Orange Walk - Page 3 - Anything Goes - Other topics not covered elsewhere - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

• Replies 524

Labour were in tow with the Orange Order

While I am no fan of either Labour or the OO, the above is simply not true. While the majority of supporters/members of both organisations may have voted for the same outcome in the referendum, to suggest they are the both the "same" or in tow/cahoots is wrong. You have to accept that a lot of people from a variety of backgrounds voted no, while they all wanted the same outcome it doesn't mean they have the same views on everything else as well. To try and cojoin them as one and the same is wrong. I learned that during the referendum.

A couple of my mates, Labour Party members, and a handful of other mates, all Yes voters had a What's App chat going. Generally we would try and wind up the "other side" on a daily basis. One day I linked the no voting mates with the far right groups who were supporting no - EDL/SDL/NF/BNP etc. while we were only trying to have wee digs at each other they both reacted badly to this one. And quite rightly so. Both pointed out that they actively got involved in anti fascist demonstrations and the likes and indeed did more anti fascist work than any of us Yes supporters. They were in fact correct and while they may have voted for the same outcome as any far right supporters they did so for different reasons and this was the only thing they had in common with such organisations. It's either lazy or a wind up to suggest Labour and OO are linked IMO.

While I am no fan of either Labour or the OO, the above is simply not true. While the majority of supporters/members of both organisations may have voted for the same outcome in the referendum, to suggest they are the both the "same" or in tow/cahoots is wrong. You have to accept that a lot of people from a variety of backgrounds voted no, while they all wanted the same outcome it doesn't mean they have the same views on everything else as well. To try and cojoin them as one and the same is wrong. I learned that during the referendum.

A couple of my mates, Labour Party members, and a handful of other mates, all Yes voters had a What's App chat going. Generally we would try and wind up the "other side" on a daily basis. One day I linked the no voting mates with the far right groups who were supporting no - EDL/SDL/NF/BNP etc. while we were only trying to have wee digs at each other they both reacted badly to this one. And quite rightly so. Both pointed out that they actively got involved in anti fascist demonstrations and the likes and indeed did more anti fascist work than any of us Yes supporters. They were in fact correct and while they may have voted for the same outcome as any far right supporters they did so for different reasons and this was the only thing they had in common with such organisations. It's either lazy or a wind up to suggest Labour and OO are linked IMO.

Labour in Glasgow courted the Orange Vote for the referendum, to say the have a lot in common, is not true, but they did campaign together for the same outcome.

Labour should have distanced themselves from that shower, but they were happy to take their support. In fact a lot of B.T. stands at the weekends throughout Scotland were manned by the O.O. cos labour and the tories couldnae get anyone to mane them.

All the NAW stickers were made and funded by the O.O.

They have also told their members to vote for whoever can get rid of SNP... which in most areas is Labour.

so their are/was links between them

they are not the same tho.. but it is another reasoin for rying to campaign to get rid of Labour

The being made was that the Labour leader of GCC bent over backwards for them. If that's not in cahoots, I don't know what is.

Can you honestly see the labour party going back to there roots? I just can't see them going back

Hunchy .. Exactly what roots are you talking about ?

True they had 98% income tax for the super rich in the 1960's.(Nice to see John Lennon losing his socialist principles on that one)and they are credited for an NHS which had a lot of cross party support.But they were always a party who supported royalty and were champions for unelected elitism and brutal colonial cover ups.They did nothing for the majority of UK workers who had to work in the private sector under draconian conditions .

Most supporters forget that Foot stood on a platform with Enoch Powel and the shameful broken promises of support for Home Rule are shouted down with the myth the SNP colluded with Thatcher.Three times as many labour MP's voted in the same collusion. I'm afraid many Labour supporters have simply used a sham belief in the left to become a fully paid up member of the right.And that IMO goes right back to their roots

Edited by Wine bibber

The problem is thinking that Labour is a singular entity with singular wants. It has dominant traits of course which preclude me from ever voting for them. It's over-simplfying the situation to characterise it as a singular entity though.

All in my opinion of course.

Avoid town this Saturday . 57 bands yes FIFTY SEVEN. They are calling it an Orangefest with police bill of £500 000. Police from all over central belt. This will be an annual event. Council seem to have no problems giving permission to their brothers for this day of hatred but very reluctant to allow a friendly rally in George Square. Next Hope over Fear rally the organisers should say they are having an Orangefest and it will be signed quicly as a blink of the eye.

The authorities have pandered to these clowns for too long. They have no place in our society. Ban all religious marches.

For all the toffs will (in general) be all for the union, it suits the establishment to have these thickos doing the same. They always will get away with murder.

round them all up, take them to ibrox and let them march round the pitch until there heart is content. they can pay a fee to use ibrox and give a stuggling club some cash at the same time.