Iconic images - Football related - Discussion of non TA football - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

On the back of  the Cyrille Regis thread and Thistle Whistles depressingly accurate thread about football being a bit shit these days, what images and events tend to stick in your mind when you were growing up. Some of them for me are quite random

George Berry from Wolves and his huge afro.

The name 'John Cheidozie'

Coventry's strip

The Arsenal v Man United 1979 cup final

'Derek Stark, what a thumper !' Arthur Montford commentating when United beat Roma in the first leg of the European Cup semi final.

'Go on Jim, give us a smile ' Archie Mcpherson commentating when United won the league at Dens.

The Peru strip :(

Peter McLoy swinging from the cross bar in a cup final

Happy days, funny the things that stick.

This was my first ever Huddersfield Town match, a 4-2 win in the cup over West Ham in 1972 (pretty much the first Town match for every lad I knew) & there are a few of those sorts of memory on show. As an aside, the final WHU goal was scored by another of the early black players as well; Clyde Best.

Mudbath pitches

Referees who were school headmasters during the week & looked like they liked nothing better than issuing firm discipline.

No replica kits on the terraces - there were shops that specialised in selling shirts that sort of looked a bit like yours but you'd never actually wear it to a match.

Waving scarves, two-handed above your head.

It's the wee things that make the memories for me:

Big Lekovic absolutely desperate to lift the Scottish Cup and having to wait his turn behind Montgomery.

The old boy who used to stand behind us on the terracing at RP and shout "Two for a fucking pound!" whenever the opposition missed a chance.  

The young lass on our supporters bus who would go in the huff whenever Ally Mitchell wasn't in the starting line up.

The supporters bus sticking all their drink into one black bag when the police pulled the bus over on the way to Tannadice.  Polis asked who's drink it was and one boy stood up and said it was his.  "All of it sir?"...  "I have a problem."

The above guy asking a steward what would happen to him if he jumped the barrier if Killie scored from a corner during a particularly  tense battle at Tynecastle.  "You'll be ejected".  20 seconds later he's over the barrier, the steward was kind enough to open the gate for him to get back into the stand.

Not arriving at Dens until half time due to an accident on the motorway.  Turnstyles were still open and they were decent enough to half the prices. I think it finished 1-1 with both goals coming in the first half.

Ian Durrant's masterclass in a 6-0 win at East End Park.

Dylan Kerr jumping into the stand at Rugby Park... Taking a seat and then jumping up to celebrate his goal against Ayr.

Gus MacPherson sticking the gloves on against Hibs when Colin Meldrum got injured...  Memory is hazy but I believe we won 3-2.

I could go on all night :lol:

Edited by Scunnered

The big images I have are of Peter McCloy swinging on the crossbar, Tam Forsyth scoring from about 6 inches out to beat Celtic, McCoist's overhead kick against Hibs not long after he returned from a leg break. 

Also vividly remember Marco Tardelli wheeling away to celebrate scoring in the World Cup final, calling Brian McClair a wanker for missing a sitter of a header against Brazil in the Rous Cup and him hearing me and giving me a death stare. 😀 

A snowy St Mirren game against Dunfermline which ended 2-2 while sitting behind 3 of my Rangers heroes (McCloy, Mcdonald and McLean). Game was very poor but exciting anyway. 

The Marco Tardelli one is definitely iconic.

From an Aberdeen point of view - loads: 

Willie Miller holding various trophies aloft one handed

John McMaster trying the ECWC on as headwear.

Doug Rougvie and John Hewitt celebrating Hewitt's winner in the aforementioned ECWC.

Neale Cooper absolutely hammering the 4th goal into an empty net at the West End of Hampden, doing a forward role then giving those in the West terracing a big GIRUY.

Willie Miller running nearly the length of the South Stand at Pittodrie after scoring the goal to secure the title in 85.

Others include:

Dalglish jumping the barrier at Wembley after scoring in the European Cup Final.

Strachan trying to get his leg over the over sized advertising board in Mexico.

Joe Jordan kissing his hand at Anfield after Scotland getting the penalty against Wales in 77.

Brazil kicking Holland off the park in the 74 WC.

Edited by AberdeenAngus

The end of my first full season going to Ibrox regularly.

Mark-Hateley-celebrates.jpg

He was a great player but a dirty bastard too. Literally dirty also. He was forever gobbing and blowing torpedo snot out of his beak on the park. :barf:

Not 70s and 80s, but near enough,..

Everytime I hear Nessum Dorma I see in my head Toto Schillachi doing the same celebration mentioned above, Roger Milla dancing at the corner flag and Gazza crying in a montage that for sone reason brings a tear to my eye.

a relatively short summation of my my mebory...

Spain 82 and Italia 90 were the last of World Cup Finals when World Cup Finals were really good and iconic IMO

As an aside - i knew someone who had a ton of cash on Matthaus for first goal in the 90 final v Argentina solely because he took Germany's penalties

I can only assume he shat it in the final and let Brehme take it

You can imagine the rage

23 hours ago, Squirrelhumper said:

He did it against Raith too when Drago got sent off. We won 5-1.

It's weird, I remember that game, but I don't remember Gus going in goals at that one, but the Hibs one always stuck in my mind.  I'm getting old :joy:

On Wednesday, January 17, 2018 at 11:44 AM, Scunnered said:

It's weird, I remember that game, but I don't remember Gus going in goals at that one, but the Hibs one always stuck in my mind.  I'm getting old :joy:

My only memories of that game were Leko charging out his penalty box and grabbing the ball as it was going over his head. Then Gus saving absolutely everything Raith threw at him. I don't know if he ever lost a goal playing as sub keeper?

The Italy v Brazil game at Spain 82.

Scotland in dark shorts in Argentina 78

Charlie Nicholas getting hacked to bits against Denmark in 86 putting him out the tournament when he looked on fire in the time he was on the pitch.

Roy Aitken getting the penalty against Sweden in Italy 90.

Jim Leighton letting the Norwegians equalise from what seemed like 50 yards in 89.

Hands off Hibs

the liverpool yellow with red pin stripes away shirt.

Looking for any Dalglish/Liverpool goals on Football Focus or Saint and Greavsie

6 hours ago, Toepoke said:

My only memories of that game were Leko charging out his penalty box and grabbing the ball as it was going over his head. Then Gus saving absolutely everything Raith threw at him. I don't know if he ever lost a goal playing as sub keeper?

It's been said in a tongue in cheek manner that he's our greatest ever goalkeeper conceding only 2 goals in his entire career... Did they both come against Hibs? 3-2 sticks in my head about that scoreline but I might be mistaken.

1 hour ago, Scunnered said:

It's been said in a tongue in cheek manner that he's our greatest ever goalkeeper conceding only 2 goals in his entire career... Did they both come against Hibs? 3-2 sticks in my head about that scoreline but I might be mistaken.

Cannae mind him going in goal v Hibs but it's a while ago now.

I do remember the next time we played Raith the scoreboard flashed up "Watch out Rovers I just saw Gus carrying goalie gloves" :-)) 

Actually now I mention it, the electronic scoreboards at Rugby Park, they've now joined the old half time scoreboard as iconic images of the past...