National Anthem - TA specific - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

National Anthem

Johnny_Ham

SSC email:

"The Scottish Government has been asked, via the Public Petitions Committee, to officially recognise Flower of Scotland as the country’s national anthem.

We believe the answer should come from our supporters and, primarily, our most loyal fans - you, the members of the Scotland Supporters Club.

Please take just a couple of minutes to let us know what you think. Click here (https://www.surveymonkey.com/s/NatAnthem) before 5pm on Wednesday 11 February to have your say."

Anyone want to join me in doing a mass response of 'A Man's A Man for A' That'?

Edited by Johnny_Ham

I just don't understand how anyone can want Highland Cathedral given the number who don't want FoS cause "it's a dirge".

FFS Highland Cathedral is even slower than FoS so what does that make it?

Nice tune on the pipes but not anthem material. What are the words to it anyway?

I just don't understand how anyone can want Highland Cathedral given the number who don't want FoS cause "it's a dirge".

FFS Highland Cathedral is even slower than FoS so what does that make it?

Nice tune on the pipes but not anthem material. What are the words to it anyway?

Aye but FOS is dour the whole way through whereas the notes to HC perk up as it goes along

Highland Cathedral would make a great anthem.

Flower of Scotland is rarely sung in tune by our support and lasts too long, when England sing GSTQ it's over pretty quickly and still manages to sound good (the atmosphere created, not the subservient lyrics)

GSTQ has and never will sound good

Highland Cathedral would make a great anthem.

Flower of Scotland is rarely sung in tune by our support and lasts too long, when England sing GSTQ it's over pretty quickly and still manages to sound good (the atmosphere created, not the subservient lyrics)

HC is far too slow. Dinnae like it anyways. FoS is fine although we really need to get the SFA to listen to us and get it sorted out.It's plenty rousing if you pay attention to the words and sing it passionately.

Folk who want FOS changed are the same type who want a manager sacked after a bad result... over the top reaction, change will not be better and there'll just end up bein another call for change in the not too distant future.

That's a bit of a strange comparison. FOS isn't just some new anthem that people haven't given a chance. It's been a dirge for years, especially at away matches.

Ok given it some thought and inspired by second year history lessons about Bonnie Prince Charlie and the Jacobite army and their march south to Derby

We were rippin' up
We were rockin' up

On our way south to London town
We were shakin' up
We were breakin' up
We were followin' the Bonnie Prince
Hey hey, rockin' to the pipers
Hey hey, rocking to the drums
Rocking every night and day, hey hey

Well we sang shang-a-lang and we ran with the gang
Doin' doo wop be dooby och aye
We were all in the news with our wee tartan trews
And our dancin' the night away
Yea we sang shang-a-lang and we ran with the gang
With the piper playing and a `body saying that
"A Nation like ours couldn't die"
Shang-a-lang
Shang-a-lang, shang-a-lang, shang-a-lang

Ok given it some thought and inspired by second year history lessons about Bonnie Prince Charlie and the Jacobite army and their march south to Derby

We were rippin' up

We were rockin' up

On our way south to London town

We were shakin' up

We were breakin' up

We were followin' the Bonnie Prince

Hey hey, rockin' to the pipers

Hey hey, rocking to the drums

Rocking every night and day, hey hey

Well we sang shang-a-lang and we ran with the gang

We were all in the news with our wee tartan trews

And our dancin' the night away

Yea we sang shang-a-lang and we ran with the gang

With the piper playing and a `body saying that

"A Nation like ours couldn't die"

Shang-a-lang

Shang-a-lang, shang-a-lang, shang-a-lang

Started working on a follow up, think I'll call it `My Grannie comes for Christmas`

Doh ! Oh dear

Your grannies here

Ray !

Y'ill need tae sleep doon stairs

Me oh my !

We`ve nae gin in

Fah !

The Spars a long long way to go

So !

So whit she`ll moan all day

La !

Ya Scouse get up and go

Tea

She`ll no drink that any more

Ted Christopher told a story at a Yes gathering and said that the song Scottish Dawn was written for or entered into a BBC Radio Scotland competition(or something or other) was deemed to patriotic to ever get played on Radio Scotland by some big wig at the

even slower than FoS and the words don't seem appropruiate for an anthem - wo are we standing against and who are we osing good friends to? looking back mnore than FoS can be accused of