Russia 2018 - Page 31 - Football related - Discussion of non TA football - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

14 minutes ago, Bobby Russell's Lovechild said:

According to the blond reporter on BBC news yesterday, England have exceeded expectation!

Well aye if you compare them to there last World Cup oot after 2 games they England where always going to progress into the next round how much further they go once they meet credible opposition is a different story I think if they where to meet Colombia in the next round they’d be oot England could see the Colombians taking a few goals off them English defence not that good 

If Martinez doesn't put out a reserve team and tell them to play for a draw he should be sacked.

Might depend on this afternoon and whether the winner gets Japan, Senegal or Colombia in round 2.

41 minutes ago, Toepoke said:

Might depend on this afternoon and whether the winner gets Japan, Senegal or Colombia in round 2.

Who would they want to avoid out of that lot? The style of football that Colombia play is fantastic to watch but they won't be good enough to beat the big teams like Belgium or England. Doesn't really matter who they get, Belgium and England have virtually got a bye through to the QF. 

23 minutes ago, Orraloon said:

Who would they want to avoid out of that lot? The style of football that Colombia play is fantastic to watch but they won't be good enough to beat the big teams like Belgium or England. Doesn't really matter who they get, Belgium and England have virtually got a bye through to the QF. 

Bookmarked ;) 

12 minutes ago, Jim Beem said:

No issue with any of the English ripping the piss out the Germans. Even those in the media. That said, Jonathon Pearce brazenly shooting his load live on TV was overstepping the mark

To be fair Jonathon Pearce commentates on Scotland games in the same manner, like a wee lassie at a one direction concert

6 hours ago, sbcmfc said:

Really?

I’m sure this has been discussed elsewhere on the forum, but I don’t get that.

You will once you truly understand Plato's Allegory of the Cave.

Anyway, the point is about false, inaccurate. and misleading labels.

'Honourable' Member...

56 minutes ago, Scotty CTA said:

You will once you truly understand Plato's Allegory of the Cave.

Anyway, the point is about false, inaccurate. and misleading labels.

'Honourable' Member...

Any chance you could take this to another thread please?

According to a Belgian journalist on 5live there, Martinez has made it clear to his squad that he doesn't want to top this group, which is utter madness. Colombia would knock both Belgium and England out where as if you finish top you play Japan and i think England and Belgium would put a few past them. Add to the fact that no one has really been amazing in this tournament so far apart from Croatia and this whole what side of the draw argument becomes irrelevant, everyone is there for the taking.