Gazza - Page 4 - Football related - Discussion of non TA football - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

20 minutes ago, sbcmfc said:

Not excusing him, but i’m sure you could open your mind and see the (admittedly hypothetical) point i’m trying to make.

It’s not an excuse for his bigoted acts, just questioning whether he’s actually a bigot?

Do you need to believe what you’re saying/doing to be a bigot or is singing a song etc. enough.

Quite right.  I didn't really think I was a little teapot when I was in primary school.......

33 minutes ago, sbcmfc said:

Not excusing him, but i’m sure you could open your mind and see the (admittedly hypothetical) point i’m trying to make.

It’s not an excuse for his bigoted acts, just questioning whether he’s actually a bigot?

Do you need to believe what you’re saying/doing to be a bigot or is singing a song etc. enough.

Where do we stand on people cracking the odd racist joke at work, but their best pals are black? Racists, or just pandering to idiots?

Edited by Tartan_McCole

Seems a bit of a storm in a teacup to me. Are people really that offended by it?

Everyone knows that some Rangers fans sing nasty songs about the Pope, just as some Celtic fans sing pro-IRA songs.

I imagine that this event was always likely to attract and be aimed at football fans, and most likely Rangers fans, given Gazza played for them. Does any Rangers fan bash ever pass by without someone adding a few nasty words to one song or another? I doubt it.

I doubt that Gazza could care less about the Pope either way, but such is the nature of these things, it's easy to get swept along with the occasion. Willy Thorne was next to him and laughing and smiling during the song - are people also now going to paint him as a bigot because he didn't storm off in protest?

I would have thought people here, being football fans, wouldn't be so sensitive.

11 hours ago, Parklife said:

Ahhh, so now you're just creating fantasy scenarios to excuse him? 

I'm offended by fuck all of it. I just think he's a despicable cunt. 

There's a million despicable ####s out there the world is full of wife beating tossers Gascoigne is public eye your next door neighbour isnae. 

10 hours ago, George Saint said:

Seems a bit of a storm in a teacup to me. Are people really that offended by it?

Everyone knows that some Rangers fans sing nasty songs about the Pope, just as some Celtic fans sing pro-IRA songs.

I imagine that this event was always likely to attract and be aimed at football fans, and most likely Rangers fans, given Gazza played for them. Does any Rangers fan bash ever pass by without someone adding a few nasty words to one song or another? I doubt it.

I doubt that Gazza could care less about the Pope either way, but such is the nature of these things, it's easy to get swept along with the occasion. Willy Thorne was next to him and laughing and smiling during the song - are people also now going to paint him as a bigot because he didn't storm off in protest?

I would have thought people here, being football fans, wouldn't be so sensitive.

Good post. But the local preacher on here wint agree.

Guest faircity
22 hours ago, George Saint said:

That makes Willie Thorne a cunt as well. If you find that amusing, then you are also a cunt. I know you don't though. 

Guest faircity
12 hours ago, Rolling hIlls said:

Good post. But the local preacher on here wint agree.

How is that a good post you fucking idiot? It's a pish post and only halfwits like you would think otherwise. But it's okay kid, you are likely semi downed in yer ain pish, ken kid. 

1 hour ago, faircity said:

That makes Willie Thorne a cunt as well. If you find that amusing, then you are also a cunt. I know you don't though. 

If that's all it takes to make Willie Thorne a cunt, you've set the bar incredibly low. Presumably if Rangers or Celtic fans sing anything bad in the stadium, anyone who doesn't immediately leave in protest, is also a cunt, yes? Same goes for in the pub or anywhere else.

For the record, I don't find it amusing. I just think when it's a private event aimed at fans of Rangers, and you get something like that happen, I'm not going to get my knickers in a twist about it. I think there are much worse songs sung by football fans, and sung in much more inappropriate places.

12 hours ago, faircity said:

How is that a good post you fucking idiot? It's a pish post and only halfwits like you would think otherwise. But it's okay kid, you are likely semi downed in yer ain pish, ken kid. 

Oof. That nearly broke my heart. Coming from Dublin you should know better about using langiage luke that.

14 hours ago, George Saint said:

If that's all it takes to make Willie Thorne a cunt, you've set the bar incredibly low. Presumably if Rangers or Celtic fans sing anything bad in the stadium, anyone who doesn't immediately leave in protest, is also a cunt, yes? Same goes for in the pub or anywhere else.

For the record, I don't find it amusing. I just think when it's a private event aimed at fans of Rangers, and you get something like that happen, I'm not going to get my knickers in a twist about it. I think there are much worse songs sung by football fans, and sung in much more inappropriate places.

I'm off to arrange a private function where we'll all sing "send the pakis home". 

Obviously we won't really mean it and  everyone there will be singing along, so that's okay. What a laugh it's going to be! 

On 9/7/2018 at 12:40 PM, sbcmfc said:

youngwomen_three_laughing_is-619531868_v

43 minutes ago, Parklife said:

I'm off to arrange a private function where we'll all sing "send the pakis home". 

Obviously we won't really mean it and  everyone there will be singing along, so that's okay. What a laugh it's going to be! 

With your popularity on here the private function will be in a phone box.:)

18 hours ago, faircity said:

How do you know Willie Thorne understood what was being sung? 

Is ignorance as bad? 

Just wondering. 

Guest faircity
2 hours ago, RenfrewBlue said:

How do you know Willie Thorne understood what was being sung? 

Is ignorance as bad? 

Just wondering. 

Are you seriously suggesting that Willie Thorne doesnt understand what "fuck the pope" means ?

2 hours ago, faircity said:

Are you seriously suggesting that Willie Thorne doesnt understand what "fuck the pope" means ?

I haven't watched the video. Its the sort of thing that really rips my knitting for a variety of reasons. 

It does sound as if there's no excuse. 

3 hours ago, faircity said:

Of course not

However as Karen Bradley has shown many people in England are completely clueless regarding sectarianism and bigotry and if you were to explain this Northern Irish and Central Scotland phenomenon they would look at you as if you were fucking daft and rightly cant get their heads around it 

On 9/7/2018 at 5:33 PM, George Saint said:

The difference is that a pro IRA song is not sectarian. 

10 hours ago, Ally Bongo said:

Of course not

However as Karen Bradley has shown many people in England are completely clueless regarding sectarianism and bigotry and if you were to explain this Northern Irish and Central Scotland phenomenon they would look at you as if you were fucking daft and rightly cant get their heads around it 

Who’s Karen Bradley?