Tierney - Page 3 - TA specific - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

Tierney

Squirrelhumper

10 minutes ago, Malcolm said:

Turnover way in excess of celtics.

Sounds like some shite sky sports would say.

its a pet hate of mine that people genuinely believe teams like Bournemouth are a bigger club than Celtic. Celtic have much better history, much bigger fan base and more success. Fuck Bournemouth and the EPL

12 minutes ago, vanderark14 said:

Sounds like some shite sky sports would say.

its a pet hate of mine that people genuinely believe teams like Bournemouth are a bigger club than Celtic. Celtic have much better history, much bigger fan base and more success. Fuck Bournemouth and the EPL

History means nothing... 1967 was more than 50 years ago.  In the context of world football that is today’s reality.  Bourmouth have a far bigger financial clout and will be more attractive to many players.

He would be on triple the money, maybe more, at Bournemouth so of course if they stump up the cash then he would go.

i think he can probably do better than Bournemouth and the thought of having a player playing for Atlético Madrid is quite exciting! 

1 hour ago, Malcolm said:

History means nothing... 1967 was more than 50 years ago.  In the context of world football that is today’s reality.  Bourmouth have a far bigger financial clout and will be more attractive to many players.

Size of club solely down to finance? Wise up.

Absolutely zero chance Tierney would go to Bournemouth. Zilch. 

As a Scotland fan I'd rather je stayed at Celtic than go there. 

Bournemouth wlll get relegated next year and back to being another Wigan. 

Ageed, Tierney is clearly in a higher bracket of young player and should only be going to an English top 5/6 club or Atletico style club.

Normally you wouldnt say that but the guy is class above alot of the young players that head down south. He's definitely worthy of avoiding championship clubs/ lower epl fodder.

6 hours ago, Squirrelhumper said:

Size of club solely down to finance? Wise up.

Absolutely zero chance Tierney would go to Bournemouth. Zilch. 

As a Scotland fan I'd rather je stayed at Celtic than go there. 

Bournemouth wlll get relegated next year and back to being another Wigan. 

Ha ha ha... why don’t you “wise up” and take the parochial specs off....   Celtic are a nobody in world football terms.  They are constrained by a diddy league and yes finance is now the major driver in determining the size of a club or any business for that matter.  If you hadn’t noticed things changed in the 1990s... the number of fans is irrelevant now... it’s all about tv money.

Here is just one example... bournemouth ranked 108, Celtic 132.

https://projects.fivethirtyeight.com/global-club-soccer-rankings/

Yet another example.... club value by brand, not turnover....

http://brandfinance.com/knowledge-centre/reports/brand-finance-football-50-2017/

No mention of Celtic... Bournemouth 26th.

celtic are a massive club.... in Scotland.  The point being that Scottish football is irrelevant anywhere outside Scotland.

back on topic, Tierney has the potential to play at a very high level.  Moving to a top European side from Celtic May be a step too far at the moment and he may go to a mid table epl side.  Andy Robertson is certainly ahead of him for the left back slot with us at the moment.

Guest faircity
3 hours ago, Malcolm said:

Ha ha ha... why don’t you “wise up” and take the parochial specs off....   Celtic are a nobody in world football terms.  They are constrained by a diddy league and yes finance is now the major driver in determining the size of a club or any business for that matter.  If you hadn’t noticed things changed in the 1990s... the number of fans is irrelevant now... it’s all about tv money.

That list has Atalanta ahead of Man United.

Now im no Man United fan but under no criteria are Atalana better, more appealing, wealthier, bigger or more famous than Man United.

In other words, you are up to the capers.

6 hours ago, Malcolm said:

Bournemouth have never won anything in their history, they have a tiny support, they have no rivals, they play in a tiny stadium, they have played in the top flights for a few years in their entire history.

Money won't be there forever....you sit there and look at all the daft website you want and take in all the nonsense that Sky Sports tells you.

Anyone with a tiny iota of common sense relating to football knows Celtic are a much, much bigger club than Bournemouth. Always have been, always will be.

There's clubs in Qutar that can pay 10 times what Celtic can, you honestly saying they are bigger clubs?

Your posts are actually quite depressing as n alleged Scottish football fan.

6 hours ago, Malcolm said:

Yet another example.... club value by brand, not turnover....

http://brandfinance.com/knowledge-centre/reports/brand-finance-football-50-2017/

No mention of Celtic... Bournemouth 26th.

celtic are a massive club.... in Scotland.  The point being that Scottish football is irrelevant anywhere outside Scotland.

back on topic, Tierney has the potential to play at a very high level.  Moving to a top European side from Celtic May be a step too far at the moment and he may go to a mid table epl side.  Andy Robertson is certainly ahead of him for the left back slot with us at the moment.

Batter in with all the daft website you want, it's all nonsense funded by the sky bubble.

If Bournemouth get relgated they'll disappear like shite like Oldham, Wigan etc have in the past from the EPL.

2 hours ago, faircity said:

That list has Atalanta ahead of Man United.

Now im no Man United fan but under no criteria are Atalana better, more appealing, wealthier, bigger or more famous than Man United.

In other words, you are up to the capers.

It's on a website, must be true.

I can't believe a grown adult is even having this debate hahahaha

2 minutes ago, Squirrelhumper said:

It's on a website, must be true.

I can't believe a grown adult is even having this debate hahahaha

A website with the words “ brand “ and “finance”  😂 

An obvious must for all lovers of football 😂

On 5/16/2018 at 1:41 PM, JECK said:

He always reminds me of Barry ferguson when he speaks about "his club" ie never wants to leave. It's a tough one, it's all about leaving to the right club at the right time, which Ferguson certainly did not do by going to f*ing Blackburn when he could have signed for Liverpool, I believe the summer before. 

As someone mentioned you always feel he could regress by staying at Celtic his whole career. No idea about his mentality but he may not be able to hack a club abroad. Don't know if the Man U link has cooled but that could be the ideal move. A few hours drive from home, massive club etc.

Ferguson was a genuine thick cunt and at times, a very poor professional. Tierney doesn’t strike me as either of those. 

On 5/17/2018 at 9:05 AM, Squirrelhumper said:

Fuck signing for Bournemouth, he's way better than that.

quite a bit of talk from fellow spurs fans that he'll be signing for us. just a rumour but would fit with the way spurs operate 

7 hours ago, Malcolm said:

Sorry but I have to take issue with this.

The SPFL is not a diddy league. It might be run by a less than competent idiot and lack the excessive finances fand the English, Spanish, French and Italian leagues (artificially fuelled by nothing other than BT/Sky Sports’ vast resources which could collapse any time as football may not be the flavour of the month forever) but it compares favourable to just about any other league in Europe and indeed many across the world.

Attendances per capita are very high and the two big clubs (let’s leave the Rangers/Sevco thing to one side for now) are massive clubs in not just Scottish but world terms.

Why does everything Scottish have to be shite, pish, diddy, etc? Why can’t the good stuff in Scotland be good stuff?

As a nation we really are a pathetic bunch and it’s no wonder we shat it in 2014. It’s a sad indictment of our attitude and our (serious lack of) confidence in ourselves when it takes a less than popular figure from south of the border to talk up our game.

Why can’t the SPFL be considered decent? Why should all our best players leave to go to eg some  tiny wee club on the south coast of England who just happen to have punched well above their weight for a couple of years?

Wise the fuck up and let’s talk ourselves up a bit. We’re pretty fucking decent you know.

Edited by DaveyDenoon

7 minutes ago, Malcolm said:

You can talk about history and n7mber of fans all you want.  I don’t agree.  Yes, as a nation we are decent, but have been on the decline for 40 years... this has accelerated since the revolution brought about by Sky.

You can talk about clubs being bigger than Celtic as they've had TV money for the past two years all you want too, it's complete and utter tripe!

For a country that's so bad, we've had two clubs in European FInal's since the turn of the millennium.

Folk like you that talk the league down really grind my gears. We've got guys like Rodgers, Gerrard, Clarke, Lennon, McInnes etc here managing, as well as some great players such as Rogic, Tierney etc signing long term deals to stay here. Crowds are higher at some clubs just now than they have been since the 50/60s. We've got clubs such as Hearts, Aberdeen, Hibs, Rangers & Celtic who have sold more season tickets this season than Bournemouths stadium holds for home fans. We've got Motherwell in two Cup FInals in same season, Killie have just said their season ticket sales are 1,700 up on this time last year, St Mirren have a great young manager. I could go on and on.

We know it's not perfect but to simply say 1) Club's here aren't big as they don't have same TV money and 2) the league is rubbish is utter nonsense IMO.

Celtic have a turnover of £70m+ and that's with something like £2.5m on SPFL TV Money/Prize money. If you are saying that's not a bigger club than Bournemouth then you're at it.

There's a reason why Celtic and Rangers play in places like America, Australia etc pre season and not shite like Bournemouth.......