Scottish player transfers - Page 109 - TA specific - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

Scottish player transfers

SkyBlueScot

On 9/11/2020 at 5:00 PM, Caledonian Craig said:

I'd heard differently. His contract was drawing to an end and Bournemouth offered a short-term contract which he declined to sign and then contract ran out. In no way was he obliged to sign a contract he may have deemed an insult.

Fraser was offered a new deal by Bournemouth last summer that apparently would have put him on a par with the highest paid players at the club. 

He turned that down and made it clear that he was planning to run down his contract  

Nothing unusual or controversial in that and had he been professional for the remainder of the season there wouldn’t have been an issue.

However, he let speculation get to him and his form dropped hence the “downing tools” comment.   The fact he had to apologise to his team mates probably suggests there was a fair bit to it and he was possibly being a bad dressing room influence - that’s speculation.

Normally player contracts expire on the 30th June, so with COVID meaning that the season extended past that date, any players who were out of contract then would have had to have short term contracts in place to allow them to play the remainder of the season.

When the EPL got the go ahead to restart in May or whenever it was, Fraser wouldn’t sign the extension - as he was entitled to.   As he was still contracted to Bournemouth until the end of June, he could’ve played up until that date but Eddie Howe, the then Bournemouth manager told him not to bother.   You can understand that as he previously demonstrated his lack of professionalism and Howe probably thought since he wasn’t committed, he was better off not being around causing problems.

I’m not sure whether Fraser was the only player in similar circumstances who refused to sign the extension but he was certainly the highest profile one.  His general behaviour though, compounded by his recent comments where he’d have been better advised to keep his mouth shut do mark him out as a bit of a cunt, and not a good one.

Makes you wonder whether he’s the sort of character you’d want around the national team squad as well if he can’t be relied on  

55 minutes ago, breeks_mctavish said:

Examples of good cunts please

Plenty.  Never heard the expression “xxx is a good cunt”.  Scotland is the only country in the English speaking world where it can be a term of endearment. 

14 hours ago, ErsatzThistle said:

Christian Dailly hurriedly buying a pair of boots at the airport after an unexpected last minute Scotland call up such was his eagerness to play for Scotland.

That's a good cunt :ok:

I once sold a pair of boots to Christian Dailly.  I was working in Sports Direct in Preston around 2000/01 and he was at Blackburn Rovers at the time.  

At the time, I wasn't his biggest fan.  I was a pissed at him for that header he missed against england and it was before the "fucking cheats" shout which made him a fans favourite.  

I can't for the life of me remember what pair he bought but they were a mid-range option.  

41 minutes ago, PASTA Mick said:

I once sold a pair of boots to Christian Dailly.  I was working in Sports Direct in Preston around 2000/01 and he was at Blackburn Rovers at the time.  

At the time, I wasn't his biggest fan.  I was a pissed at him for that header he missed against england and it was before the "fucking cheats" shout which made him a fans favourite.  

I can't for the life of me remember what pair he bought but they were a mid-range option.  

I didn't really see that as a miss?   More of a save....

16 hours ago, ErsatzThistle said:

Christian Dailly hurriedly buying a pair of boots at the airport after an unexpected last minute Scotland call up such was his eagerness to play for Scotland.

That's a good cunt :ok:

Aye but it didnae stop Berti Vogts grassing him up.

Edited by Caledonian Craig

Apologies if someone’s already posted about this, but it passed my by that a 17-year-old Kirkcaldy lad had moved to Fulham in the summer. 

Striker Kieron Bowie scored 10 goals for Raith Rovers with five assists in 33 games last season in League One. Apparently he can play second striker and right wing as well as main striker. Good luck tae the laddie: https://www.fulhamfc.com/news/2020/july/02/kieron-bowie/

On 9/13/2020 at 7:50 PM, aaid said:

Plenty.  Never heard the expression “xxx is a good cunt”.  Scotland is the only country in the English speaking world where it can be a term of endearment. 

I'd say Oz, NZ and Canada use it positively too

Edited by Kirk

11 hours ago, Kirk said:

I'd say Oz, NZ and Canada use it positively too

You were certainly a prime example of someone being an absolute cunt with your original post before you obviously realised better, edited it and removed the hard core porn.

4 hours ago, aaid said:

You were certainly a prime example of someone being an absolute cunt with your original post before you obviously realised better, edited it and removed the hard core porn.

I realised this probably wasn't the right audience, to call it hardcore porn is a bit ott though

On 9/15/2020 at 9:36 AM, RabtheBruce said:

Apologies if someone’s already posted about this, but it passed my by that a 17-year-old Kirkcaldy lad had moved to Fulham in the summer. 

Striker Kieron Bowie scored 10 goals for Raith Rovers with five assists in 33 games last season in League One. Apparently he can play second striker and right wing as well as main striker. Good luck tae the laddie: https://www.fulhamfc.com/news/2020/july/02/kieron-bowie/

Good luck, indeed. 

Nottingham Forest have got something that clubs like Manchester City and Chelsea haven't, and that is history. Two European cups is incredible for an unfashionable English club. I don't care how long it was. Man City and Chelsea may be fashionable, but unless they win the European cup twice, they'll still be miles below clubs like Manchester United and Liverpool

Nottingham Forest are bigger than any club in Scotland, easily.

League wise, if McKenna does leave to join the English Championship, it'll be a sideways step.

If McKenna is EPL class, he'll either get promoted or he'll get a move to an EPL club. 

Personally, I have merely a passing interest in the SPL, there's a reason for that. I don't even bother watching highlights. A move to a better football nation, regardless of the tier, is a good one.

Edited by Taylor1996

6 minutes ago, Taylor1996 said:

I never say anything I don't mean.

Celtic live off a single past glory of 1967 and Rangers... Can't think of anything.

Unfortunately though Forest though have done nothing of note since a certain Mr Clough departed. On today's showing I hope Aberdeen get a decent fee as it they don't get in some one half decent their season will be more or less over