Minimum Price For Alcohol - Page 2 - Anything Goes - Other topics not covered elsewhere - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

Minimum Price For Alcohol

So is this about min alcohol pricing being a good or bad idea or another referendum thread?

David Cameron was mooting it but seemed to drop it. Ireland trying the same thing. I can't make me mind up about it. There is a health issue but at same time why is a government imposing what i buy something for when I'm not a problem?

http://www.adamsmith.org/blog/regulation-industry/the-case-against-minimum-alcohol-pricing/

If Scotland, rUK and Ireland sorted its social attitude to alcohol and individuals took responsibility for themselves and were less jakey then min pricing wouldn't be needed.

Also curious to know why you feel an Osbourne government would grow support for independence rapidly, when a conservative majority this year doesn't appear to have had that effect?

A few reasons formy thoughts

well i think, there is a lot of people who voted NO, still saying no as they did vote last year, out of not wanting to say they were wrong.

People who voted no 'cos they are Labour, we need a Labour Govt etc t, you will know the sort. really just snp/salmond haters.

I have a pal, a strong Blairite and her mind was made up before Referendum was announced..,afterwards when we had the discussion her knowledge was unbelievably poor, she swallowed the Labour line 100% , we are now facing a Tory Govt till 2030. 15 years of Tory because of a no vote, she realises that no that she gave it more thought.

.she is 10 years younger than me and didnt have Thatcher and the feeble Labour 50 , the switch manytsocialist did ion the 80's to being an Indy Supporter

These people wont

If Scotland, rUK and Ireland sorted its social attitude to alcohol and individuals took responsibility for themselves and were less jakey then min pricing wouldn't be needed.

Absolutely. But a hundred years would pass before that will happen. The Scottish government should be commended for this. Bringing Scotland forward constantly. It was the same with the discrimanation laws with same sex marriage and stamping out bigotry. Previous governments were spineless. At least the current one shows balls to take us into the present day. Minimum pricing on cheap shitty petrol pish will stop the pubs being skelped as they normally feel the wallop with price added on swally.

They might, but the point is they wouldn't have to.

My bottle of Black Sheep could still be £1.50 at Tesco. If I was a drinker of cheap cider or alcopops I would be forking out more for definite...

No, they wouldn't have but they will. It's just the way these things work.

A few reasons from my thoughts

i think, there is a lot of people who voted NO, still saying no as they did vote last year, out of not wanting to say they were wrong.

People who voted no 'cos they are Labour, we need a Labour Govt etc, you will know the sort. really just snp/salmond haters.No real logic to their argument, just NO,, I have a pal, a strong Blairite and her mind was made up before Referendum was announced..,afterwards when we had the discussion her knowledge was unbelievably poor, she swallowed the Labour line 100% , we are now facing a Tory Govt till 2030. 15 years of Tory because of a no vote, she realises that now. Still not a Yes, but thought the NO vote would kill the SNP and Milly would walk in, when in fact a yes vote would probably have resulted in 2 Leftish leaning Govt on this Island.she is 10 years younger than me and didnt experience Thatcher and the feeble Labour 50 ,so hasnt lived through the evils of a Conservative Govt. these Labour supporters are the ones who will change. The Thinking Labour vote.

There is the demographic, 7/10 over 70's voted NO, so more NO voters will die than YES voters, and the oposite at the other end 70% of under 21's were YES, so more YES coming onto voters role every day.

Who would lead the next Better Together? The Tories on their own?

There will be 'respected' Labour guys to lead and say No... No one selling their soul for a lordship. Who would lead that campaign? Rowling? Galloway? Mundell? Carmichael? Davidson has something popular about her.. but who else?

Nicola in her third term, if she is succesful in her second will lead YES, along with Mairi Black, Tommy Shepard, Phillipa, Nicholson etc etc

I honestly didnt think YES would win last year, i hoped, ( i have been an indy supported since 83) Scotland just wasnt ready for it, look how the NO side have reacted since they WON , i fear what they would have done if they lost.

The Unionist side cant distinguish between the SNP and Scotland, If Scotland is getting phukked over the SNP say so, and the unionists cant see Scotland is being Phukked over because if the SNP say its happening it must be a lie.( Smith commission is an example)

Caralonia winning Indy, will kill off a few bogey men

England will probably get sick of us.

Independence isnt a pipe dream the way it was 5 years ago, it is no longer a bogey man.

I have not thought about what will happen If Corbyn wins.... Seriously.. have you ?

I havent factored in England voting us out of EU.

Have a Cool Yule Mr Scunnered....

Anyone know where is cheapest for a slab of Belhaven Best?

Coming up on Sunday and have transport back down so am looking to buy some.

My Dads saying £12 for 12 cans in Morissons, but I'm sure that can be bettered.

I'll be in Edinburgh over the weekend.

• 9 months later...
9 hours ago, Toepoke said:

UK Government health advisers recommend the introduction of minimum pricing for alcohol...

https://www.theguardian.com/society/2016/dec/01/minimum-alcohol-pricing-gets-backing-of-uk-governments-health-advisers

The Cynical would think they let the Scottish Govt do all the dirty Legal and costly work before announcing it themselves...     but not me the, Tories would never behave like that

1 hour ago, aaid said:

The legislation was passed in 2012, its the implementation that has been held up in the courts.

? UK had a named person act in the wings from 2012?

Do you no think that all increasing the price of alcohol will do is push more folk into taking drugs?

You can spend a tenner and buy a few bottles of Cider that will have you bouncing off the walls all night - or a pill that will do the same.  Increasing the price of drink might make some folk  (that would normally buy drink) try the drugs instead when their short of cash.

• 10 months later...
2 hours ago, hampden_loon2878 said:

I hope this legislation goes through as Scotland culture around drink needs to change, will this help change this? Probably not but its still worth a go

I could be wrong, but as I understand it, it is not aimed at the present generations, although I'm sure it will catch some, but the up and coming ones.

Although I'm not up with the smoking trends, it's a bit like those who smoke, very little of the elder generation will quit, but the youngsters have been deterred through education and the price of ciggies, I assume.