North America 2026 - Page 2 - Football related - Discussion of non TA football - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

North America 2026

Guest faircity
1 hour ago, Scotland Ever More said:

We won't qualify anyway so only Scots there will be the usual attention seeking pricks in kilts and the tops of England's opponents.

And the acne-ridden halfwits with their Palestine flags. 

2 minutes ago, Kirk said:

Hence why I said internal and a wee border cross to help if needed. 

think Houston - NY was nae cheap either - I'm moving to Houston to was dicking about 

was looking at Toronto to go see Scotty 

7 minutes ago, euan2020 said:

think Houston - NY was nae cheap either - I'm moving to Houston to was dicking about 

was looking at Toronto to go see Scotty 

There's usually deals.to be found man, or you can always get a greyhound......think Megabus but sometimes shiter 

Would've much preferred Morocco hosting it, but there you go.

The venues are:

• Rose Bowl, Pasdena, near Los Angeles (92,000)
  • Estadio Azteca, Mexico City (87,523)
  • MetLife Stadium, East Rutherford, New Jersey (82,500)
  • FedExField, Landover, near Washington DC (82,000)
  • AT&T Stadium, Arlington, near Dallas (80,000)
  • Arrowhead Stadium, Kansas City (76,416)
  • Sports Authority Field at Mile High, Denver (76,125)
  • NRG Stadium, Houston (71,795)
  • M&T Bank Stadium (71,006)
  • Mercedes-Benz Stadium, Atlanta (71,000)
  • Lincoln Financial Field, Philadelphia (69,176)
  • Nissan Stadium, Nashville (69,143)
  • CenturyLink Field, Seattle (69,000)
  • Levi's Stadium, Santa Clara, near San Jose (68,500)
  • Gillette Stadium, Foxborough, near Boston (65,878)
  • Paul Brown Stadium, Cincinnati (65,515)
  • Hard Rock Stadium, Miami Gardens, near Miami (64,767)
  • Olympic Stadium, Montreal (61,004)
  • Camping World Stadium, Orlando (60,219)
  • Commonwealth Stadium, Edmonton (56,302)
  • Estadio BBVA Bancomer, Monterrey (53,500)
  • Estadio Akron, Guadalajara (46,232)
  • BMO Field, Toronto (30,000 --> 45,500)

Aside the Azteca, the US have all the biggest stadia. Makes you wonder why exactly they didn't bid alone.

Looking at the qualifying spots, you'll have:

• Asia - 8
  • Africa - 9
  • North America - 3 (+3 hosts)
  • South America - 6
  • Oceania - 1
  • Europe - 16
  • Play-Off - 2 (1 team from Asia, Africa, S America and Oceania and 2 teams from N America compete).

Seems pointless having qualifiers in South America as 60% of teams will qualify, with a chance of a seventh qualifier. Would be better having a single 'Americas' qualifying section.

19 minutes ago, Clyde1998 said:

Would've much preferred Morocco hosting it, but there you go.

The venues are:

• Rose Bowl, Pasdena, near Los Angeles (92,000)
  • Estadio Azteca, Mexico City (87,523)
  • MetLife Stadium, East Rutherford, New Jersey (82,500)
  • FedExField, Landover, near Washington DC (82,000)
  • AT&T Stadium, Arlington, near Dallas (80,000)
  • Arrowhead Stadium, Kansas City (76,416)
  • Sports Authority Field at Mile High, Denver (76,125)
  • NRG Stadium, Houston (71,795)
  • M&T Bank Stadium (71,006)
  • Mercedes-Benz Stadium, Atlanta (71,000)
  • Lincoln Financial Field, Philadelphia (69,176)
  • Nissan Stadium, Nashville (69,143)
  • CenturyLink Field, Seattle (69,000)
  • Levi's Stadium, Santa Clara, near San Jose (68,500)
  • Gillette Stadium, Foxborough, near Boston (65,878)
  • Paul Brown Stadium, Cincinnati (65,515)
  • Hard Rock Stadium, Miami Gardens, near Miami (64,767)
  • Olympic Stadium, Montreal (61,004)
  • Camping World Stadium, Orlando (60,219)
  • Commonwealth Stadium, Edmonton (56,302)
  • Estadio BBVA Bancomer, Monterrey (53,500)
  • Estadio Akron, Guadalajara (46,232)
  • BMO Field, Toronto (30,000 --> 45,500)

Aside the Azteca, the US have all the biggest stadia. Makes you wonder why exactly they didn't bid alone.

7 of the US venues will not be successful in becoming hosts.

Having the bulk of stadia in one country certainly sets a precedent for a possible Great Britain bid in the future, maybe 2034?

1 hour ago, DoonTheSlope said:

The fans shafted yet again 

Morocco would be visa free, logistically far easier to get from one stadium to another and cheaper ticket prices

The average ticket price for North America is going to be £322

Morocco failed the safety aspects. Give me north America any day. 

6 hours ago, Fairbairn said:

This could be a perfect chance for me to combine 2 of bucket list items!  See Scotland at a World Cup and drive Route 66!!!

I’ll stick my hand oot my windae to wave at you.

4 hours ago, Kirk said:

There's usually deals.to be found man, or you can always get a greyhound......think Megabus but sometimes shiter 

Megabus run from city to city also. I take them to Cincinnatti sometimes.

3 minutes ago, Ormond said:

Megabus run from city to city also. I take them to Cincinnatti sometimes.

Wasn't sure if they had Megabus when I was over there. Some guy did get his head cut off on a greyhound though, happy days

7 hours ago, Kirk said:

It's incredibley cheap to fly internal in USA and Canada. Worst thing that could happen is you'd need to do a wee border crossing for a cheaper flight depending on next venues. I have free accommodation all over Canada so let's hope we get there and are there rather than USA or Mexico 

Not strictly true. Airfares are weird here. I can fly to the likes of New Orleans and Florida for tuppence but going to say Denver costs a fair whack.

1 minute ago, Kirk said:

Wasn't sure if they had Megabus when I was over there. Some guy did get his head cut off on a greyhound though, happy days

I’ve had one way to Cincy for the likes of ten dollars before.

2 minutes ago, Ormond said:

Not strictly true. Airfares are weird here. I can fly to the likes of New Orleans and Florida for tuppence but going to say Denver costs a fair whack.

Well I always did well flying internally in USA, got the train from Vancouver to Seattle and saved about 400 dollars going to Hawaii from there.

1 minute ago, Ormond said:

I’ve had one way to Cincy for the likes of ten dollars before.

That's decent, as above it's sometimes just about timing and spotting a good deal.

13 minutes ago, Kirk said:

Well I always did well flying internally in USA, got the train from Vancouver to Seattle and saved about 400 dollars going to Hawaii from there.

That's decent, as above it's sometimes just about timing and spotting a good deal.

The trains are extortionate here!

11 minutes ago, Ormond said:

The trains are extortionate here!

Not to mention the rail network being completely shite when it comes to interstate city to city travel (if i recall)

4 minutes ago, Ally Bongo said:

Not to mention the rail network being completely shite when it comes to interstate city to city travel (if i recall)

Aye, public transport is almost non-existant here compared to Europe.

2 hours ago, loanhead-tartan said:

Joint bids could well be the future for the World Cup . Chances of a joint home nations World Cup at some point 

England are contesting 2030.

I'll be deid by then so,    ...meh.

36 minutes ago, Grim Jim said:

England are contesting 2030.

I'll be deid by then so,    ...meh.

Yeah, England and a joint Uruguay/Argentina bid seem to be the shout with the centenary World Cup nostalgia being the main selling point for the South American bid.

Seeing the North America bid did make me wonder about us piggy backing on the England bid, our tax etc. will be used to sort it, and we won’t see any of the benefits as it stands.

EPL sides will be getting millions from the government to upgrade stadiums when they could well afford to do so themselves.