Question Time Tonight - Page 114 - Anything Goes - Other topics not covered elsewhere - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

Question Time Tonight

The BBC have stage managed that beautifully, time for a new approach of uncooperation. The government of this country being treated like some sort of insurgency. Let's behave like one then, stop playing fair and hit where it fuckin hurts!

Quite few people on twitter have made the point that given that unbelievable QT audience tonight you'd think Motherwell was a strongly loyalist town that wants to leave the EU and is a no-go area for the SNP. When in actual fact it voted for Scottish independence, to remain in the EU and it's Holyrood and Westminster constituency representatives are all SNP.

8 minutes ago, weekevie04 said:

Honestly folks.

Stop bothering with it. Its absolute shite.

The Dundee one a few years back - Yes city - etc somehow had No deal pish getting cheered.

Motherwell voted Yes, SNP MP/MPs. Although it is awfae close to Larkhall, Airdrie, and Belfast.

Larkhall also has an SNP MP and MSP for the record ........

The SNP strategists are fucking hopeless at the moment

It should have been obvious that an attack was going to come and Fiona Hyslop should never have been anywhere near that show

Should have had Mhairi Black or Tommy Sheppard on

6 minutes ago, Ally Bongo said:

It should have been obvious that an attack was going to come and Fiona Hyslop should never have been anywhere near that show

I'd agree with that.

I like Swinney too, but he's never geared for these programs yet the SNP seem to put him up regularly. Strangely, the most animated I ever seen him was a QT from of course fucking Selkirk or somewhere the week after the No vote in 2014.

Mhairi, Tommy, Joanna Cherry would have been excellent choices.

I really hope - even if May's deal gets through - that the SNP don't shite out of a second referendum. It's time for us to go. Leaving the EU is a material change.

Well I am just catching up. Wow halfway through, almost every question is by angry unionists. Are they scared of something?

Seems to me there is no point in having a programme that goes to different towns round the country, if the audience is going to be artificially contrived to represent national proportions of opinion. 

Also it seems the BBC QT twitter chooses to officially pump out the quotes from the guy saying the SNP government had no plan, which is blatantly false!

6 minutes ago, exile said:

Well I am just catching up. Wow halfway through, almost every question is by angry unionists. Are they scared of something?

Watching it earlier, I kept expecting some fat inbred cunt in the audience to jump up with arm outstretched shouting "Nae surrender ya feenyin bastird".

1 hour ago, ErsatzThistle said:

Watching it earlier, I kept expecting some fat inbred cunt in the audience to jump up with arm outstretched shouting "Nae surrender ya feenyin bastird".

Couldnae mate, I'm offshore 👅

Posts like this are posted all over social media convincing people to vote YES...don't really hide your intolerance very well, do you?

Edited by The White Ceelo

43 minutes ago, The White Ceelo said:

Couldnae mate, I'm offshore 👅

Posts like this are posted all over social media convincing people to vote YES...don't really hide your intolerance very well, do you?

I make no apology for saying that I want "orange culture" totally destroyed :ok:

2 hours ago, ErsatzThistle said:

I make no apology for saying that I want "orange culture" totally destroyed :ok:

Fair play, any particular reason?...any other elements of society not to your liking? What if they dont like your culture? Is it ok for them to "destroy" it?

Do you feel threatened or was it the way you were raised..maybe a twirling band stick hit you on the head? OR are you jealous?

1 minute ago, The White Ceelo said:

Fair play...any other elements of society not to your liking? 

Just fancy dress marching organisations that promote

a) militant anti-Catholicism

b) anti-Irish sentiment

c) rampant homophobia

d) 19th century "values"

e) the celebration of a king who was a paedophile & responsible for a massacre of Scots

What exactly is good about any of the above ?

Come on try and talk me round, sell it to me. 

In the meantime I want it destroyed completely, ground into dust. 

4 minutes ago, ErsatzThistle said:

Just fancy dress marching organisations that promote

a) militant anti-Catholicism

b) anti-Irish sentiment

c) rampant homophobia

d) 19th century "values"

e) the celebration of a king who was a paedophile & responsible for a massacre of Scots

What exactly is good about any of the above ?

Come on try and talk me round, sell it to me. 

In the meantime I want it destroyed completely, ground into dust. 

Not standing up for them, but really, whats the alternative? ps, nothing good about the above

8 hours ago, Ally Bongo said:

Hyslop looked as if she didn't want to be there.  She was, or was made to look, flat footed. As said before it's about appearances. Hyslop's answers were not all that bad but seemed to be on the back foot rather than  taking the offensive. Why not put in a  local Lanarkshire MSP or MP who could be a bit more streetwise. And then put the best debaters on when on away territory. 

Also for some reason the unionists in the audience seemed mostly sullen and angry - not once saying anything positive about the benefits of being in the UK, just resentful about a party wanting a referendum it won a mandate for. I wonder why that is. I mean, why the anger. 

In the old days, in normal elections over decades, Labour and Tory supporters didn't resent the other side's cause existing - putting the socialist/conservative case. Even the big mouthy guy did not say 'you want a referendum? bring it on!'.

It's as if the best or last tactic to avoid independence is to stop people airing deciding for themselves. 

And the best way for a TV programme to achieve that is to put in a succession of voices arguing against the issue being put to the people. 

9 hours ago, weekevie04 said:

Mhairi, Tommy, Joanna Cherry would have been excellent choices.

As much as I've a huge amount of time for Joanna Cherry, I don't think a posh Edinburgh QC would've been the right choice last night , especially not a Lesbian with Irish Catholic roots whose political heroine is Constance Markiewicz.  Not that I've a problem with any of that but I doubt Billy Mitchell and his mates would have been too happy.

Surprised no ones mentioned Christia McKelvie who's a local MSP - the MSP who represents Larkhall in fact - is a minister in the Scottish Government and importantly doesn't take any shit either.

On the subject of Billy Mitchell from the Livi True Blues flute band who seems to have a season ticket for Question Time, something I noticed on Twitter this morning.  The young guy who went on a "when is Nicola Sturgeon going to shut up" rant looks very like him, could possibly be his son. 

1 minute ago, aaid said:

On the subject of Billy Mitchell from the Livi True Blues flute band who seems to have a season ticket for Question Time, something I noticed on Twitter this morning.  The young guy who went on a "when is Nicola Sturgeon going to shut up" rant looks very like him, could possibly be his son. 

The highly laughable thing about that comment from him was that she has been tight-lipped on independence talk. In fact many Scots who want a referendum now have been criticising her for her silence. He evidently is just an SNP hater who wanted rant time.

QT last night was a disgrace.  That audience is as representative of Scottish opinion as a Therangers AGM.  The woman who selects the audience has links to right wing extremism, which explains a lot.  Last night was blatant propaganda, aided and abetted by the BBC.  The same old faces, UKIP/Tory/OO, put centre stage.  And where did they dredge up a Nigel in Motherwell? Before he opened his mouth you knew it was going to be SNP bad.  Well fuck them, enough is enough.  time to recognise that despite the often excellent output the BBC comes up with on non-political matters, it is at the end of the day a propaganda channel for the establishment.  the SNP should stop being so meek and mild and call this shite out for what it is.  And don't ever let the likes of hyslop near QT again - she was hopeless.  Mhairi Black would have taken no shit there.