Question Time Tonight - Page 115 - Anything Goes - Other topics not covered elsewhere - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

Question Time Tonight

54 minutes ago, Alibi said:

QT last night was a disgrace.  That audience is as representative of Scottish opinion as a Therangers AGM.  The woman who selects the audience has links to right wing extremism, which explains a lot.  Last night was blatant propaganda, aided and abetted by the BBC.  The same old faces, UKIP/Tory/OO, put centre stage.  And where did they dredge up a Nigel in Motherwell? Before he opened his mouth you knew it was going to be SNP bad.  Well fuck them, enough is enough.  time to recognise that despite the often excellent output the BBC comes up with on non-political matters, it is at the end of the day a propaganda channel for the establishment.  the SNP should stop being so meek and mild and call this shite out for what it is.  And don't ever let the likes of hyslop near QT again - she was hopeless.  Mhairi Black would have taken no shit there.

I seen what you did there kid.  Managing to bring Rangers in to last nights edition of Question Time.  Subliminal.

Someone earlier mentioned the SNP should perhaps pull out of this dreadfull show, the BBC is publicly funded and SHOULD be impartial !! - it's now beyond a joke (they really are a bunch of CUNTS), also can't understand the fear / cowardice of some self loathing Scots

24 minutes ago, glasgow jock said:

Someone earlier mentioned the SNP should perhaps pull out of this dreadfull show, the BBC is publicly funded and SHOULD be impartial !! - it's now beyond a joke (they really are a bunch of CUNTS), also can't understand the fear / cowardice of some self loathing Scots

Precisely. Do they not stop for a moment to think what they are saying or arguing for.

They are effectively on national television going berserk at Scots who want better for themselves. They are arguing the toss that their country (Scotland) is an effectual, useless place with nothing of note and they are begging to be kept by their English masters. Unbelievable. If they really hate their country that much and have such a low opinion of it what are they doing staying here and moaning?

37 minutes ago, Caledonian Craig said:

Precisely. Do they not stop for a moment to think what they are saying or arguing for.

They are effectively on national television going berserk at Scots who want better for themselves. They are arguing the toss that their country (Scotland) is an effectual, useless place with nothing of note and they are begging to be kept by their English masters. Unbelievable. If they really hate their country that much and have such a low opinion of it what are they doing staying here and moaning?

What they're arguing for is perfectly rational and logical once you realise their country is called the 'United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland', of which Scotland is a mere region.

3 minutes ago, Dave78 said:

What they're arguing for is perfectly rational and logical once you realise their country is called the 'United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland', of which Scotland is a mere region.

Granted.

They can still have that country they love once Scotland is independent if they move to England, Wales or Northern Ireland and that way all of Scotland can still have what it wants.

10 minutes ago, Mark frae Crieff said:

Such a pity none of the panelists opened their response with"Ah Billy so good to see you again" 

That's actually a good point.  You would think that the SNP if they were smart would be looking at who was in the audience for known plants and would then spot someone like this and tip off their panelist.

I follow Pete Wishart on twitter and last night as soon as Billy Mitchell appeared, he commented that hasn't this guy been on before and isn't there some sort of issue with him.   He recognised him straight away.

All political parties will to one extent or other get their own plants in to the audience.   The girl last night who said she was an EU citizen - had a very Scottish accent, but most likely she moved here when she was young - gave the game away as she talked about "passing resolutions at SNP conference".   You could also spot some obvious Labour plants as well - the guy who went on about cuts to North Lanarkshire council's budget was probably briefed directly by Richard Leonard.  

There's a great piece of footage from a TV debate from the 1990s. I'm not sure it was Question Time itself but it was hosted - by I think Kirsty Wark - and is from some sort public hall.  Maybe it was in the run up to the 1997 Devolution Referendum.  Anyway, George Robertson was on the panel and a very young Nicola Sturgeon got up from the audience and tore right in to him.

They all do it and I'm sure that the parties all know how to game the selection to make sure they get people in the audience.  I don't have a big problem with that.

However, when you get someone like this guy who is obviously invited by the producers, is seated up front and centre - a girl who was in the audience last night said he was escorted to a reserved seat in the front row - and the presenter has obviously been directed to go to him, then that is a big problem.   

They know who this guy is, they know what his views are and lets be honest while UKIP and the OO are both perfectly legal organisations, they do represent some fairly extreme views that I would say the vast majority of the population don't share.   I've seen some of his comments of social media today and they are borderline actionable as hate speech - and maybe now that might get taken up.

I'd have less problem if they said "Let's got to Billy Mitchell of UKIP and the Livi True Blues flute band" rather than, "you sir, ordinary bloke in the red jacket".  At least then the viewers would be able to take his comments in context.

12 minutes ago, mariokempes56 said:

Another fukking "scottish" arsehole that supports englan. What a dik

Seriously - how are these kunts brought up so that its preferable to support your biggest rivals over your own country?

(obviously a fanny - Bud ? montae)

54 minutes ago, aaid said:

There's a great piece of footage from a TV debate from the 1990s. I'm not sure it was Question Time itself but it was hosted - by I think Kirsty Wark - and is from some sort public hall.  Maybe it was in the run up to the 1997 Devolution Referendum.  Anyway, George Robertson was on the panel and a very young Nicola Sturgeon got up from the audience and tore right in to him.

If it's bad enough BBC inviting him on, again, inviting him to speak, again, and giving him a full uninterrupted rant without correcting him (why didn't Bruce say, haud on, what about the White Paper, Billy?)... they compound it by then quoting their guy on their official twitter thread (again without qualification or corrections  - in effect endorsing his analysis) which then goes round the world as a factual record of the 'debate' that is picked up by other media. Its almost as if they invited him on precisely to get such a quote. Utterly deliberate.  

It's surely mostly numpties and party helpers that apply for these so i'm not massively surprised.

would be cool to get a better cross section.  maybe like a jury duty type thing.  will never happen, you would get some uncouth real people then!

i would say when you're in a yes voting area and its massively weighted the other way that is a huge issue.

I don't watch the programme so not sure how bad it was.

Edited by PapofGlencoe

Here he is on 17/09/2014 at the BBC Independence referendum special from Kelvingrove

Not only in the audience again but given another platform to lie about Union Jacks being burned in George Square

Dy5L7TpX4AMWbCi.jpg

4 minutes ago, Ally Bongo said:

Here he is on 17/09/2014 at the BBC Independence referendum special from Kelvingrove

Not only in the audience again but given another platform to lie about Union Jacks being burned in George Square

Dy5L7TpX4AMWbCi.jpg

Aye mind him from that. Came out with some bile about why should Salmond and Sturgeon decide our childrens' future when they don't have kids of their own...

3 hours ago, Caledonian Craig said:

Granted.

They can still have that country they love once Scotland is independent if they move to England, Wales or Northern Ireland and that way all of Scotland can still have what it wants.

Nobody will have to move, but what gets me about these Alans who believe their British identity will be diminished by Scottish indy is their hypocritical lack of respect for any opposing view. 'Scottish independence would destroy my British identity, but 300 years of union with England hasn't diminished anyone's Scottish identity, oh no. Now shut up and eat your cereal'.