Ian Crocker - why have sky not replaced this guy - Page 4 - TA specific - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

Ian Crocker - why have sky not replaced this guy

jamboman

40 minutes ago, er yir macaroon said:

Actually i’ve just realised I’ve no idea who that is. 

He was the main BBC commentator before Liam McLeod (who I actually might have meant 😂). 

I think he was the guy that went mental when McFadden scored in Paris. 

9 hours ago, er yir macaroon said:

Crocker is terrible. The chap who did BT then went to America was quite good. 

Is that Derek Rae? He's the guy that does the commentary in FIFA 19 now, i think.

Ian Crocker gets a bad rap on here.

He's decent and clearly does his research. He also has a Sky audience to pander to, which is another limiting factor.

He's probably had the chance to be 4th in line to Martin Tyler for the big gigs in the EPL, but prefers to be their specialist on the Old Firm in the Steven Gerrard  Premiership.

And he also has to put up with Union Davy Provan every time Scotland play.

All of the above exonerate him from the pish criticism he's been getting on this thread.

9 minutes ago, todd said:

Ian Crocker actually redeemed himself a little bit on Tuesday l think.  After we went 3-1 up.  "This is happening, this is doable, go Scotland, go!"   Brilliant!

Yeah, I noted that, too.

Credit to  him for that. I've never really had a problem the guy. He seems like a decent enough man and he clearly knows his stuff, nor does he really take himself too serious. There's a lot worse commentators than Crocker.

He commentates on pretty much every Scotland match so he probably has a wee bit of affection towards us, whether he knows it or not.

8 minutes ago, Chripper said:

Yeah, I noted that, too.

Credit to  him for that. I've never really had a problem the guy. He seems like a decent enough man and he clearly knows his stuff, nor does he really take himself too serious. There's a lot worse commentators than Crocker.

He commentates on pretty much every Scotland match so he probably has a wee bit of affection towards us, whether he knows it or not.

Provan, on the other hand, remains a monumental bellend!  After Kayal scored he said something along the lines of "that's what he's capable of " I actually assumed from that remark that he did it on a weekly basis for Celtic.  Since then I've found out he scored twice in five years at Celtic! 

Edited by todd

4 minutes ago, todd said:

Provan, on the other hand, remains a monumental bellend!  After Kayal scored he said something along the lines of "that's what he's capable of " I actually assumed from that remark that he did it on a weekly basis for Celtic.  Since then I've found out he scored twice in five years at Celtic! 

And that was only his second goal for Israel ((c) Ian Crocker)

19 hours ago, todd said:

Aye, I mentioned that a few pages ago. Kayal himself wouldn't even claim that is what he's capable of. One of his two goals for Celtic was a wild deflection v Ajax (I think).

Edited by Tartan_McCole

On 11/21/2018 at 1:34 PM, wee-toon-red said:

BT’s Scottish football commentator (possibly used to post on here?) is pretty good so it would be nice if sky were to hire him off the back of gaining sole rights to Scottish football. Won’t happen though.

He still does. He was with me on the boat from Bari to Albania two weeks ago. I’ll leave him to say his name though incase he wants to lay low.

On 11/25/2018 at 5:51 PM, todd said:

Ian Crocker actually redeemed himself a little bit on Tuesday l think.  After we went 3-1 up.  "This is happening, this is doable, go Scotland, go!"   Brilliant!

So what happened to people saying commentators on UK wide matches should be neutral? i.e. during the World Cup English commentators were hounded on here and many other outlets by Scottish fans when they were getting excited and showed some passion that England had a good chance of getting to the final, nae, maybe even winning the World Cup, but because it’s the wha’s like us Tartan Army and a commentator broadcasting UK wide shows some passion towards Scotland it’s fair game

Wha’s like us? Every cunts like us

58 minutes ago, DoonTheSlope said:

So what happened to people saying commentators on UK wide matches should be neutral? i.e. during the World Cup English commentators were hounded on here and many other outlets by Scottish fans when they were getting excited and showed some passion that England had a good chance of getting to the final, nae, maybe even winning the World Cup, but because it’s the wha’s like us Tartan Army and a commentator broadcasting UK wide shows some passion towards Scotland it’s fair game

To be fair, it's not just the English commentators that piss us off. It's the pundits, the reporters and the English media in general.

I bet more Scots know which year England won the world cup than what year the battle of Bannockburn was or when world war 2 ended, etc. Why? Because it's been rammed down our throats 

It's no, it's not an education thing. Most people aren't interested in history, and yet we know which year England won the bloody world cup as it's imprinted on our brains.

2 hours ago, DoonTheSlope said:

I'm not against partisan commentary at all.  I actually like the passion, eg Iceland, Brazil, Norway Et al.  What irks me is it seems the aforementioned Crocker and Proven  (especially) go out of their way not to be biased and end up sounding like they're supporters of whomever is playing against us! No other nations commentators do this that I've noticed. That's just what this cunt thinks anyway 😆

Edited by todd

Please with the responses i got in this thread.

My point is simple.... Why can we not get a Scottish commentator, Scottish presenter and scottish pundits (commons is not scottish!!) ????

I have listened to Crocker for a long time and while i know commentators need to state facts but goodness me he just loves to bring up all the negative fact.. Never is he quick to say.. We beat Albania 4-0... NO he brings up the isreal game..

GET HIM OUT SKY SPORTS!

8 hours ago, DoonTheSlope said:

You're missing the point. It's Croker's spiteful negativity that's the problem. 

If we have to put up with partisan English commentators, is it too much to ask for a Scottish one too?

I've posted this before in the fred, but i think it's worth repeating:

My Irish pal (completely unprompted) commented to me on how negative Croker was towards Scotland (was during the 2-2 Slovenia game). He's used to watching his national team on RTE.

It's not just us that notice it. I'm sure anyone from any country with their own national media would notice it too.

2 hours ago, Dave78 said:

You're missing the point. It's Croker's spiteful negativity that's the problem. 

If we have to put up with partisan English commentators, is it too much to ask for a Scottish one too?

It’s 2018 FFS! What’s his nationality got to do with anything?

Davey Provan is Scottish yet his negativity is beyond the pale

11 minutes ago, DoonTheSlope said:

It’s 2018 FFS! What’s his nationality got to do with anything?

You were the one that brought up how English commentators "get excited and showed some passion". 

All i'm asking is that the English commentators do the same for us. Seems reasonable, no?

Davey Provan is Scottish yet his negativity is beyond the pale

Edited by Dave78
spelling