The Brexit Thread - Page 75 - Anything Goes - Other topics not covered elsewhere - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

The Brexit Thread

I think that is technically correct but in practice I don't think that EU could enforce it. It would be like saying that, once a country had invoked article 50 then withdrew it, they would be tied into EU membership for ever and ever. 

That’s Slik 🙂

We are on the final home straight, the cliff edge (or sunlit upland, if you prefer) is clearly visible right in front of us, the bus headed straight for it but we have just found a brake that could halt us in time. Meanwhile different people frantically wrestling with the steering wheel as we still need to take some positive action. 

But what happens if no further decisions taken? 

3 minutes ago, exile said:

We are on the final home straight, the cliff edge (or sunlit upland, if you prefer) is clearly visible right in front of us, the bus headed straight for it but we have just found a brake that could halt us in time. Meanwhile different people frantically wrestling with the steering wheel as we still need to take some positive action. 

But what happens if no further decisions taken? 

If no further action is taken, we leave on 29th March with no deal. That process is already underway. It can easily be delayed or stopped, but somebody needs to do something to stop it.

Thanks. Still catching up. So they voted to stop no deal but legally, no deal is still what is ahead of us unless we do something else.

I hear Mundell abstained, in defiance of the Tory whip. But he hasn't resigned or been sacked.  

Mundell is a fucking spineless money grabbing self serving wankstain.

This is what he said.....

Speaking to the BBC, the Scottish Secretary David Mundell says: "The Cabinet should now act on the will of the House - that is to deliver our exit from the EU with a deal."

"The prime minster has my full support in that," he adds.

When asked if he should be sacked for not voting with the government, Mr Mundell said: "If you vote against the government, as some ministers did, you resign and accept responsibility for doing that.

"I did not vote against the government."

What does that wee weasel believe in?   He's defied his boss and the interests of Scotland.   Not noted for being a principled brexiteer either is he?   My conclusion is that he's a chancer and looking to the next boss.

So looks as if Theresa May is going to bring back her deal yet again - talk about not taking no for an answer!

I don't know why some Tories can't abandon May and form a consensus across the House  and argue for a deal involving a single market or customs union, a deal that Parliament could actually support. Instead they let May pretend that it's only her deal or no deal. 

Mr Blackford now turns to the Labour Party, particularly their decision not to support today's amendment calling for a second referendum.

"A shiver has run along the front bench of the Labour Party looking for a spine to crawl up - and it hasn’t been able to find one," he says.

Well played. ( Right thread this time).

1 hour ago, ParisInAKilt said:

Theresa May is playing a blinder, she’ll be well rewarded after all of this with a very well paying corporate gig. 

She doesn't need one.  Her husband is loaded as it is, hedge fund manager.

In all the mad Brexity things that have happened in recent weeks, this has to be the most Brexity.

Steven Barclay, the Brexit minister, closed yesterday's debate on extending Article 50, made a passionate case for why that should happen, commended the motion to the house and then promptly voted against it!

And he's still Brexit minister this morning.

This stuff is beyond parody.

May now resorting to the good old fashioned tried and tested method of unashamed bribery to try and get her rotten deal through.

The magic money tree seems to have sprouted a spare couple of £bn to once again buy the bigots across the Irish Sea who will doubtless find it within themselves to now support a deal which just days ago they publicly stated they couldn’t possibly vote for on the grounds that it was terribly bad for Northern Ireland. Who needs principles eh?

There will however be something quite fitting about bribery and corruption, which was largely responsible for giving birth to the Union in the first place, being the very thing that finally kills it. And not a day too soon.

Edited by DaveyDenoon

Bercow's just hit the nuclear button and has said that the government cannot bring back the meaningful vote unless it's substantially different.

Government is well and truly fucked by the look of things. 

22 minutes ago, aaid said:

Bercow's just hit the nuclear button and has said that the government cannot bring back the meaningful vote unless it's substantially different.

Government is well and truly fucked by the look of things. 

All it does really is prevent the government from trying to gradually edge this same deal over the line - which was never looking likely in any case. 

In all likelihood this removes the option of a short-term extension. Now it probably has to be no deal or a long-term extension (if EU agree and we change legislation accordingly in time?). 

On the other hand you could say that this now possibly helps her negotiating position with EU as the UK parliament effectively won't let her even put the current deal up (again) for approval. Still makes it difficult to see how the EU would blink. Long-term extension far more likely - opening possibilities of a new Tory leader, indicative votes, PV, or GE.  

1 minute ago, AlfieMoon said:

All it does really is prevent the government from trying to gradually edge this same deal over the line - which was never looking likely in any case. 

In all likelihood this removes the option of a short-term extension. Now it probably has to be no deal or a long-term extension (if EU agree and we change legislation accordingly in time?). 

On the other hand you could say that this now possibly helps her negotiating position with EU as the UK parliament effectively won't let her even put the current deal up (again) for approval. Still makes it difficult to see how the EU would blink. Long-term extension far more likely - opening possibilities of a new Tory leader, indicative votes, PV, or GE.  

Bercow seemed to be saying that the essentially there would have to be some change in "the deal" agreed between the EU27 and UKG.

With that in mind.

On the one hand, the EU27 at the summit this week may think they have to offer something substantial to get the deal through although it's hard to see what they could agree to is that a. would be materially different and b. likely to appease the rabid Brexiteers.

On the other hand, the EU27 may look at it and see that getting a longer extension and an alternative sort of deal that would be more appealing to them might be the way to go.

Who gave this Bercow geezer so much power? This shouldn't be down to him. Just another example of the nonsense Westminster system.

Will the EU just get totally pissed off with this? Leaving the only two options of no deal or revoke article 50?

Who gave this Bercow geezer so much power? This shouldn't be down to him. Just another example of the nonsense Westminster system.

Will the EU just get totally pissed off with this? Leaving the only two options of no deal or revoke article 50?

All speakers have the same power & all Bercow is doing is dealing with precedent going back to 1604.   

What is at the bottom of this is that the current govenment - who are a minority adminstration - have consistently behaved as though they had a majority.   Government's tend not to have to bring the same thing back to Parliament on multiple occasions because they generally have the votes to get things passed on the first go.

18 minutes ago, Orraloon said:

Erskine May sort of.

5 hours ago, Orraloon said:

All those that agree with Orraloon say aye. And the nos ...naw. DIVISION....clear the lobby.