Burns - Anything Goes - Other topics not covered elsewhere - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

He wrote the words to the third most sung song in the English speaking World. He has more statues to him than any other non-religious figure after Victoria(cow) and Columbus. He was Bob Dylan’s single greatest influence. Michael Jackson based Thriller on Tam O’ Shanter. He was the first person ever to appear on a bottle of Coke. 
But @McTeeko says he was pish. :P

Happy Burns Day. :)

Is the Facebook debate on my page no enough?!? You’ve then started your own thread and tagged me in it, now this one?!? 

He WAS pish though. Complete nonsense in story form that doesn’t even rhyme, sold as poems and lauded the world over. 

“Oh look, a wee moose. I think I’ll write a load of shite about it and future bellends like @Ormond will lap it all up once a year, even though poetry is as far from his thoughts every other day of the year!”

Aye Ok then 😏

2 minutes ago, McTeeko said:

Is the Facebook debate on my page no enough?!? You’ve then started your own thread and tagged me in it, now this one?!? 

He WAS pish though. Complete nonsense in story form that doesn’t even rhyme, sold as poems and lauded the world over. 

“Oh look, a wee moose. I think I’ll write a load of shite about it and future bellends like @Ormond will lap it all up once a year, even though poetry is as far from his thoughts every other day of the year!”

Aye Ok then 😏

29 minutes ago, Ormond said:

Brilliant. Love that more every time i see it. 

23 minutes ago, Ormond said:

Today is actually my wedding anniversary. @Parklife was first on the blower sending me wishes. He’s no’ a’ bad. 

Anyway, She’s no’ chuffed as I wished her a Happy Burns Day first this morning instead. 

Happy Anniversary, Mr Ormond. 

9 minutes ago, DoonTheSlope said:

What's this Scottish cringe I hear you say?

Look in a mirror and you'll see it. 

Seen as it's Burns' Night, i've adapted one of his most famous works: 

To a McInnes

Wee, cowrin, sleekit, timourous Del, 
Oh what a panic's in thy sel', 
Thou need tae start attacking at Ibrox, 
Wi mare than one striker, 
Yi wid be laith to decline the Loving Cup, 
Yi fucking bottler. 

Edited by Parklife

1 minute ago, Parklife said:

To a McInnes

Thou need start attacking at Ibrox, 
Yi fucking bottler. 

You're wasted on here.

2 minutes ago, Parklife said:

To a McInnes

Thou need start attacking at Ibrox, 
Yi fucking bottler. 

:lol::ok:

8 minutes ago, phart said:

I love how folk just assume they have the latent ability to comprehend Burns, those that don't then blame the Bard. It's a sad state of affairs.

I’m back on the swally the day Phart so...

Fair fa’ yer honest Fenian taste,

Great chieftain o’ the Guinness race,

Aboon’ them a’, ye tak’ yer place,

‘N’ Ah’m nae ravin’,

It’s Ormond’s best and by God’s grace,

Yer certainly sent fae heaven.