The Brexit Thread - Page 128 - Anything Goes - Other topics not covered elsewhere - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

The Brexit Thread

21 minutes ago, Ally Bongo said:

Next you'll be telling us you have had enough of experts ...

If we are not in the EU and relying on a trade deal with the USA (a better deal than we have now) then what happens if the USA state no access to our NHS then no deal ?

Are you relying on Trump or any US negotiator to generously allow that concession - remembering we were still paying them for World War II up until 2006  ?

Was that not Woody Johnson - owner of the NY Jets and ambassador to the UK ?

But yes - he confirmed it 

Depends on the expert and their political involvement I suppose.

No fan of trade deals 

18 hours ago, thplinth said:

Hey man, that is quite a statement. Scottish and Party are non political words. National is the politics that makes it an identifiable party.

Having the word national in the title makes it easy for their rivals and the MSM to call them nationalists. How many times do we hear the SNP being called the Scottish Nationalist Party? Then we just need some other folk to start calling them socialists and we a are one step away from pictures of big swastikas on the front pages of national newspapers.

7 hours ago, Caledonian Craig said:

I wonder how Brexiteers feel now at the growing prospect of trading with Trump. The privatisation of the NHS is on the agenda whilst chlorinated chicken will be on the menu and he also has his eyes on the trade name of whisky. And they felt the EU were stifling them? You ain't seen nothing yet.

I think this whole "chlorinated chicken" stuff has been over egged. The chicken isn't actually chlorinated. To be chlorinated it would need to undergo a chemical reaction with chlorine or an active chlorine containing compound. These chickens are simply washed with a dilute solution of chlorine peroxide to help to kill off some of the bacteria that always lurk around chickens. If you ever go to a swimming pool you will come out every bit as "chlorinated" as any USA chicken. I wouldn't have any qualms about eating any of this so called "chlorinated" chicken.

29 minutes ago, Orraloon said:

Having the word national in the title makes it easy for their rivals and the MSM to call them nationalists. How many times do we hear the SNP being called the Scottish Nationalist Party? Then we just need some other folk to start calling them socialists and we a are one step away from pictures of big swastikas on the front pages of national newspapers.

Nah, that'll never happen.

large_12104.jpg

12 minutes ago, Orraloon said:

I think this whole "chlorinated chicken" stuff has been over egged. The chicken isn't actually chlorinated. To be chlorinated it would need to undergo a chemical reaction with chlorine or an active chlorine containing compound. These chickens are simply washed with a dilute solution of chlorine peroxide to help to kill off some of the bacteria that always lurk around chickens. If you ever go to a swimming pool you will come out every bit as "chlorinated" as any USA chicken. I wouldn't have any qualms about eating any of this so called "chlorinated" chicken.

https://www.sustainweb.org/news/feb18_US_foodpoisoning/

Wee Ginger Dug uses this to write his piece today.

38 minutes ago, Orraloon said:

Well the US politician on the Andrew Marr Show did or said nothing to suggest it was 'over-egged'. What you say may be so but why are they doing it at all? It isn't done in Europe. And then there is other factors such as genetically modified food stuff and supposed mistreatment of farm products.

The issue with chlorine washed chicken is not so much that the process of chlorine washing a disinfectant itself is so harmful, it's that potentially harmful practices in the processing of the chicken means that it has to be disinfected.   The US disputes that obviously but the EU feel that it lowers food standards. 

Aye, and what does your skin and hair look and and smell like after being in a swimming pool 🙂 

You dont have much choice with swimming pools but if I had the choice of eating  chlorinated  or non chlorinated   chicken I know which one I would want. 

Would the origin of the chicken be clearly marked and would non chlorinated chicken still remain at a price families on a low income could afford? I can see the price of this going up. 

58 minutes ago, aaid said:

The issue with chlorine washed chicken is not so much that the process of chlorine washing a disinfectant itself is so harmful, it's that potentially harmful practices in the processing of the chicken means that it has to be disinfected.   The US disputes that obviously but the EU feel that it lowers food standards. 

Aye, you're right it's far more complicated than just "chlorinated chicken". The folk who just repeat the phrase "chlorinated chicken" over and over again aren't adding anything to the debate. The washing process itself (if done properly ) is unlikely to cause harm to humans. But the way folk go on about it, leads people to think that it is this "chlorination" process which actually makes the chicken toxic. It's just bad information.

27 minutes ago, TDYER63 said:

Aye, and what does your skin and hair look and and smell like after being in a swimming pool 🙂 

Nae idea. I never go near any of them places. They are full of pish and shit, you know? A wee dose of "chlorine" is the least of your worries in places like that.

30 minutes ago, TDYER63 said:

You dont have much choice with swimming pools but if I had the choice of eating  chlorinated  or non chlorinated   chicken I know which one I would want. 

If I was in the USA and was offered a choice of washed or unwashed chicken I know which one I would want. ;)

I hate to be the bearer of bad news but the NHS is a quite poor health service. Everyone thinks it is the best for the reason it is mostly free. What do you want though? The correct diagnosis or the free diagnosis. So many stories of their negligence... It would make an interesting thread if folk were asked to tell their own stories of neglect and bad practice. Recently a friend of the family went on holiday to the US and had a fall... went to the local US hospital and the doctor looking at her as an aside told her she had Crohns disease I think it was But it may have been something similar... she had been suffering from the symptoms for 20 years chronically and her NHS GP had just completely missed it. 20 Mins in a US hospital and it was indentified as an aside... IMHO the NHS is rather shit value for the money. Her GP did apologize to her though so that is ok...

5 minutes ago, thplinth said:

I hate to be the bearer of bad news but the NHS is a quite poor health service. Everyone thinks it is the best for the reason it is mostly free. What do you want though? The correct diagnosis or the free diagnosis. So many stories of their negligence... It would make an interesting thread if folk were asked to tell their own stories of neglect and bad practice. Recently a friend of the family went on holiday to the US and had a fall... went to the local US hospital and the doctor looking at her as an aside told her she had Crohns disease I think it was But it may have been something similar... she had been suffering from the symptoms for 20 years chronically and her NHS GP had just completely missed it. 20 Mins in a US hospital and it was indentified as an aside... IMHO the NHS is rather shit value for the money. Her GP did apologize to her though so that is ok...

It really isn't.

In Ireland there's a publicly funded health system. In fact Ireland spends as much as the UK on health per capita. Yet 43% of Irish people have private health insurance (myself included, at a cost of 3840 euros per year for a family of 4) because the public system is so dysfunctional.

My missus is an nurse with experience of both UK and Irish systems, and she'll tell you herself the NHS is by far more effective than the Irish public/private hybrid solution.

21 minutes ago, thplinth said:

Sorry, but thats just nonsense.

Its rated in the top 10 pretty much every year in the world rankings.

Quick search shows that 19% percent of American adults have experienced medical, medication, or lab errors or delays in past two years, Sweden was next at 17%, the NHS was down the list at 11%

So we can having millions bankrupt themselves for a worse service, no thanks.

Edited by kumnio

40 minutes ago, Orraloon said:

Nae idea. I never go near any of them places. They are full of pish and shit, you know? A wee dose of "chlorine" is the least of your worries in places like that.

I would rather drink a pool of pish than try and untangle my demented yellow hair after 20 mins in chlorine infested swimming baths 🙂

42 minutes ago, thplinth said:

If this is a survey, then a private clinic in the US failed to diagnose that I had a broken leg.   Glad I got home a few days later to get it fixed.

58 minutes ago, Orraloon said:

Aye, you're right it's far more complicated than just "chlorinated chicken". The folk who just repeat the phrase "chlorinated chicken" over and over again aren't adding anything to the debate. The washing process itself (if done properly ) is unlikely to cause harm to humans. But the way folk go on about it, leads people to think that it is this "chlorination" process which actually makes the chicken toxic. It's just bad information.

I think it's just a pretty good metaphor for different food standards between the EU and the USA as it sounds like something that's pretty unpleasant that you wouldn't want to eat.

I'm not a food scientist so don't know enough about the science but I do know that the EU is heavily regulated when it comes to food. Of course you get the odd scandal like horse meat in Birds Eye lasagne or whatever, which just proves why the regulation is necessary. 

I wouldn't have a problem eating a burger if I visited the US but I'd feel less comfortable about eating hormone injected beef every week for years and years. 

It's the ability to specialise that helps the US for those that can afford it.

My mate had his life saved on a tumour removal done in the US after the NHS said it was inoperable and he was just going to die.

I've had nothing but good service and i use it regularly with a 91 year old Granny who had a bad run of luck health-wise a few years back for a while. They've twice managed to bring a close family member back from the brink for me.