The all new Irn Bru - Page 5 - Anything Goes - Other topics not covered elsewhere - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

The all new Irn Bru

24 minutes ago, Orraloon said:

I think the question we should be asking as a society is "Why do we feel the need to continually pump bags and bags this sweet sugary shyte into our system day after day after day?" IMO, it doesn't even taste very good but I'm obviously in a minority on that one.

I think there are two main answers to that question. 

1. Parents get their kids hooked on it like junkies, from a very early age, by pumping this shyte into their poor wee bodies before they are old enough to be able to make the choice for themselves. Children are effectively being poisoned by their own parents. Most parents know fine well that sugar is not good for them but they continue feed it to their kids by the bucket load.
  2. Loads of companies make mega bucks from this shyte.

As you say our bodies don't actually need sugars at all and the amount we get from eating fruit and vegetables won't do us any harm.  Just stop eating and drinking added sugar folks. You don't need it and it will end up killing loads of you.

Artificial sweeteners is a different massive mine field to get your head around. It's important to realise that there are a whole load of different chemicals involved here. I think there are currently about six chemicals that make up the majority of the market. There are many other minor players as well. Each one is very different chemically and will have very different effects on the body. The one I know most about is Sucralose. If I had to choose any of them (which I don't) this is the one I would choose to use. It is made by processing sucrose. The sucrose undergoes a chemical process which modifies the chemistry and the structure of the molecule. Of all the main sweeteners, it's the closest thing to actual sugar that you will find. It's main benefits are that it passes through the body un-metabolised and it is about 600 times sweeter than sucrose so in theory you should only need about one 600th of the amount to get the same sweetness kick.

As with all sweeteners though, the sweetness can "trick" the body into expecting to get a heavy dose of sugar into the stomach very soon, and your endocrine system kicks into action. When the expected sugar fix doesn't arrive the endocrine system goes "WTF happened there?". This can lead to problems later on when your body gets a dose of real sugar and the endocrine system goes "away tae fuk, you're no fooling me with that one again". A load of research is going on in this field at the moment. But a lot of that research is being sponsored by ......you guessed it...... BIG SUGAR.

IMO sugar abuse is going to be a far bigger problem than drug abuse. 

The problem with artificial sweeteners is they taste shite. 

Moderation is the key as it is in most things that are unhealthy. But I do recognise the addictive problem. 

51 minutes ago, Orraloon said:

I think the question we should be asking as a society is "Why do we feel the need to continually pump bags and bags this sweet sugary shyte into our system day after day after day?" IMO, it doesn't even taste very good but I'm obviously in a minority on that one.

1. Parents get their kids hooked on it like junkies, from a very early age, by pumping this shyte into their poor wee bodies before they are old enough to be able to make the choice for themselves. Children are effectively being poisoned by their own parents. Most parents know fine well that sugar is not good for them but they continue feed it to their kids by the bucket load.

As you say our bodies don't actually need sugars at all and the amount we get from eating fruit and vegetables won't do us any harm.  Just stop eating and drinking added sugar folks. You don't need it and it will end up killing loads of you.

Artificial sweeteners is a different massive mine field to get your head around. It's important to realise that there are a whole load of different chemicals involved here. I think there are currently about six chemicals that make up the majority of the market. There are many other minor players as well. Each one is very different chemically and will have very different effects on the body. The one I know most about is Sucralose. If I had to choose any of them (which I don't) this is the one I would choose to use. It is made by processing sucrose. The sucrose undergoes a chemical process which modifies the chemistry and the structure of the molecule. Of all the main sweeteners, it's the closest thing to actual sugar that you will find. It's main benefits are that it passes through the body un-metabolised and it is about 600 times sweeter than sucrose so in theory you should only need about one 600th of the amount to get the same sweetness kick.

As with all sweeteners though, the sweetness can "trick" the body into expecting to get a heavy dose of sugar into the stomach very soon, and your endocrine system kicks into action. When the expected sugar fix doesn't arrive the endocrine system goes "WTF happened there?". This can lead to problems later on when your body gets a dose of real sugar and the endocrine system goes "away tae fuk, you're no fooling me with that one again". A load of research is going on in this field at the moment. But a lot of that research is being sponsored by ......you guessed it...... BIG SUGAR.

Interesting.

What are your thoughts on aspartame? I drink roughly a bottle of diluting juice every couple of weeks which uses it as the sweetener. I've been told it's seriously bad for me.

13 minutes ago, Dave78 said:

Interesting.

What are your thoughts on aspartame? I drink roughly a bottle of diluting juice every couple of weeks which uses it as the sweetener. I've been told it's seriously bad for me.

My first question would be "why drink it at all?". For all the nutritional value you get out of that sort of stuff you would be as well drinking tap water. 

You're probably going to tell me that you think it tastes good. :barf:

There have been some reports that it may cause cancer but as far as I am aware there have been no reliable studies which back that up. But that doesn't mean that it isn't carcinogenic.

Stick to real ale, red wine, whisky and tap water. Virtually no sugar at all.

7 minutes ago, Orraloon said:

My first question would be "why drink it at all?". For all the nutritional value you get out of that sort of stuff you would be as well drinking tap water. 

You're probably going to tell me that you think it tastes good. :barf:

But...but... it does! :lol:

Or better than tap water anyway.

7 minutes ago, Orraloon said:

There have been some reports that it may cause cancer but as far as I am aware there have been no reliable studies which back that up. But that doesn't mean that it isn't carcinogenic.

Stick to real ale, red wine, whisky and tap water. Virtually no sugar at all.

Cheers!

<Raises glass of 'Summer Fruits' juice laced with aspartame to you>

19 minutes ago, Dave78 said:

But...but... it does! :lol:

Or better than tap water anyway.

Cheers!

<Raises glass of 'Summer Fruits' juice laced with aspartame to you>

Your so called "Summer Fruits" flavour has probably never been any closer to a piece of fruit than the inside of a chemical reactor. :lol:

Did you eat pear drops when you were a wean? Never seen a pear in their lives. That was butyl acetate you were eating.

Your so called "Summer Fruits" flavour has probably never been any closer to a piece of fruit than the inside of a chemical reactor. :lol:

Well aware of that :spin:

Did you eat pear drops when you were a wean? Never seen a pear in their lives. That was butyl acetate you were eating.

Nah... My kids were at a birthday party on Friday though and came home with a 'Double Dip'. Brought back memories!

3 hours ago, Orraloon said:

3. We've also evolved to like sugar. Maybe you'd like to explain that?

14 hours ago, Eisegerwind said:

3. We've also evolved to like sugar. Maybe you'd like to explain that?

Getting hooked on sugar is nothing to do with evolution. The big problem is that our bodies haven't evolved to cope with us consuming these relatively vast quantities.

1 hour ago, ParisInAKilt said:

Have we?

Yes.

"Sugar is actually quite healthy when consumed in moderate amounts and in its natural form. The main natural source of sugar is fruit. In prehistoric times, vegetables were the most abundant foods and fruits were scarce in comparison. However, vegetables carry little energy compared to fruits. Therefore, the pre-human primates who consumed the most calories were the ones best able to stave off starvation and pass on their genes. "

16 minutes ago, Eisegerwind said:

Yes.

"Sugar is actually quite healthy when consumed in moderate amounts and in its natural form. The main natural source of sugar is fruit. In prehistoric times, vegetables were the most abundant foods and fruits were scarce in comparison. However, vegetables carry little energy compared to fruits. Therefore, the pre-human primates who consumed the most calories were the ones best able to stave off starvation and pass on their genes. "

So different from the added shite.

You did this in the other thread as well. 

10 minutes ago, ParisInAKilt said:

So different from the added shite.

You did this in the other thread as well. 

Not unless the sugars in fruit are different to the sugars in added shite. They're not by the way.

I know. It's a subject that interests me. When people start to label sugar as poison and accuse parents of poisoning their children while ignoring or denying the evolutionary drive for sugar (the same drive that big sugar companies exploit) then it's worth discussing.

Edited by Eisegerwind

8 minutes ago, Eisegerwind said:

Not unless the sugars in fruit are different to the sugars in added shite. They're not by the way.

I know. It's a subject that interests me. When people start to label sugar as poison and accuse parents of poisoning their children while ignoring or denying the evolutionary drive for sugar (the same drive that big sugar companies exploit) then it's worth discussing.

Aye but does a can of coke affect the body differently to a banana? 

Sugar wise, 3 bananas have the same amount of sugar as a can of coke. Obviously bananas have lots of other good stuff in them. According to this 'expert' the effect is the same "

As I dug deeper into his theories, there was more acid indigestion.

If you're the sort that loves to work out or adores marathons, bananas are especially bad.

"What are the most common foods I see available on the marathon course?" he asks.

"Bananas, oranges, candy, and Gatorade," he answers.

He describes them as "all bad."

Actually, he describes them as "ALL BAD."

Why is this? "Because it's sugar. So when exercising, again, ALWAYS avoid sugar," he says.

• 4 months later...
27 minutes ago, Toepoke said:

Cannae wait to gie it a bash. Will need a bottle in reserve for upcoming festive hangovers :ok:

Somebody i know works in a shop they sold out folk coming in to buy crates of the stuff, it's £2 a bottle i was told.

31 minutes ago, phart said:

Somebody i know works in a shop they sold out folk coming in to buy crates of the stuff, it's £2 a bottle i was told.

Would happily treat myself to the authentic stuff at that price. 

Can't believe it will only be a limited run given how crazy folk have gone for Irn Bru 1901!