Question Time Tonight - Page 51 - Anything Goes - Other topics not covered elsewhere - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

Question Time Tonight

No I haven't. I've never mentioned anyone being conned :lol:

I have said that the SNP are NOT a party of Social Justice on numerous occasions... That is opinion, which just happens to be 100% accurate :).

The SNP are not a Socialist party, I don't think they have ever claimed to be that, they claim to be a Social Democratic Party, and I think you would at least concede that is an accurate description.

The Labour Party is no longer a Socialist party - it hasn't been since Blair dropped clause 4 - the difference is that it still pretends to be a Socialist party. I'm sure that there are plenty of Socialists in the Labour Party but the party itself has not been behaving like one for many many years. It must surely have gotten to the point that those good people need to question what they can achieve by remaining.

Socialism is a more black and white political ideology than Social Democracy which by its nature seeks a greater level of consensus within a mixed economy.

The SNP both in policy and action are clearly to the left of Labour, you can argue by how much.

I also do not accept the will is not there. The will is there and Is shown in the support for independent. The vast majority of people I spoke to wanted that for socialist based reasons.

That was clear during the referendum campaign, it now appears to have given way to independence at any cost.

Before the referendum was announced I said to Cove Sheep in 2011 when I campaigned for Kenny Gibson *vomits*:

"The SNP will be the party to deliver an independence referendum, but their pro business agenda will make them the party to lose it".

I still stand by that. The majority of the independence support has put their weight behind the SNP, but when it comes to the electorate the SNP do not represent change that makes the "risk" seem worth it.

When I campaigned for the RIC the most common question... Out with currency was "what's in it for me? Will it improve my 9-5".

Edited by Scunnered

What were those reasons and why would you class them as being particularly socialist based?

SNP supporters hunt in packs when one of their own is criticised.

It wisnae hard.

Pots kettles

Are you 12?

You mean a bit like you and you wee cabal of witch hunting kunts when it came to Jude Andy? No offense like...

What a diverse group of people with F all in common pull up a make believe person for talking complete bollocks? Aye, I can see the similarity.

Might have guessed they would go to "NO" city. "John from Aberdeen" will probably get to ask the first 3 questions.

I concur

I assume you know "John from Aberdeen" (on GMS speed dial) is apparently John from Peterhead ?. A tory councillor no less

Looks like a feisty line-up this week - but really no Lib Dems??

David Dimbleby presents topical debate from Aberdeen. On the panel are leader of the Scottish Conservatives Ruth Davidson MSP, Labour's shadow justice secretary Lord Falconer, newly elected SNP MP John Nicolson, Scotsman columnist Lesley Riddoch and Scotland editor of The Spectator Alex Massie

Looks like a feisty line-up this week - but really no Lib Dems??

David Dimbleby presents topical debate from Aberdeen. On the panel are leader of the Scottish Conservatives Ruth Davidson MSP, Labour's shadow justice secretary Lord Falconer, newly elected SNP MP John Nicolson, Scotsman columnist Lesley Riddoch and Scotland editor of The Spectator Alex Massie

I bet the Lib Dems were asked but "couldn't find" anyone available.

Pretty poor show from Labour as well, why couldn't they have got Jackie Baillie on to give us all a laugh.

Do Lesley Riddoch and Alex Massie come as a pair or something?

I bet the Lib Dems were asked but "couldn't find" anyone available.

Hard to believe they wouldn't have asked the Lib Dems, in this week of all weeks, in Aberdeen of all places. Astonishing that they themselves would be unable to supply anyone... there must be plenty LibDems with time on their hands, with 10 ex MP candidates for a start, plus retirees.... where is Sir Malcolm or Sir Ming when you need a right honourable soundbite?), and not to mention a first-class, hard-working sitting mp??

Reckon questions will be, Carmichael, EU referendum, Labour

Second referendum

SNP record at Holyrood with skewed statistics

I concur

I assume you know "John from Aberdeen" (on GMS speed dial) is apparently John from Peterhead ?. A tory councillor no less

Can't find a Tory Councillor that lives in Peterhead called John. In fact i can't find a Tory Councillor called John. :unsure:

No Tory Councillors in Peterhead in fact. Should have figured that sooner

I just took someones word for it when I was ranting about him on twitter.

My fault for not checking it out.

My apologies orraloon for misleading

Hard to believe they wouldn't have asked the Lib Dems, in this week of all weeks, in Aberdeen of all places. Astonishing that they themselves would be unable to supply anyone... there must be plenty LibDems with time on their hands, with 10 ex MP candidates for a start, plus retirees.... where is Sir Malcolm or Sir Ming when you need a right honourable soundbite?), and not to mention a first-class, hard-working sitting mp??

FMQs should be good this week.

Presiding Officer: Next question Willie Rennie. Where is Willie Rennie? Has anyone seen Willie? Okay then Tavish Scott, Tavish? Liam? Is that Jim Hume hiding under the desk?