Tartan Army are getting what they deserve - Page 4 - TA specific - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

Tartan Army are getting what they deserve

slasher

4 hours ago, Texas Pete said:

Sadly, international football is a retirement home for old managers. 

There are a few, like Klinsmann for example, who specialise in international management or like Martinez who kind of fall into it after getting sacked by a club but realise they like it who buck the trend but most young managers wouldn’t touch the Scotland job with a shitty stick. 

People like you that bump their gums about not wanting McLeish or Smith (what are your credentials to judge these men so harshly by the way?) seem to forget that nobody else better wanted the job. Anyone who was truly interested could have applied for it, just as McLeish did. The SFA didn’t go cap in hand to him to ask him to take the job. He applied and was deemed the best man for the job, after two managers (one old and one who was deemed a shite manager before being a success with NI) turned them down.

The SFA don’t have £4 million a year to throw at Jurgen Klinsmann or whoever. That’s even if he would take the job, which is doubtful. 

Even the young(ish) Scottish managers that a lot of fans would like to see in charge (McInnes, Clarke etc.) don’t want to be a part time manager. They’d be bored out of their tits most of the time. You can’t exactly blame them either as sections of the TA seem to want a manager sacked after one bad performance or result.

McLeish certainly wasn’t my first choice as Scotland manager but he’s in charge at the moment and he should be given the chance to succeed. If he doesn’t, he’ll be sacked. If he does, we’ll qualify and can all enjoy Euro 2020. 

Utter nonsense. There are plenty young or youngish managers in international football. Didier Deschamps has done not too bad as well as Southgate, Giggs and plenty others.

I never said Smith was a bad manager, so am not passing judgement on him so don’t need “credentials” thanks all the same. And it’s not exactly a view that bucks the trend to suggest McLeish is a serial failure since he walked away from Scotland so again I don’t really need “credentials” to point that out. But if I did then my “credentials” are a) In over 40 years of watching Scotland we are currently as bad a shambles as I have ever experienced, b) I have eyes and c) my eyes work.

Anybody interested in the Scotland job had little opportunity to apply as the SFA embarrassingly ran after Michael O’Neill like a lovesick teenager then they invited Smith then when he said no, finally McLeish for talks. There was no application process worth talking about and no self respecting decent manager is going to go after a job in those circumstances.

McLeish was desperate for a job and the SFA has been turned down flat by their first two targets.

As a rule the tartan army have no history of wanting managers sacked after one bad result so that’s also utter nonsense. But on this one occasion a significant section of us do want McLeish gone. For very good reason - he’s a shite manager and we have little hope of qualifying with him at the helm. If we get rid now we increase our chances right away.

Edited by DaveyDenoon

28 minutes ago, DaveyDenoon said:

As a rule the tartan army have no history of wanting managers sacked after one bad result so that’s also utter nonsense. But on this one occasion a significant section of us do want McLeish gone. For very good reason - he’s a shite manager and we have little hope of qualifying with him at the helm. If we get rid now we increase our chances right away.

Is it not too later to literally get rid of him now, there would need to be a recruitment process and who is likely to be a better manager around now that was not suitable last time? 

Or have a temporary, emergency caretaker manager, hoping for a new manager bounce, but if so, who?

2 hours ago, DaveyDenoon said:

Utter nonsense. There are plenty young or youngish managers in international football. Didier Deschamps has done not too bad as well as Southgate, Giggs and plenty others.

I never said Smith was a bad manager, so am not passing judgement on him so don’t need “credentials” thanks all the same. And it’s not exactly a view that bucks the trend to suggest McLeish is a serial failure since he walked away from Scotland so again I don’t really need “credentials” to point that out. But if I did then my “credentials” are a) In over 40 years of watching Scotland we are currently as bad a shambles as I have ever experienced, b) I have eyes and c) my eyes work.

Anybody interested in the Scotland job had little opportunity to apply as the SFA embarrassingly ran after Michael O’Neill like a lovesick teenager then they invited Smith then when he said no, finally McLeish for talks. There was no application process worth talking about and no self respecting decent manager is going to go after a job in those circumstances.

McLeish was desperate for a job and the SFA has been turned down flat by their first two targets.

You’re passing judgement on McLeish though and after only two competitive games, one of which was a victory. 

McLeish applied for the job and others were free to do the same. 

McLeish will not be sacked until at least after the Israel game. Personally I think we will win our group and achieve a playoff so I don’t think he’ll be sacked at all until at least next year. If I’m wrong and we don’t win the group then I do think we should look elsewhere for a manager although I’m not confident we would get anyone who’s any better. Malky McKay or Davie Moyes don’t exactly fill me with excitement and that’s the type of person we’d get.

Everyone is entitled to their opinion of course but the vitriol being spouted on here about our current manager is ridiculous and unfounded. I would rather give the guy a chance and see how we finish the group before passing judgement based on one decent performance and one terrible one. 

Let me ask you this - if we win our next two games comfortably and achieve a home playoff in the first tie (if we need one), will you still want McLeish to be sacked or should he be given the chance to qualify for Euro 2020 automatically?

Just noticed that Slaven Bilić is now the manager of Al-Ittihad.

Well that was really fucking clever of us to let that ship sail wasn't it ?

But of course the idiots kept saying:

"Whit ! We cannae have some fucking johnny foreigner as manager. Foreigners dinnae understand oor much admired fitba traditions* and (gasp) might change hings aroond  !" (goes back to reading copy of the Daily Record) "I'll tell ye whits needed, we need tae bring back the Home Championships every year ..." :um-no:

*What these "traditions" are I don't know. 

33 minutes ago, ErsatzThistle said:

"Whit ! We cannae have some fucking johnny foreigner as manager. Foreigners dinnae understand oor much admired fitba traditions* and (gasp) might change hings aroond  !" (goes back to reading copy of the Daily Record) "I'll tell ye whits needed, we need tae bring back the Home Championships every year ..." :um-no:

Losing and playing bad football

• 4 months later...
On 10/14/2018 at 1:55 AM, slasher said:

If you think that is enough or will make any difference you've not been watching the last 20 years.

I agree with u mate. So glad i didnt travel. For years i hardly missed a game anywhere then ended up going abroad and not even going to the game. Depressing. Never even went to pub to watch it yesteray. Listened on wireless and still depressing. I actually feel sorry for mcleish.

23 minutes ago, Rolling hIlls said:

I agree with u mate. So glad i didnt travel. For years i hardly missed a game anywhere then ended up going abroad and not even going to the game. Depressing. Never even went to pub to watch it yesteray. Listened on wireless and still depressing. I actually feel sorry for mcleish.

Why on earth do you feel sorry for that cunt??

what a load of bollocks. 

Every campaign we've nearly qualified near enough down to the last game.  Should we have been boycotting the Georgia game, the Poland game, the Dutch game, the Italy game, the England game, the Slovenia game ?  What would that have achieved? 

All this thread needs is somebody to tell us kids prefer Playstations to kicking the ball in the street.  boring af.

What exactlly have the SFA done that affects the field of play?  very little in living memory - either positive or negative.  It's the players on the park.  Granted McLeish was a poor appointment, I'll concede that one.  What is the overhaul people want?  An English Yorkshireman taking charge?  A younger guy with football experience and a business acumen?  

Next they'll be complaining that having a fast food sponsor actually affects whether Ollie Burke can run WITH the ball.  

" we need to get to the grassroots"  what a load of pish by the way.  As if there isn't grass roots going on all the time.  More than ever.

I love these people that say there should be an overhaul but have absolutely no idea what it actually means in action.

On 10/22/2018 at 12:58 PM, ErsatzThistle said:

you keep saying this.  I've literally not read or heard a single person say we can't have a foreigner.

1 hour ago, PapofGlencoe said:

what a load of bollocks. 

Every campaign we've nearly qualified near enough down to the last game.  Should we have been boycotting the Georgia game, the Poland game, the Dutch game, the Italy game, the England game, the Slovenia game ?  What would that have achieved? 

All this thread needs is somebody to tell us kids prefer Playstations to kicking the ball in the street.  boring af.

What exactlly have the SFA done that affects the field of play?  very little in living memory - either positive or negative.  It's the players on the park.  Granted McLeish was a poor appointment, I'll concede that one.  What is the overhaul people want?  An English Yorkshireman taking charge?  A younger guy with football experience and a business acumen?  

Next they'll be complaining that having a fast food sponsor actually affects whether Ollie Burke can run WITH the ball.  

" we need to get to the grassroots"  what a load of pish by the way.  As if there isn't grass roots going on all the time.  More than ever.

I love these people that say there should be an overhaul but have absolutely no idea what it actually means in action.

pop the champagne corks folks, we've nearly qualified 🤣

1 minute ago, PapofGlencoe said:

haha well should we have boycotted all the games then?  bonkers.

boycotts won't happen, not as a collective movement anyway. 

I do wish our fans would vent their frustration more instead of applauding failure

8 minutes ago, vanderark14 said:

boycotts won't happen, not as a collective movement anyway. 

I do wish our fans would vent their frustration more instead of applauding failure

far from it, i think it's shiite.  but this idea we even could or should have boycotted is mental.

The gibraltar game is about the only one I can think of in years and that was more over price than anything.

The thing is we have, as sorts, been boycotting.  People that used to go dont' go.  That's why we don't fill stadiums anymore.

20 minutes ago, PapofGlencoe said:

far from it, i think it's shiite.  but this idea we even could or should have boycotted is mental.

The gibraltar game is about the only one I can think of in years and that was more over price than anything.

The thing is we have, as sorts, been boycotting.  People that used to go dont' go.  That's why we don't fill stadiums anymore.

What's mental about it? Accepting serial failure without doing anything about it is mental.

There are either one of two reasons why that has been the case. Either (a) for most it's become about seeing new places, meeting up with old friends and days out than the football or (b) we aren't able to organise ourselves properly to effectively push for change.

If it's the first one, I could accept it....at least there's a tad of honesty about that.

But the second? No, surely not. Surely a body of support that can charter boats, trains, aeroplanes, run 50 buses from far flung places like Kazakhstan and Israel, has organisations like ATAC and the Sunshine appeal can properly organise a pressure group to demand effective change and reform? That's what genuine supporters do. There's a sensible suggestion on the other thread from @romanticscot which deserves some traction.

What's the alternative? If we're going to do nothing as a group of fans we'd be as well all heading for the nearest pub, get pished, drape ourselves in tartan singing 'we're shite and we know we are' till the cows come home! 

1 minute ago, slasher said:

What's mental about it? Accepting serial failure without doing anything about is mental.

There are either one of two reasons why that has been the case. Either (a) for most it's become about seeing new places, meeting up with old friends and days out than the football or (b) we aren't able to organise ourselves properly to effectively push for change.

If it's the first one, I could accept it....at least there's a tad of honesty about that.

But the second? No, surely not. Surely a body of support that can charter boats, trains, aeroplanes, run 50 buses from far flung places like Kazakhstan and Israel, has organisations like ATAC and the Sunshine appeal can properly organise a pressure group to demand effective change and reform? That's what genuine supporters do. There's a sensible suggestion on the other thread from @romanticscot which deserves some traction.

What's the alternative? If we're going to do nothing as a group of fans we'd be as well all heading for the nearest pub, get pished, drape ourselves in tartan singing 'we're shite and we know we are' till the cows come home! 

given we were close to qualifying in the last few campaigns which game would you have boycotted?

Maybe right now the san marino game as McLeish hasn't been sacked... but your thread is about us getting the team we deserve.  There's not a game in the last ten years that it would have been worth unsettling the team for.

The alternative is we get a decent manager.  That's about it.

1 minute ago, PapofGlencoe said:

given we were close to qualifying in the last few campaigns which game would you have boycotted?

Maybe right now the san marino game as McLeish hasn't been sacked... but your thread is about us getting the team we deserve.  There's not a game in the last ten years that it would have been worth unsettling the team for.

The alternative is we get a decent manager.  That's about it.

Sorry, but you're missing the point entirely. The manager issue is a sideshow, it's the cunts who pick the manager who have to go first and foremost.

1 minute ago, slasher said:

Sorry, but you're missing the point entirely. The manager issue is a sideshow, it's the cunts who pick the manager who have to go first and foremost.

fine.  I don't particularly care either way who's upstairs.  I just want someone that can drill a team and the rest falls into place.

I'd march to get rid of a terrible manager if they don't punt him.  But i couldn't care less about what the latest SFA initiative is or who's getting hospitality seats.  We have a new CEO too remember.  I think it's more or less irrelevant to how the Scotland team plays.  I don't think i'm missing the point.

4 minutes ago, PapofGlencoe said:

fine.  I don't particularly care either way who's upstairs.  I just want someone that can drill a team and the rest falls into place.

I'd march to get rid of a terrible manager if they don't punt him.  But i couldn't care less about what the latest SFA initiative is or who's getting hospitality seats.  We have a new CEO too remember.  I think it's more or less irrelevant to how the Scotland team plays.  I don't think i'm missing the point.

This is sensible. People call for change but it’s happened already. We’ve got a poor manager, so let’s get a new one. If the performance schools fail (we’ll know in about 2 years), then, by all means, sack the board. 

2 hours ago, PapofGlencoe said:

Have a think about what you're saying here. Getting the right manager is the most important thing but the people who pick him and the process by which they do it is irrelevant? Remember we're not just talking about last night, it's 30 years of failure we're talking about here.

I'm with @slasher  Board to Manager & Fans - the whole flipping SFA set up is a shambles.  

The problem is it is an exclusive club with certain few with their fingers in so many pies, and all keen to get their pals the gigs.  That needs to end.

Petrie, Maxwell, McRae and McLeish.  Go take a hike!  Maxwell should never have been given his gig, and Petrie is soon to follow McRae as he is the only person who has noted an interest in taking over as President.  In my world, if that was my manager and he had overseen that result he would have been givens jotters and a new man would already be getting head hunted to take over.

Then the fans, most are stupid alcoholics who just go along for a gig.  Most couldn't tell you the starting 11 or have an ounce of footballing knowledge in them.  The jolly craicsters of the TA, the no Scotland no Party.  The fuds who think the Antti Niemi's no Finnished he's only 28 - GTF.  Absolute weapons the lot of them.

If you voted with your feet and boycotted home and away they would soon recognise the importance.  Until such a time, you enjoy contributing to the failure.

Edited by Debian