Belfast - Page 2 - Anything Goes - Other topics not covered elsewhere - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

1 hour ago, Ormond said:

No, I know where the Europa is because I remember it from being the most bombed hotel in Europe. I am definitely talking about the one at the foot of Sandy Row. It was a long time ago I stayed in it though so it’s probably changed names a couple of times. It must be 15ish years ago I was there. 

I have only been in Belfast once , for a works xmas night out, our support team were based in Belfast so we went over there for a change. We stayed at the Europa, like you I only remember it because of how many times it had been bombed. The only other things I remember about the night were :

Getting proposed to by a random bloke  in the hotel bar before we went out. 

Meeting Dirty Den from Eastenders in the lift on the way back to my room. 

Falling asleep on the seat in my room and waking up with no feeling whatsoever on the right handside of my skull . This lasted for 6 weeks.

I liked Belfast.

4 minutes ago, DoonTheSlope said:

I seen a thing on YouTube where a taxi driver will take you round all troubled areas and give you bit of background which I think would be interesting 

Some of the murals from an art point of view are outstanding 

Stop trying to appear cultured , you are no fooling anyone 🙂

Stayed at the Ramada Encore quite a few times and is about £50 per night. 5 mins walk to city centre, and 5 mins walk to Titanic, docks etc. Robinsons is a crackin pub almost next door. If you are over on a Sunday then the deal at Benedicts is unbeatable, £70 to buy a bottle of Moët, and you get bed and breakfast thrown in free and the rooms and breakfast are some of the best I've ever had. 

Take the missus to the big city centre shopping centre and go right up to the viewing platform at the top for crackin views across the city. 

The prison visit is deffo worth the money, it is a perfect copy of the gaol in the Italian job. Scrubs or Pentonville, not sure??

Makin me want to go over soon all this reading about it, cracking place.

10 minutes ago, The White Ceelo said:

The prison visit is deffo worth the money, it is a perfect copy of the gaol in the Italian job. Scrubs or Pentonville, not sure??

The Italian Job was filmed at Kilmainham Jail in Dublin but would be a similar vintage to Crumlin Road.  Crumlin Aroad would have been fully operational when it was made.

As has been mentioned earlier, the Crown is a great old pub as is Robinson’s just next door. The Crown is small but Robinson’s is huge. Fibber Magee’s was also good for the live music. We also went to the Duke of York and the John Hewitt (great name but nothing to do with the former Aberdeen player) - both really decent.  The Eg and the Bot were both good too. If you’re looking for something other than old style pubs the Belfast Telegraph online has a nightlife section that’ll give you some pointers.It’s a good city centre to wander around and soak up the sights. If you’re there on a Sunday morning there were a lot of places for an Ulster Fry near Queens University  - Ruby Tuesday’s and also the Other Place were good 20 years back but not sure if they’re still on the go. 

A great city that I’ve always enjoyed visiting.

Edited by neilser

Did the black cab tour a few years ago, would recommend it. There was no set route, the driver basically asked us what we were interested in seeing and tailored the tour to suit. We were dropped off at certain places and would meet up with the driver again at a pick up point a couple of streets away before heading to the next place so you're not just peering through a taxi window the whole way.

I would highly recommend the No Alibis bookshop. Owner is a great guy and it specialises in crime fiction. Was in there last month. Stayed in the Etap next to Filthy McNastys. That was the fourth or fifth time I have been and for the first time the smallness of the place hit me. The university area near Botanic station seems to have a few interesting eating places though none I would recommend.

Crumlin Jail is highly recommended along with Miltown Cemetery though I have no idea how to get there on public transport. If there is a guided tour of the cemetery I would take that as there isa lot you miss out on unless you have a bit of local knowledge

Belfast is a weird place. Been about 10x and still don't know it. Different friends have lived in different areas but you don't walk much due to the different areas of painted kerbs and flegs not to forget the peace walls.  Never been on a bus as its taxis everywhere.  Excluding NYC Belfast is the city I have used cabs the most.  It's frankly a ridiculous place and I'm amazed anyone who has left would return which 2 of my mates did.

Stay in the city centre which is small.  Avoid all politics.  Rugby is supported by most.  Any old firm games should be approached as you would in Glasgow but why watch that shit when you support Thistle? The Crown and Robinsons are overrated but safe touristy bets.  The restaurants as a whole are a bit meh.  Taxi tour and Titanic very good. Bus tour decent.  I'm over in the summer and will do Crumlin Jail.

Everytime I get back to Glasgow from Belfast I feel like I have returned to NYC. It's small and self obsessed and a ridiculous place to be honest.  Enjoy! 

On 2/14/2018 at 4:35 PM, joecraigfanclub said:

I would highly recommend the No Alibis bookshop. Owner is a great guy and it specialises in crime fiction. Was in there last month. Stayed in the Etap next to Filthy McNastys. That was the fourth or fifth time I have been and for the first time the smallness of the place hit me. The university area near Botanic station seems to have a few interesting eating places though none I would recommend.

Crumlin Jail is highly recommended along with Miltown Cemetery though I have no idea how to get there on public transport. If there is a guided tour of the cemetery I would take that as there isa lot you miss out on unless you have a bit of local knowledge

They refused to serve me for some reason...

Actually have never been to Belfast.  Not really a place that appeals to me although my wife has been and says she likes it so might pop over some weekend.  As an atheist I'm on neither side of the divide.

Edited by Alibi

2 hours ago, weekevie04 said:

Has anyone been in here? And did you get served? :lol:

The pub looks great itself. Surely a nice wee urban legend/marketing gimic for the bar to encourage tourists to run the gauntlet of getting served! 

https://www.tripadvisor.com/Restaurant_Review-g186470-d2175597-Reviews-Bittles_Bar-Belfast_Northern_Ireland.html

Avoid this place - https://www.tripadvisor.ie/Restaurant_Review-g186470-d1571780-Reviews-Ronnie_Drew_s-Belfast_Northern_Ireland.html

Me and a few other DUBTA lads wandered in there on the way back to Dublin after a game at Hampden. The locals were friendly, and were asking about the game (we had kilts on so it was obvious who we were). One lad told us he'd done time in the 90's and was released under the good friday agreement. I remember thinking 'Did ye, aye?', but it was only when we got back to Dublin one of us discovered the pub is well known for its republicanism, and was the place where Robert McCartney was infamously murdered by the Real IRA.

The barman told us there was no buses to Dublin that late, so another republican guy we'd been talking to said he'd organise a lift for us for "a hunner poun". We waited till he went for a pish, then legged it to the bus station (where of course buses to Dublin run 24hrs).

The guy came back and was calling out something to us as we ran round the corner. As far as i'm aware we're still on the Real IRA's wanted list! :lol:

1 hour ago, Dave78 said:

Avoid this place - https://www.tripadvisor.ie/Restaurant_Review-g186470-d1571780-Reviews-Ronnie_Drew_s-Belfast_Northern_Ireland.html

Me and a few other DUBTA lads wandered in there on the way back to Dublin after a game at Hampden. The locals were friendly, and were asking about the game (we had kilts on so it was obvious who we were). One lad told us he'd done time in the 90's and was released under the good friday agreement. I remember thinking 'Did ye, aye?', but it was only when we got back to Dublin one of us discovered the pub is well known for its republicanism, and was the place where Robert McCartney was infamously murdered by the Real IRA.

The barman told us there was no buses to Dublin that late, so another republican guy we'd been talking to said he'd organise a lift for us for "a hunner poun". We waited till he went for a pish, then legged it to the bus station (where of course buses to Dublin run 24hrs).

The guy came back and was calling out something to us as we ran round the corner. As far as i'm aware we're still on the Real IRA's wanted list! :lol:

You’ve still not said why it should be avoided though. 

On 2/17/2018 at 8:58 PM, Dave78 said:

Haha, I naively thought that all the bad places would be in either east/west Belfast. :)

With the Irish Language Act goings on at the moment, always wondered what the hardcore Ulster is British Rangers fans that come over think if they hear Gaelic at Ibrox or on a Rangers away trip. 

1 hour ago, weekevie04 said:

Haha, I naively thought that all the bad places would be in either east/west Belfast. :)

With the Irish Language Act goings on at the moment, always wondered what the hardcore Ulster is British Rangers fans that come over think if they hear Gaelic at Ibrox or on a Rangers away trip. 

In terms of uber-loyalists and unionists  (throughout the UK) - Ulster-Scots = Good, Scots = Bad.

It takes some amount of mental contortions to argue that Ulster Scots is a distinct language and a living example of a distinct and different cultural tradition but actual Scots is nothing other than a dialect of English or worse crude slang.

Iv'e always found the Ulster Scots version of written documents a very entertaing and interesting read. For example,

Wirkan for you

The Assemblie…

is the devolved Govrenment o Norlin Airlan. Hit haes the pouer for tae mak laas in a braid reinge airts, comprehendan the housin, the employ, the leir, the halth, the agricultur an the environs. Hit forgaithers at the Pairlament Biggins, Belfast.

Laa-Makkan Forgaitherars (LMFs)…

is waled in frae the fowk o Norlin Airlan. Thar 108 LMFs, 6 frae ilkane o the 18 constituencies in Norlin Airlan. Wales tae the Assemblie bes helt ilka foweryeir.

The LMFs role comprehends pittan throu laas an makkan pruiws o the wark o Ministers an thair Govrenment depairtments.

Plenary Session

Plenarie sessions…

is fou forgaithers o the Assemblie in the Assemblie Chaumber. This is whaur LMFs talks owre maiters as bes a-dae wi the fowk o Norlin Airlan, an pits throu laas. Plenarie sessions bes helt Monandeys an Tuesdeys. Thay ar braidcuist live on the Assemblies wabsteid. Ye can leuk at a plenarie session frae the Public Gallerie, at owreleuks the Chaumber.

Assemblie comatees…

is wirkan curns o 11 LMFs. Ilka comatee haes a byordinar airt wark. Thay scrutinise propones o new laas, leuk owre the wark o Ministers an thair depairtments, an mak pruiws o maiters anent the wark o the Assemblie.

Syne 2007, Assemblie comatees is haean forgaithers wi hunners o fowk an thinkan on a wheen differan maiters as haes an effect tae the fowk o Norlin Airlan. Siclyke comprehends halth maiters, watter charges, schuil transfer pruiws, energie prices, raa sauftie, an ingae tae the housin.

The comatees forordinar forgaithers Tuesdeys, Waddinsdeys an Thuirsdeys. Ye ar walcum for tae gae tae a comate forgaither for tae heir the LMFs collogue.

Pairlament Biggins…

is open tae fowk atween 9.00am an 4.00pm, Monandey til Frydey. Ye can tak a tour o this kenspeckle biggin wi arryngean it throu a LMF or throu our Leir Service.

Yer Assemblie…

gies out a Veesits Program for schuils an curns as bes for learnan anent the Norlin Airlan Assemblie. Hit gies out leir graith for tae gie uphauld for the leirin an learnin forby.

Thar an outrax program forby, at peys veesits tae hamelie commonties for tae set furth wittins anent the Assemblie.

School Visit

Wirkan for yo

Wantan tae find out mair anent the Norlin Airlan Assemblie?