New jerseys? - Page 26 - TA specific - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

New jerseys?

Bzzzz

2 hours ago, The_Dark_Knight said:

Not yet.

If the away shirt is decent then I'll probably buy that one and skip the home top.

I still can't grasp how bad the home shift is. It's like it was designed by a team of five year olds.

I'll probably be the same if I buy a top at all.

Getting very close to too old for a fitba top  - but do like them for running or hiking in.

On 11/5/2019 at 9:53 PM, ElChris04 said:

Here’s 2 edited versions I made with the sleeves. Can you see just how much better they look, either With the all red or With the white and blue to look like the saltire... it’s just a bizarre decision to give us sleeves which I would expect to see on a shitty England kit.

96B45947-E1A7-4FB1-A047-E9FEE1CE3D8C.jpeg

667386EF-37CE-4741-BD74-744271D23ACD.jpeg

@ElChris04 any chance you could do a mock-up with yellow ends to she sleeves instead if the white? I think that would look so much better (especially if the shoulder stripes were also yellow).

Guest ElChris04
46 minutes ago, mrniaboc said:

@ElChris04 any chance you could do a mock-up with yellow ends to she sleeves instead if the white? I think that would look so much better (especially if the shoulder stripes were also yellow).

Haven’t got my MacBook on me to use photoshop but used a quick colour change if this is something you’d like to see.  

9FEC66C8-FA55-4731-B795-C2DAA55806C3.jpeg

1 hour ago, ElChris04 said:

Haven’t got my MacBook on me to use photoshop but used a quick colour change if this is something you’d like to see.  

9FEC66C8-FA55-4731-B795-C2DAA55806C3.jpeg

Close! I was thinking if on the original the white bits were yellow. Might look honking, I'm just not sure. Nice work BTW. 

Edited by mrniaboc

1 hour ago, ErsatzThistle said:

I hate it. :mad:

I want to hear their reason for that feckin awful red and white bit.

What can we expect the away one to look like then ?

We said No.

We are proud Scots but prouder Brits.

That's a shit joke, but the red looks so out of context compared to the rest of it.

Unless the shorts/socks are blue and they wanted some form of red on it ; but it looks so silly. I'll wait and see what Sunday is like in the light/promo etc but not looking great.

Hoping for a bright yellow or something away top ; but nae doubt it'll be a plain white England looking thing.

15 hours ago, weekevie04 said:

I'll probably be the same if I buy a top at all.

Getting very close to too old for a fitba top  - but do like them for running or hiking in.

Same.

Just hope the away top is a LOT better than the home shirt.

I'm not sure you can be too old, though, maybe for a club top not an international one.

57 minutes ago, The_Dark_Knight said:

Same.

Just hope the away top is a LOT better than the home shirt.

I'm not sure you can be too old, though, maybe for a club top not an international one.

Aye, maybe not ; but I definitely am too old for any sort of name/number on the back! My Icelandic pal went to Anfield last week and came back with his surname and number on the back and he's 45! Although he was well oiled and those EPL big grounds are basically Disneyland for football tourists these days.

I've got a Scotland GAA top and wore it a few times went hiking in the summer and got a lot of chats - both Irish and curious locals/tourists about what it was.

3 minutes ago, weekevie04 said:

Aye, maybe not ; but I definitely am too old for any sort of name/number on the back! My Icelandic pal went to Anfield last week and came back with his surname and number on the back and he's 45! Although he was well oiled and those EPL big grounds are basically Disneyland for football tourists these days.

I've got a Scotland GAA top and wore it a few times went hiking in the summer and got a lot of chats - both Irish and curious locals/tourists about what it was.

lol. When I turned 39 last year I got my name and a number on the back... But hey, I still look like I'm in my 20s, so I can get away with it.... I think... :P

Oh really?

I've just had a look. They actually look quite cool. I might skip the upcoming Scotland top and buy the GAA one. Is it the one with the tartan down the sides/hip? Kinda reminds me of the Euro 96 shirt, but inside of having the tartan on the sides, it's on the chest.

2 hours ago, The_Dark_Knight said:

lol. When I turned 39 last year I got my name and a number on the back... But hey, I still look like I'm in my 20s, so I can get away with it.... I think... :P

Oh really?

I've just had a look. They actually look quite cool. I might skip the upcoming Scotland top and buy the GAA one. Is it the one with the tartan down the sides/hip? Kinda reminds me of the Euro 96 shirt, but inside of having the tartan on the sides, it's on the chest.

Haha, at the same time, each to their own. I'm not going to be judging folk by what they wear or if thy have a name on the back etc. Wee bit more respect between humans and each to their own today would probably have us in a bit of a better shape as a species.

Aye, that's the one.

https://www.oneills.com/uk_en/scotland-gaa-jersey.html

Says Albain on the back and has the saltire. The colours are lovely, IMO and that purpley/thistle colour always looks good on a Scotland shirt - I think the lassies netball team had a similar type top at either a WC or Commonwealth Games.

Good material too, and done a fair bit of sweating/hiking/running in it and it's holding up alright.

Anyone above the age of 14 with a name and number on the back of a football top is for the watching. 

Ive specifically told my wife if she even considered getting me an aberdeen top with my name or dad on the back and 40*, it’ll be straight in the bin. 

*When I get there that is, ages yet. 

25 minutes ago, dandydunn said:

Anyone above the age of 14 with a name and number on the back of a football top is for the watching. 

Ive specifically told my wife if she even considered getting me an aberdeen top with my name or dad on the back and 40*, it’ll be straight in the bin. 

*When I get there that is, ages yet. 

I used to work with an absolute tool who would wear one of those sovereign rings that said Dad on it. Needless to say he was a monkey Hun. 😂🙈

1 hour ago, weekevie04 said:

Haha, at the same time, each to their own. I'm not going to be judging folk by what they wear or if thy have a name on the back etc. Wee bit more respect between humans and each to their own today would probably have us in a bit of a better shape as a species.

Aye, that's the one.

https://www.oneills.com/uk_en/scotland-gaa-jersey.html

Says Albain on the back and has the saltire. The colours are lovely, IMO and that purpley/thistle colour always looks good on a Scotland shirt - I think the lassies netball team had a similar type top at either a WC or Commonwealth Games.

Good material too, and done a fair bit of sweating/hiking/running in it and it's holding up alright.

I could not agree with you more there, mate.

It doesn't take much effort to be respectful and treat people how you would like to be treated. That's one lesson that's been lost, especially when people are online, they have the protection of distance, so it gives them the freedom to talk to people in a manner that they would never do to their face. Fake bravery is a thing.

Cool. Thanks for the link, mate. I'll give it a look. I tried eBay but no luck, I'm afraid. I actually don't mind spending good money on a shirt if it's durable and is good quality.

I have a fair few Under Armour compressed shirts, so it'll make a nice change of pace running and lifting whilst wearing something a wee bit different. :)

1 hour ago, The_Dark_Knight said:

I could not agree with you more there, mate.

It doesn't take much effort to be respectful and treat people how you would like to be treated. That's one lesson that's been lost, especially when people are online, they have the protection of distance, so it gives them the freedom to talk to people in a manner that they would never do to their face. Fake bravery is a thing.

Cool. Thanks for the link, mate. I'll give it a look. I tried eBay but no luck, I'm afraid. I actually don't mind spending good money on a shirt if it's durable and is good quality.

I have a fair few Under Armour compressed shirts, so it'll make a nice change of pace running and lifting whilst wearing something a wee bit different. :)

Hahaha was this what you were thinking about when you were calling me an idiot and accusing me of being drunk a lunchtime on a workday the other day? Great sentiment though. 

17 minutes ago, mrniaboc said:

Hahaha was this what you were thinking about when you were calling me an idiot and accusing me of being drunk a lunchtime on a workday the other day? Great sentiment though. 

Is this when you were saying nothing but "I'm done" for six posts in a row or when you were saying that an international team's quality is determined by hairstyle?

Yes. The aforementioned would suggest one too many shandys. I categorically didn't call you a drunk, though.

And as far as calling you an idiot goes. I didn't use that exact word. But yes, someone called us the same person, in front of you, and you claimed they were joking. The people who think that aren't joking. Those people are obsessed with me and paranoid, on a serious scale.

But yes, generally, I treat people with respect, unless they lose my good opinion.

16 minutes ago, The_Dark_Knight said:

Is this when you were saying nothing but "I'm done" for six posts in a row or when you were saying that an international team's quality is determined by hairstyle?

Yes. The aforementioned would suggest one too many shandys. I categorically didn't call you a drunk, though.

And as far as calling you an idiot goes. I didn't use that exact word. But yes, someone called us the same person, in front of you, and you claimed they were joking. The people who think that aren't joking. Those people are obsessed with me and paranoid, on a serious scale.

But yes, generally, I treat people with respect, unless they lose my good opinion.

I'm done. 

On 11/5/2019 at 10:13 PM, The_Dark_Knight said:

Good shout.

Looks like this is one wave of Scotland shirts that I won't be buying.

Goodness knows how bad the away one will be.

Meanwhile, I'm looking for a Euro 96 and France 98 shirt, so if anyone has one available... I'm a medium. ;) 

https://www.prodirectsoccer.com/p/score-draw-retro-scotland-1996-european-championship-shirt-navy-white-mens-replica-shirts-189623/?gclid=CjwKCAiAwZTuBRAYEiwAcr67OYztShTJ-DsDDJGpz4rlG4IQsn5orzLKJ-V4VeldS_eJiLk7dhUTUxoC4D8QAvD_BwE

1 minute ago, mentalist said:

Cool. Thanks for that. :)

I'll bookmark it. Ideally, I'd get one from eBay for peanuts, but if I can't get a medium (I've seen several small and large shirts, but very few mediums) then I'll probably end up biting the bullet and buying it from your link.

9 minutes ago, The_Dark_Knight said:

Cool. Thanks for that. :)

I'll bookmark it. Ideally, I'd get one from eBay for peanuts, but if I can't get a medium (I've seen several small and large shirts, but very few mediums) then I'll probably end up biting the bullet and buying it from your link.

No problem,  the only thing I would say about buying a vintage top is that sizing seems to have gotten bigger over the years. I found an old concert t-shirt from the early 90's that I'd never worn so it definitely hadn't shrunk. I'm between L and XL, the t-shirt was XL and I was close to doing an incredible Hulk impression when I tried it on. Skin tight doesn't begin to cover it 😂

39 minutes ago, mentalist said:

No problem,  the only thing I would say about buying a vintage top is that sizing seems to have gotten bigger over the years. I found an old concert t-shirt from the early 90's that I'd never worn so it definitely hadn't shrunk. I'm between L and XL, the t-shirt was XL and I was close to doing an incredible Hulk impression when I tried it on. Skin tight doesn't begin to cover it 😂

:lol: Duly noted.

I can just about get away with a small, when I want skintight clothes, so I think a medium would be fine, even if the sizes were bigger. Thanks for the head's up, though.

Have you seen the new Scotland top? It's probably the worst Scotland shirt I've ever seen. I've dubbed it "Adidastein's monster", as it looks like it's been stitched together from multiple shirt.

I'm jealous of the Scottish GAA fans as they have a shirt that makes the football shirt look like a dish towel.

3 minutes ago, The_Dark_Knight said:

:lol: Duly noted.

I can just about get away with a small, when I want skintight clothes, so I think a medium would be fine, even if the sizes were bigger. Thanks for the head's up, though.

Have you seen the new Scotland top? It's probably the worst Scotland shirt I've ever seen. I've dubbed it "Adidastein's monster", as it looks like it's been stitched together from multiple shirt.

I'm jealous of the Scottish GAA fans as they have a shirt that makes the football shirt look like a dish towel.

The 2016-17 home shirt was the worst IMO.

In terms of away ones, the 1988-91 grannies dressing down ,1995-96 white with weird lighting strikes all ower the place and the 2014-15 McDonalds "want fries with that ?" shirts were feckin awful.

1 hour ago, ErsatzThistle said:

The 2016-17 home shirt was the worst IMO.

In terms of away ones, the 1988-91 grannies dressing down ,1995-96 white with weird lighting strikes all ower the place and the 2014-15 McDonalds "want fries with that ?" shirts were feckin awful.

2016-17? Is that the one we had with the white sleeves? And because of that we had to play England in pink... that alone is enough reason to revile it.

I agree. In the previous 8 home shirts, that's the one I avoided.

The 1988-91 away one I can give or take, saying that, though, I'm not really a fan of yellow, or stripes. One plus point, though, is that Umbro were making it. Kinda wish we would sign a deal with them again. The 95/96 away "lightening" one was alright. I'm probably the only Scotland fan who will have a fondness for that strip, but I thought it was alright, it was certainly better than the 91/93 away top, the weird purple/red top where it looked like someone had torn it. And the 14/15 one, I'll agree with you, under the hating yellow and stripe thing. *shudder*

i have been putting my name and number and even put on the sleeve patch of the euro championships or nations league i have had people asking me where i got from and thought it looked good i might be 41 years old its all a bit of fun and i for one dont mind seeing the nickname or some random name on folks shirt each to there own.