeod (Heart of Midlothian) 78), Brown (Hibernian), Wallace (Celtic) (sub Coyle
(Rangers) 74), Baxter (St Johnstone).
Referee: Anton Genov (Bulgaria)

Second Round, Qualifying Group, hosted by Austria.

Tuesday, 25 May, 2004 
Finland 3, Scotland 2
Goals: 1-0 Taulo pen. 35, 2-0 Aaritalo 43, 2-1 Quinn 70, 3-1 Parikka 79, 3-2 Wallace 85. 
Sparkassenstadion, Gleisdorf
Scotland: Marshall (Celtic), Irvine (Celtic), Mulgrew (Celtic), Quinn (Motherwell), Berra (Heart of Midlothian), Adam (Rangers) (sub Linn (Dundee) 46), Winter (Leeds United) (sub Bell (Dundee United) 61), Clarkson (Motherwell), Naismith (Kilmarnock), Wallace (Celtic), Low (Celtic) (sub Wright (Motherwell) 73). Sent off: Clarkson.
Referee: Pavel Balaj (Romania)

Thursday, 27 May, 2004 
Poland 3, Scotland 2
Goals: 0-1 McKenzie 11, 0-2 McKenzie 48, 1-2 Szymanek 50, 2-2 Szymanek 55, 3-2 Peszko 65. 
Hartberg Stadium, Hartberg
Scotland: Marshall (Celtic), Irvine (Celtic), Mulgrew (Celtic), Quinn (Motherwell), Berra (Heart of Midlothian), Wright Motherwell), Wallace (Celtic), Reilly (Wycombe Wanderers) (sub Adam (Rangers) 75), McKenzie (Rangers), Linn (Dundee), Bell (Dundee United) (sub Winter (Leeds United) 65). Sent off: Irvine
Referee: Damien Ledentu (France)

Saturday, 29 May, 2004
Austria 5, Scotland 0
Goals: 1-0 Gartler 9, 2-0 Puntigam 11, 3-0 Thonhofer 38, 4-0 Puntigam 58, 5-0 Stuckler 71. 
Sparkassenstadion, Weiz
Scotland: Brown (Hibernian), Mulgrew (Celtic), Quinn (Motherwell), Berra (Heart of Midlothian), Wright (Motherwell), Winter (Leeds United), Clarkson (Motherwell), Reilly (Wycombe Wanderers) (sub Adam (Rangers) 46), McKenzie (Rangers), Linn (Dundee), Bell (Dundee United). Sent off: Mulgrew and Bell.
Referee: Pavel Balaj (Romania)

A miserable time without a doubt. :(

Although results at the time were poor, that age group eventually produced a good turnover of senior internationals, a couple of whom were quite handy - Scott Brown (55 caps & 4 goals 2005-17), Steven Naismith (49 caps & 9 goals 2007-present), Christophe Berra (41 caps & 4 goals 2008-present), Charlie Mulgrew (39 caps & 3 goals 2012-present), David Marshall (27 caps 2004-2016), Charlie Adam (26 caps 2007-2015), David Clarkson (2 caps & 1 goal 2008), Ross Wallace (1 cap 2009).

Those who went onto become "journeymen" were Paul Quinn, Gary Irvine, Zander Diamond, Stevie Smith, Ricky Foster, & the mythical Robbie Foy.

There are quite a few "mystery players" there who I don't recall at all but maybe you do.

Can anyone identify any of these players and say what became of them ? - 

Aberdeen - Tarditi, Stewart

Ayr Utd - Ferguson

Celtic - LowPinkowski 

Dundee - Linn

Dundee Utd - Anderson, Bell

Dunfermline - Campbell

Hearts - McLeod

Hibs - Brown (goalkeeper)

Leeds Utd - Winter

Liverpool - Wilkie 

Motherwell - Reid, Wright, Scott, Barkey

Rangers - CoyleMcKenzie

Reading - Campbell (possibly the same lad that also played for Dunfermline ?)

St Johnstone - Baxter 

Wycombe Wanderers - Reilly

11 minutes ago, ErsatzThistle said:

Reading - Campbell (possibly the same lad that also played for Dunfermline ?)

It's a different lad - Darren Campbell. Made a single appearance for the first team at the end of the 2002-03 season, but suffered a cruciate ligament injury in 2004 and was out for about a year before falling into the English lower leagues with Tamworth, Staines, Fleet and Camberley. Not sure how much impact that injury had on his development. but certainly not the best career trajectory.

5 hours ago, Clyde1998 said:

It's a different lad - Darren Campbell. Made a single appearance for the first team at the end of the 2002-03 season, but suffered a cruciate ligament injury in 2004 and was out for about a year before falling into the English lower leagues with Tamworth, Staines, Fleet and Camberley. Not sure how much impact that injury had on his development. but certainly not the best career trajectory.

Thank you :ok:

Our first "mystery player" is named.

6 minutes ago, killiefaetheferry said:

Bobby Linn is at Arbroath.

Cheers :ok:

The second "mystery player" named.

Just looked up Bobby Linn on wikipedia. He's had a respectable career in the lower leagues, scored quite a few goals and has earned three league winners medals each with a different club - Morton, East Fife & Arbroath. Fair play to him.

Wilkie will be Ryan Wilkie, a right winger who was highly rated back in the day before ending up at Workington Town, and I think Clyde.

I can remember him being Luis Figo-esque in one of the Championship Manager Games (03/04 I think).

41 minutes ago, g@un said:

Wilkie will be Ryan Wilkie, a right winger who was highly rated back in the day before ending up at Workington Town, and I think Clyde.

I can remember him being Luis Figo-esque in one of the Championship Manager Games (03/04 I think).

Aye, there were a few Scots kids like that on they old games. Keigan Parker was the new Dalglish on FM 2001:-))

28 minutes ago, wee-toon-red said:

Winter at Leeds will be Jamie Winter, who played for Aberdeen for a spell.

9 minutes ago, Cove_Sheep said:

That will be Stephen Tarditi, and I guess John Stewart.

Bobby Linn for Dundee I'd imagine.

Any particular reason why Winter, Tarditi and Stewart were unable to make the grade at Pittodrie ? 

13 minutes ago, ErsatzThistle said:

Any particular reason why Winter, Tarditi and Stewart were unable to make the grade at Pittodrie ? 

Stewart played a reasonable amount of games, including scoring the winner at Parkhead.

Eventually got sold to Falkirk and then slipped further down the game. He did score the winner for QoTS against Aberdeen in the Scottish Cup semi-final.

Winter, wasn't too bad a player, but definitely carried weight. Stewart was a ned.

I don't think Tarditi was ever good enough.

Sorry, not strictly relevant, but this is a great fun activity. Digging out programmes for youth internationals I was at and wondering what happened to the more esoteric squad members. I remember an 'Oliver Gruber' who played for an Austrian club being in an U21(?) squad, poss late 90s. And then there was an U18 or similar qualifying tournament held in Scotland where Andy Carroll had been declared in the Scottish squad. I knew he had some Scottish connections but until looking back on that I never knew we'd tried to snare him. Think of the injury call-offs we missed out on...

17 minutes ago, KirkieRobRoy said:

Sorry, not strictly relevant, but this is a great fun activity. Digging out programmes for youth internationals I was at and wondering what happened to the more esoteric squad members. I remember an 'Oliver Gruber' who played for an Austrian club being in an U21(?) squad, poss late 90s. And then there was an U18 or similar qualifying tournament held in Scotland where Andy Carroll had been declared in the Scottish squad. I knew he had some Scottish connections but until looking back on that I never knew we'd tried to snare him. Think of the injury call-offs we missed out on...

The story behind Gruber sounds interesting. I just did a quick google search for him and there was indeed an Oliver Gruber born in 1981 who has had a career in the Austrian leagues. Wonder how on earth the SFA found out about him?

Andy Carroll was only ever interested in playing for England I think. Still, on my old Football Manager 2008 game I picked Carroll for Scotland and used to play him up front with Kenny Miller, scored a few goals too :spin:

2 hours ago, ErsatzThistle said:

Aye, there were a few Scots kids like that on they old games. Keigan Parker was the new Dalglish on FM 2001:-))

I remember emailing the guy that did the Rangers players for championship manager. I was telling him how good my wee cousin was (he played for Scotland u19s at the time). The guy obviously took it all on board as he was like Ronaldo in the game. 

He now plays for East Fife :lol:

28 minutes ago, Dave78 said:

I remember emailing the guy that did the Rangers players for championship manager. I was telling him how good my wee cousin was (he played for Scotland u19s at the time). The guy obviously took it all on board as he was like Ronaldo in the game. 

Much like Bobby Linn, your cousin (won't name him but it's a matter of deduction who he is) can claim to have had quite a good career in the lower leagues. Good on him.

The girl I really fancied at school has a brother who is teammates with your cousin btw :lol:

Anyway let's update our list

12 hours ago, ErsatzThistle said:

Aberdeen - Stephen Tarditi, John Stewart

Ayr Utd - Ferguson

Celtic - LowPinkowski 

Dundee - Bobby Linn

Dundee Utd - Anderson, Bell

Dunfermline - Campbell

Hearts - McLeod

Hibs - Brown (goalkeeper)

Leeds Utd - Jamie Winter

Liverpool - Ryan Wilkie 

Rangers - CoyleMcKenzie

Reading - Darren Campbell 

St Johnstone - Baxter 

Wycombe Wanderers - Reilly

Still quite a few unaccounted not yet identified. Get thinking !

2 hours ago, Dave78 said:

AM L/C I'm sure he was? And I can bizarrely remember that he had 20 for penalty taking. :lol:

Anderson would be Steven Anderson who still plays for St Johnstone. Bell would be Steven Bell who played for a few clubs and is currently at Ayr. Neither got a game for United but both have had decent careers, particularly Anderson.

52 minutes ago, Ta Ta said:

Anderson would be Steven Anderson who still plays for St Johnstone. Bell would be Steven Bell who played for a few clubs and is currently at Ayr. Neither got a game for United but both have had decent careers, particularly Anderson.

I was about to say that, and luckily scrolled to the bottom before repeating....

42 minutes ago, Davied14 said:

AM L/C I'm sure he was? And I can bizarrely remember that he had 20 for penalty taking. :lol:

That's right. 

I stopped applying for all the top manager jobs in world football based on my outstanding achievements in Championship Manager after i proved to myself how easy it was to manipulate the player ratings. I'm still gutted i was passed over by the Barcelona board after the heroics i achieved with a virtual Ayr Utd.

Mark Baxter was a right back for Saints. Born and bred in Perth and had a real good heart on the field. Always got stuck right in. Ended up at Arbroath as far as I know with his buddy Aaron Doris who also did great at Arbroath. 

Got curious about Reilly of Wycombe so did some research. Andy Reilly. Born in Luton, played a few games for Wycombe Wanderers but got his contract cancelled to concentrate on his education. Was briefly on the books of Barnet but never played for them then seems to have gone into non-league with Chesham United but not found any details from that or anything afterwards.

18 hours ago, KirkieRobRoy said:

He was great in Die Hard. ;)

Thank you to Clyde1998, Ormond, Toepoke, Ta TA, Cove Sheep, g@un, wee-toon-red & killiefaetheferry who have helped identify the players.:ok:

Still a few left:

Aberdeen - Stephen Tarditi, John Stewart

Ayr Utd - Ferguson

Celtic - Low, Pinkowski 

Dundee - Bobby Linn

Dundee Utd - Steven Anderson, Steven Bell

Dunfermline - Campbell

Hearts - McLeod

Hibs - Alistair Brown 

Leeds Utd - Jamie Winter

Liverpool - Ryan Wilkie