Russia 2018 - Page 63 - Football related - Discussion of non TA football - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

2 hours ago, Ormond said:

Fuck England. Not just the media. Fuck the country. ‘Mon the Croats. Send these bullying, colonial cunts home. 

Elegant, and to the point.

If England somehow win the damn thing, you could have a few thousand asking to sleep on your couch soon..

44 minutes ago, Nobby said:

Awwww shucks we love 💖 you too 😘

dont stress plenty of time for us to feck it up 😉 here’s hoping we don’t 🦁🦁🦁

You put lions there instead of leopards.

1 minute ago, kumnio said:

Elegant, and to the point.

If England somehow win the damn thing, you could have a few thousand asking to sleep on your couch soon..

You can get tae fuck just for telling that hoose fu’ o’ Mexicans I was a bastarding Trump fanatic. 😄

18 minutes ago, Ormond said:

You can get tae fuck just for telling that hoose fu’ o’ Mexicans I was a bastarding Trump fanatic. 😄

😄 If its any consolation, Id happily do it again.

Cmon Croatia, great country to visit, with lovely locals.

2 hours ago, Scotty CTA said:

Good one, but numbers 1-3 might not happen at all.

The joke was the timing of number 4.

Scotty, I hope he or she turns up too ! However for the time being let’s get through to next Wednesday 😉 and I didn’t get the joke !

21 minutes ago, Scotty CTA said:

He, mate... HE.

The joke was that I'd rather have the beginning of the end of the world (as we know it) than England win the World Cup.

Apologies and fair do’s !. If I’m ever in Toronto I’ll look you up for a beer. Especially if we win the feckin thing 😉

11 hours ago, wheres the pies said:

Wonder if they will take up the offer of those 10,000 tickets that where handed back from other supporters 

I'm seeing news reports of england fans booking up last minute

But I am thinking if they have no fan ID (or confirmed ticket/accommodation) they will get bumped back at immigration by the Russkies

Russia immigration alongside Algeria  & USA are normally the most pedantic in my experience

could be quite a few crying selfies.................. 

Surprisingly Belgium and France have only played each other 9 times in 32 years

They drew 2-2 at Mexico 86 (france won in ET) and have played 8 friendlies since then

3 wins for France

2 wins for Belgium

3 draws

France have not beaten Belgium since 2004 and the most recent game was June 2015 in Paris which Belgium won 4-3 after being 3-0 and 4-1 up

France scored twice in the last 2 minutes

England have played Croatia 7 times

England 4 wins

Croatia 2 wins

1 draw

The last twice England played Croatia was home and away in 2008 and 2009

England won both games with an aggregate score of 9-2

In my lifetime of watching football England have been:

- knocked out by Maradona’s hand in ‘86

- lost all 3 group games IIRC in ‘88, including being ripped a new one by Van Basten

- beaten on penalties in ‘90

- knocked out in group in ‘92 by Thomas Brolin’s goal

- didn’t qualify in ‘94

- beaten on penalties again in ‘96

- beaten on penalties again in ‘98 after Sol Campbell’s goal wrongly disallowed

- beating Germany in 2000 and still going out in the group stage

- knocked out by Ronaldinho’s goal in 2002

- beaten on penalties by Portugal in 2004

- beaten again on penalties by Portugal in 2006

- failing to qualify in 2008 (hilariously I thought)

- humped by Germany in 2010

- completely outplayed and beaten on penalties by Italy in 2012

- knocked out after losing first 2 games in 2014

- beaten by Iceland in 2016

Us England hating Scotland fans have had a bloody good run when you look at that record, their luck was bound to change at some point. Had a feeling they would win the penalties against Colombia, law of averages made me think they had to win one sooner or later. In my opinion, if they win the World Cup they will be by far the worst team to win the World Cup, not much difference between them and Greece in the Euros in 2004. No creativity, relying on set-pieces, etc. Don’t hold out much hope of Croatia doing anything, relying on Belgium or France.

12 minutes ago, noyntine 6-6-6 said:

It disnae matter which foot yu kick wi, it's time to pray for Croatia.

All across the celtic fringes of these islands, prayers are being said....

17 hours ago, The Black Bra said:

In my lifetime of watching football England have been:

- knocked out by Maradona’s hand in ‘86

- lost all 3 group games IIRC in ‘88, including being ripped a new one by Van Basten

- beaten on penalties in ‘90

- knocked out in group in ‘92 by Thomas Brolin’s goal

- didn’t qualify in ‘94

- beaten on penalties again in ‘96

- beaten on penalties again in ‘98 after Sol Campbell’s goal wrongly disallowed

- beating Germany in 2000 and still going out in the group stage

- knocked out by Ronaldinho’s goal in 2002

- beaten on penalties by Portugal in 2004

- beaten again on penalties by Portugal in 2006

- failing to qualify in 2008 (hilariously I thought)

- humped by Germany in 2010

- completely outplayed and beaten on penalties by Italy in 2012

- knocked out after losing first 2 games in 2014

- beaten by Iceland in 2016

Us England hating Scotland fans have had a bloody good run when you look at that record, their luck was bound to change at some point. Had a feeling they would win the penalties against Colombia, law of averages made me think they had to win one sooner or later. In my opinion, if they win the World Cup they will be by far the worst team to win the World Cup, not much difference between them and Greece in the Euros in 2004. No creativity, relying on set-pieces, etc. Don’t hold out much hope of Croatia doing anything, relying on Belgium or France.

Using the ELO ratings, we can see the strength of team who knocked England out over that time scale (based on their rating/world rank at the start of the tournament):

• Year - England - Opponent
  • 1986 - 1990 (2nd) - Argentina 1872 (12th)
  • 1988 - 1997 (1st) - USSR 1975 (2nd) & Netherlands 1933 (7th)
  • 1990 - 1944 (6th) - Germany 1994 (2nd)
  • 1992 - 2005 (2nd) - Sweden 1830 (17th) & Denmark 1872 (12th)
  • 1994 - 1999 (2nd) - Norway 1732 (29th) & Netherlands 1955 (7th) - At start of qualifying
  • 1996 - 1887 (11th) - Germany 2034 (2nd)
  • 1998 - 1973 (5th) - Argentina 1890 (10th)
  • 2000 - 1912 (9th) - Portugal 1910 (10th) & Romania 1856 (17th)
  • 2002 - 1925 (7th) - Brazil 1868 (13th)
  • 2004 - 1940 (8th) - Portugal 1899 (9th)
  • 2006 - 1973 (3rd) - Portugal 1915 (9th)
  • 2008 - 2000 (5th) - Croatia 1817 (18th) & Russia 1753 (31st) - At start of qualifying
  • 2010 - 2001 (4th) - Germany 1958 (5th)
  • 2012 - 1955 (6th) - Italy 1851 (14th)
  • 2014 - 1932 (7th) - Costa Rica 1711 (33rd) & Uruguay 1919 (10th)
  • 2016 - 1972 (8th) - Iceland 1666 (45th)

Basically only in 1990 and 1996 have England got knocked out by a side better than them according to the ELO ratings - both times England got further than their ELO world ranking position (excluding teams not involved) would suggest. 2002 and 2004 are the only years which they met expectations.

They were bound to do something at these tournaments eventually...