Scottish Cup Final - Hibs v Rangers - Page 38 - Football related - Discussion of non TA football - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

Scottish Cup Final - Hibs v Rangers

1 hour ago, derekfaejapan said:

I'm not out of control at all......It's just that this 'Sevco' 'Newco' 'Zombie' etc patter is wearing thin. It's utterly pathetic. Aye, I maybe got a bit personal earlier with other users.

It's been a while since you've quoted me @thplinth. I hope you're well.

You realise folk only do it because of dumplings like you and your daft reactions, eh? :lol:

2 minutes ago, thplinth said:

Nor me you, took that as a given. You been drinking mr angry?

"Nor me you" right you are Plinthy. Thats why a wee simple smiley upset you. 

"Angry" though aye right you are.

Edited by neil r

20 minutes ago, ErsatzThistle said:

:lol: :lol: :rollsmile:

The statement is basically summarized in this picture:

_87682901_gettyimages-471505730.jpg

Whether you agree with the content of the statement or not or sympathise with some of the points being made, the way it is written, as if by a 12 year old still hurting from the cup final loss, detracts from any serious impact it might have had.

37 minutes ago, giblet said:

That's your biggest transfer need. Also noted he only listed 5 subs again. Surely you have a couple of capable U21s?

The substitutions turned the game.

Hibs brought on 2 players that lifted the team, Rangers brought on 2 players that disappeared and did absolutely nothing.

4 minutes ago, Rossy said:

The substitutions turned the game.

Hibs brought on 2 players that lifted the team, Rangers brought on 2 players that disappeared and did absolutely nothing.

2-1 up we should have killed the game. Our inability to defend set corners at the near post killed us.

1 minute ago, EddardStark said:

2-1 up we should have killed the game. Our inability to defend set corners at the near post killed us.

2 minutes ago, EddardStark said:

Yeap.

By the time they equalised though Hibs had all the momentum and were dominating midfield. Rangers didn't seem to able to cope with Hibs pushing Henderson forward.

21 minutes ago, ShedTA said:

Whether you agree with the content of the statement or not or sympathise with some of the points being made, the way it is written, as if by a 12 year old still hurting from the cup final loss, detracts from any serious impact it might have had.

It really is very sinister stuff.

Could not believe this bit in it which basically says "ra peepul had tae protect wir brethren"

We acknowledge that a tiny minority of Rangers fans also encroached on the pitch but only after having been faced with prolonged and severe provocation and in order to protect our players and officials who were being visibly attacked in front of them. Any club’s supporters would have done the same. This distressing and deeply disturbing episode would never have happened had Hibs fans behaved properly but as they swarmed across the pitch it became immediately obvious that the security procedures were inadequate and had failed.

These fans were allowed to rush, unchecked, towards Rangers supporters at the opposite end of the stadium – all the while goading and threatening them. This makes it preposterous to suggest Rangers fans were somehow to blame as some commentators appear anxious to do. This thuggish behaviour must be investigated and as many culprits as possible brought to book and formally charged. This is the second time in a year that Rangers fans have had to endure attacks by another club’s supporters.

And I'm probably over analysing the wee details but this bit here intrigued me

It must also be said that it was not at all helpful to see leading members of the Scottish Government, including the First Minister whose parish is Govan, passing comment on social media without any attempt to condemn the behaviour of Hibernian’s fans. These failures are unbecoming of our elected representatives.

The dig at the SNP is a given, one doesn't have to be a genius to work out the motivation behind that. However the obsolete reference to Govan "parish" clearly was to appeal to the "Protestant minded" bigots.

Certain media outlets have also attempted to distort reality.  In the case of the BBC this is, of course, not news. BBC employees, in particular Stuart Cosgrove, believe Rod Petrie’s comments to be ‘balanced’ and others speak of a ‘minority’ of Hibernian supporters. Another, Tom English, who was not even at the match, would prefer the authorities to focus on Rangers fans’ reaction. We will not endure this insult.

And finally, three people have just been marked for threats and intimidation in the weeks and months ahead by "ra peepul", essentially with the club's blessing.

1 minute ago, EddardStark said:

banker 3 points for us .

Not until you get yourself a defence.

Can you imagine the chaos Hayes, McGinn and Rooney would have caused yesterday ? We would have been 4-0 up within 10 minutes.

A reasonable amount made how rangers outplayed celtic in the semi, they had 63% possession and had only nine shots to celtics 33.

In the final they had 60% possession and had only 7 shots to hibs 21.

That would suggest that rangers have more issues than just their defence. They need more incisive cutting edge. There comes a time when attractive passing game has to be done for a purpose.

1 minute ago, Rossy said:

Not until you get yourself a defence.

Can you imagine the chaos Hayes, McGinn and Rooney would have caused yesterday ? We would have been 4-0 up within 10 minutes.

I think our defence will be strengthened. We have Forrester and Ball to come back. Both players where missed yesterday. The former probably is our biggest miss in the run in.

Who is responsible for composing and releasing that statement ?

Absolutely cringeworthy with a deep hidden agenda

4 minutes ago, EddardStark said:

I think our statement just about covers all the bases.

It's inflammatory, shockingly written and an embarrassment for the club. It's like an angry kid has written it.

Compare to hibs statement:

Hibernian FC this evening confirmed that it will co-operate fully into any inquiry into the pitch invasion which followed the club’s historic Scottish Cup win at Hampden Park.

The Club reiterates its regret at the events which unfolded immediately following the final whistle. Hibernian always seeks to maintain high standards, and we will work with the authorities to identify any supporter who may have taken part in any form of unacceptable behaviour which has tarnished the club’s reputation.

Hibernian will work with Police Scotland, Hampden Park Stadium Management, the Scottish FA, Rangers FC and any other relevant parties to bring those responsible to book.

5 minutes ago, ShedTA said:

It's inflammatory, shockingly written and an embarrassment for the club. It's like an angry kid has written it.

Compare to hibs statement:

Hibernian FC this evening confirmed that it will co-operate fully into any inquiry into the pitch invasion which followed the club’s historic Scottish Cup win at Hampden Park.

The Club reiterates its regret at the events which unfolded immediately following the final whistle. Hibernian always seeks to maintain high standards, and we will work with the authorities to identify any supporter who may have taken part in any form of unacceptable behaviour which has tarnished the club’s reputation.

Hibernian will work with Police Scotland, Hampden Park Stadium Management, the Scottish FA, Rangers FC and any other relevant parties to bring those responsible to book.

I was being a little bit flippant. Chill. Rangers are the wronged party after yesterday and probably should have kept quiet. Never mind, its out there now. No building bridges though. Circle the Wagons. B)

Edited by EddardStark

Just now, Ally Bongo said:

Who is responsible for composing and releasing that statement ?

Absolutely cringeworthy with a deep hidden agenda

These guys ?

John-Brown.jpg

the-big-house-must-stay-open.jpg

Whoever was responsible, it was a dangerous inflammatory statement written by bigots - for bigots.