The Mighty Celtic... - Page 84 - Football related - Discussion of non TA football - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

The Mighty Celtic...

3 hours ago, RenfrewBlue said:

As soon as one of the foreign refs missed an obvious decision for Celtic you'd want him hunted. It's what Celtic fans do. Always cheated, never defeated. 

Rangers fans can be equally stupid but for some reason aren't quite as mental about refs

Oh no? Last season, when Willie Collum sent off Daniel Candeias at St Mirren this happened.

An Official Rangers statement thundered: “This is by no means the first time errors of judgment have been made in matches involving this official and clearly there is an underlying issue which requires to be addressed.

Both clubs are as mental as each other. The sooner that they both go back to their homeland the better. That isn't a Trumpesque quote, all Celtic do is sing ROI songs and wave their flags, and all Rangers do is sing and wave NI songs and flags, so it's clear to me that they're stuck here and they want desperate to go "home".

I say get both of them off the agenda and send them to opposite sides of Ireland. It would appear that this would suit everyone.

Someone should start up a crowdfunding as the poor lambs obviously can't afford to leap over the sea.. ya know, what with everyone keeping them down. Poor diddums.

17 minutes ago, Big Ramy 1314 said:

🤣🤣🤣,. Oh dear.. Are you fuckin serious? 

Since the start of this Millennium Celtic have won 31 major domestic trophies. More than everyone else combined.

How on earth can there be a domestic conspiracy against Celtic? Truth is, the Celtic fans are nothing but a spoiled, paranoid bunch of morons that lack any kind of national identity. They also lack humility, brains, humanity, charity and sportsmanship*

In professional sport you can't openly accuse an official of showing favouritism as it immediately brings the game into disrepute and It goes a long way to suggest that the sport is rigged and that there's very little point of playing, as the ending has been leaked.

Celtic should've came out and said that they don't share Tom Boyd's opinions and that he's been sacked from Celtic TV as well as from his ambassadorial role at the club.

*That goes for Rangers fans, too**

**Not all Celtic and Rangers fans. I'm sure there are a few level-headed ones.

🤣🤣🤣,. Oh dear.. Are you fuckin serious? 

Yes I'm fucking serious. 🙄

Again I'm not surprised at your post. You and macy are exactly the type of Celtic fan these statements will appeal too. You will lap up the conspiracy theories even if theres not an ounce of truth to them.

8 hours ago, vanderark14 said:

I'd 2nd that but according to sportsound it is breaking a rule............. No club media outlet should question a refs integrity or something like that.

I dont see boyd as the issue anymore, that statement from celtic is an issue. Backing boyd was silly and only appeals to the lunatic fringe of the Celtic support 

4 hours ago, The_Dark_Knight said:

There's bias commentary and then there's absolutely deranged comments from a person who thinks the world is against his club.

You're right, in-house commentators are biased. I'm regularly watching MUTV and Paddy Crerand sounds like he's been at the whisky before matches, and yes, he's Manchester United centric, but on the main he's harmless and he's never once said anything really sinister. I'll listened to a lot of in-house channels and they may be biased, but generally they just have a sincere passion for their club and the fan comes out in their commentary.

I've Celtic TV a couple of times. One of the matches, I think it was against Motherwell (I'll probably be wrong with that one) and Bobby Madden was the ref. Every single decision that went against Celtic it was because "Bobby Madden never gives us anything", "I'm not surprised that we didn't get that decision as Madden is against us". That's actually verbatim. I couldn't believe what I was hearing. I'm only surprised it took so long for the media to get wind of this and the SFA to act. He genuinely thinks that every since official as well as the SFA are against Celtic. Yes. Celtic continuously win every trophy in Scotland and yet there's a massive conspiracy to stop them from winning. This must be the worst conspiracy in history as it simply is not working.

As a player he seemed like an unassuming character, pretty harmless. What happened to a person to make them so paranoid and filled with demons like that? 

Celtic are wrong to back him. Boyd is clearly suggesting that a referee is actually got an agenda against Celtic. We've all seen what the anti-immigrant rhetoric of Trump has done in the US. When dumb people get empowered all hell usually breaks loose. Talking of, can't wait to see what the Green Brigade have to say... odds are it'll be rooted in paranoia and they'll paint Tom Boyd as a political martyr.

Agree with your point regarding Celtic's statement but your taking it too far by bringing Trump's rhetoric into it, political martyr. People need to calm down. It will be forgotten about by the weekend, maybe not by some. People of my generation will remember the saying 'it will be tomorrow's fish and chip wrapping'.

6 minutes ago, Lairdyfaeinverclyde said:

Agree with your point regarding Celtic's statement but your taking it too far by bringing Trump's rhetoric into it, political martyr. People need to calm down. It will be forgotten about by the weekend, maybe not by some. People of my generation will remember the saying 'it will be tomorrow's fish and chip wrapping'.

Ive started watch Aberdeen on red TV, the commentators on there annoy and I’m an Aberdeen fan, it takes som getting used to after watching BBC, BT and sky.

ive only once watched Boyd and it’s clear he is also part of lunatic fringe of old firm fans.

i agree this will all be forgotten about next week when rangers get a decision against them and they get to borrow the victim card for the rest of that week, round and round we go.

the worst part of all of this is the OF and the SFA don’t even see these types of episodes as embarrassing or wrong but i guess that’s what happens when you feed the egos of two massive clubs for decades.

8 minutes ago, vanderark14 said:

Ive started watch Aberdeen on red TV, the commentators on there annoy and I’m an Aberdeen fan, it takes som getting used to after watching BBC, BT and sky.

ive only once watched Boyd and it’s clear he is also part of lunatic fringe of old firm fans.

i agree this will all be forgotten about next week when rangers get a decision against them and they get to borrow the victim card for the rest of that week, round and round we go.

the worst part of all of this is the OF and the SFA don’t even see these types of episodes as embarrassing or wrong but i guess that’s what happens when you feed the egos of two massive clubs for decades.

I don't expect anything else from our governing body. The OF know a bit of scandal keeps them in the news, big ego's.

9 hours ago, RenfrewBlue said:

As soon as one of the foreign refs missed an obvious decision for Celtic you'd want him hunted. It's what Celtic fans do. Always cheated, never defeated. 

Rangers fans can be equally stupid but for some reason aren't quite as mental about refs. 

I wonder why that is.....?

Let's not forget that this is club where a supporters club hired a private detective to follow a referee - Jim McCluskey - as they thought he was a Rangers fan and was biased against him.  

Around the same time, McCluskey was living in the same town as me and myself and some mates were talking to him in the pub on a Friday night and asked what game he was doing the next day.  Turned out it was Rangers v Aberdeen which we were all going to.  I said to him, I fancied Rangers to win, McCluskey said he fancied Aberdeen.  The result - a 2-2 draw. 

7 hours ago, The_Dark_Knight said:

Oh no? Last season, when Willie Collum sent off Daniel Candeias at St Mirren this happened.

An Official Rangers statement thundered: “This is by no means the first time errors of judgment have been made in matches involving this official and clearly there is an underlying issue which requires to be addressed.

Both clubs are as mental as each other. The sooner that they both go back to their homeland the better. That isn't a Trumpesque quote, all Celtic do is sing ROI songs and wave their flags, and all Rangers do is sing and wave NI songs and flags, so it's clear to me that they're stuck here and they want desperate to go "home".

I say get both of them off the agenda and send them to opposite sides of Ireland. It would appear that this would suit everyone.

Someone should start up a crowdfunding as the poor lambs obviously can't afford to leap over the sea.. ya know, what with everyone keeping them down. Poor diddums.

I didn't say they weren't stupid wrt refs, I just said not as mental. You've actually proved it with the quotes. 

Rangers implied the ref was a cheat but only said he made mistakes. 

Celtic, by backing Boyd, are saying the ref is deliberately cheating them. 

The lunatic fringe on both sides are as bad as each other but they do have their own specialist subjects. 

46 minutes ago, Terry Munro said:

Probably because they've never had to put up with refs sending huns off for hitting them with the ball when crossing it into the box, or refs who award penalties for incidents that they had their back turned to.

That's right, I forgot Rangers have never had a decision go against them. 

I've still got plenty of tinfoil left over from Christmas if your hat needs any repairs. 

And as has been stated above, if the refs are out to stop Celtic, how come you've won so many trophies? 

I tend to find that one thing that's common across fans of all teams is that they have 20-20 recall of those dodgy decisions that go against them but can never remember anything about those that went in their favour. 

39 minutes ago, aaid said:

Let's not forget that this is club where a supporters club hired a private detective to follow a referee - Jim McCluskey - as they thought he was a Rangers fan and was biased against him.  

Around the same time, McCluskey was living in the same town as me and myself and some mates were talking to him in the pub on a Friday night and asked what game he was doing the next day.  Turned out it was Rangers v Aberdeen which we were all going to.  I said to him, I fancied Rangers to win, McCluskey said he fancied Aberdeen.  The result - a 2-2 draw. 

Well, if not biased then at least unprofessional. In the pub the night before refereeing a big game?! Unprofessional bigoted hun.

26 minutes ago, RenfrewBlue said:

That's right, I forgot Rangers have never had a decision go against them. 

We got a late dodgy penalty in a 3-3 end of season dead rubber at Ibrox. Jamie Murphy dive. We also got a 50/50 throw in when we were 4-0 down in 1996.

😛

24 minutes ago, aaid said:

I tend to find that one thing that's common across fans of all teams is that they have 20-20 recall of those dodgy decisions that go against them but can never remember anything about those that went in their favour. 

I agree with this.

Rangers and Celtic definitely get way more decisions in their favour than any other team though. I’m sure there will be all sorts of psychology etc. to back that up.

There is no consequences to giving a poor decision against Motherwell or St Johnstone. We’ve never forced a referee strike, hired PI’s, put in a refs windows....

Historically as the establishment team Rangers would’ve got more, but in the modern world I don’t think that’s the case.

Already some murmurings that a number of players are unhappy with the levels under Lennon and that he has been approached by a senior player to raise their concerns. It's little surprise when you go from a diligent and detailed coach like Rodgers to an old dinosaur like Lennon.

We'll see how we get on tomorrow, but I reckon AIK will fancy their chances over two legs.

35 minutes ago, aaid said:

That's because as a Rangers fan I am still waiting for a dodgy decision to go in our favour 😋

Edited by theweestevie

I think Celtic will win the league tis year for what it's worth but if Celtic lose it, the toys out the pram from the gimps in the Green Brigade et al is going to be top drawer.

The amount of self entitled pish last week after a Euro defeat about their loyal support being taken for granted for laughable. Up until Rodgers took over there was the top tier of the Lisbon Lions Stand that was closed off for every league game and that was even on trophy day. These wee gimps wouldn't know thick or thin if it hit them in the face.

Just a shame it'll take Rangers winning the league for it to happen!

28 minutes ago, sbcmfc said:

Historically as the establishment team Rangers would’ve got more, but in the modern world I don’t think that’s the case.

Aye, I'd be inclined to go along with this as to why a lot of the older fans are generally tin-foil material when it comes to referees. Suppose it trickles down to the younger generation anaw.

I genuinely feel we should probably go down the lines of being up and open about clubs favoured by referees as per the English model, however the logistics of that may be difficult. I'm happy with the opinion that the majority of them are just incompetent.

45 minutes ago, duncan II said:

Well, if not biased then at least unprofessional. In the pub the night before refereeing a big game?! Unprofessional bigoted hun.

This was the late 1980s, half the players. Would probably have been in the pub the night before the game  as well. 

14 minutes ago, Tartan_McCole said:

Aye, I'd be inclined to go along with this as to why a lot of the older fans are generally tin-foil material when it comes to referees. Suppose it trickles down to the younger generation anaw.

I genuinely feel we should probably go down the lines of being up and open about clubs favoured by referees as per the English model, however the logistics of that may be difficult. I'm happy with the opinion that the majority of them are just incompetent.

I guess the problem would be that because so many people in Scotland support either Rangers or Celtic you'd struggle to get a referee to take any of their games - and don't forget the allegation here is that Beaton is biased against Celtic because he's a Rangers fan means that you can't have a referee who is a fan of either team handling games involving either side.

Then even if you had a referee who said they supported Brechin City it would be "Aye but who do you really support?" 

25 minutes ago, Squirrelhumper said:

I think Celtic will win the league tis year for what it's worth but if Celtic lose it, the toys out the pram from the gimps in the Green Brigade et al is going to be top drawer.

The amount of self entitled pish last week after a Euro defeat about their loyal support being taken for granted for laughable. Up until Rodgers took over there was the top tier of the Lisbon Lions Stand that was closed off for every league game and that was even on trophy day. These wee gimps wouldn't know thick or thin if it hit them in the face.

Just a shame it'll take Rangers winning the league for it to happen!

When did The Green Brigade mention anything about our loyal support being taken for granted? 

This stance that everyone and their gran seems to have taken that we are spoiled just because we are questioning the way the club is being run is truly laughable. I'm delighted we have sections of our support who voice their opinions and strive for us to do better, even in times of unrivalled success, otherwise if something did go wrong you're sitting on your hands and before you know it your club doesn't exist anymore.

I find it very strange that fans of any club would question anybody's else desire for their club to improve, it's very, very strange.

Edited by Mox

51 minutes ago, sbcmfc said:

We got a late dodgy penalty in a 3-3 end of season dead rubber at Ibrox. Jamie Murphy dive. We also got a 50/50 throw in when we were 4-0 down in 1996.

😛

I agree with this.

Rangers and Celtic definitely get way more decisions in their favour than any other team though. I’m sure there will be all sorts of psychology etc. to back that up.

There is no consequences to giving a poor decision against Motherwell or St Johnstone. We’ve never forced a referee strike, hired PI’s, put in a refs windows....

I think you'd probably be right that over the years Rangers and Celtic get more decisions going their way, however I suspect it's down to a couple of things.  In general, they've been the better teams in the country, therefore more attacking, less defending and so more opportunities for decisions to go their way, eg goals allowed that shouldn't be, penalties awarded, etc. conversely less opportunities at the other end for the same.

Then I think you have larger crowds causing referees to bottle it at times.  

I'm not sure that you can really draw any inference that Rangers have benefited more from this than Celtic, there is of course nothing that proves or disproves this.

What I would say is that in the past - and I mean 50+ years ago - it might have been possible for Refs to favour the teams they supported because of the level of scrutiny that comes these days I don't think it's possible.

1 hour ago, Mox said:

Already some murmurings that a number of players are unhappy with the levels under Lennon and that he has been approached by a senior player to raise their concerns. It's little surprise when you go from a diligent and detailed coach like Rodgers to an old dinosaur like Lennon.

We'll see how we get on tomorrow, but I reckon AIK will fancy their chances over two legs.

I have no Idea if Lennon is a dinosaur but he certainly isn't as good as Rodgers. So I can understand players seeing a drop in standards, in their eyes, and being upset. 

Whether that impacts or not remains to be seen.